Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Giddens Homes Reviews

199 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jan 2020 - Jul 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.5
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.5
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 18, 2021

Lack of transparency about the project timeline start to finish. We should be given the entire project plan for the 9-10 months up front not weekly email updates. This would have prevented many emails and questions that we had along the way. The poor make ready of the house for closing. A month after being in the house we are still cleaning dried paint drops on the floor and grout on surface tiles. There was a feeling of pressure to close by a certain date even when things weren’t 100%. This resulted in a longer warranty request list and many continued appointments with vendors that are still not complete a month later.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 15, 2021

[name removed] has been very proficient at handling our warranty items.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 13, 2021

Transparent and open. Clearly set all expectations and met them.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 13, 2021

[name removed] salesperson was very nice and had great intentions for us, but his sales tactics were not very thorough. For example, we wanted several significant upgrades and he seemed resistant to wanting to give them to us. Some upgrades were never discussed or suggested that we found out later we could have done them. We know that the build process was challenging for everyone so we completely understand all of the issues [name removed] faced. [name removed] was absolutely amazing through ever step.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 12, 2021

Continuous warranty delay on repairs after sell of home. A few vendors performing average workmanship.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 12, 2021

We were very pleased with our Superintendent, [name removed]. He has been organized, responsive, and true to his word. We felt lucky to have him assigned to our home, and highly recommend him. The reason for the 7 score is because we are still experiencing significant drainage issues on our property that causes mulch and dirt to wash out after it rains. We are also left with mud in our driveway and rocks strewn across our driveway and lawn after it rains. We need a drain to truly address the issue. We also thought our cabinets and carpet pad were subpar for the price and quality of the home. We are also still waiting on delivery of our 3 ceiling fans. Overall, we are pleased with our home and we accredit that all to [name removed].

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jul 10, 2021

Minor challenge was the gap between the completion date formally listed on weekly updates and the realistic final move in date.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 09, 2021

Everything so far has been great. No issues.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Jonestown, TX, on Jul 08, 2021

[name removed] was working hard to give us a good product! [name removed] subcontractors and some craftsmen delivered some poor quality work that we have been trying to address since. We are finding that the warranty workers seem much more competent by and large than the people who initially installed and did Quality Control on several items/systems. [name removed] closing and office staff were superb.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 08, 2021

Salesperson was very inflexible and hard to get a hold of. Areas of design of the home needed to be altered because of mistakes made that did not meet permit inspection. [name removed] would not alter installation of irrigation to accommodate plans for a pool. This caused major damage to the irrigation that could have been avoided if [name removed] was more accommodating.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Jonestown, TX, on Jul 08, 2021

All [name removed]'s people involved were outstanding. Specifically, [name removed] and [name removed] [name removed] were responsive, helpful, tenacious in making things right, etc. It was a wonderful experience building from multiple states away.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 06, 2021

[name removed] was very professional and quick to remedy problems as they arose. Wonderful guy. Subcontractors used weren't always as skilled as needed but that seems to be an issue for every builder. The landscape was below par, specifically regarding bumpy unleveled lawn as well as drainage issues at the front of the house.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Lago Vista, TX, on Jul 06, 2021

We love [name removed] and it was very evident to us from the very beginning that [name removed] was a top notch builder. [name removed] was very knowledgeable about the home industry and was able to answer all our questions in a timely manner. He suggested changing the plan and enlarging a room to make into a media room. My husband has always dreamed of having a media room and so this is naturally his favorite room of the house. [name removed] is also knowledgeable and went above and beyond to make us happy. We loved the fact that he was very honest and let us know what could or could not be done and followed through with everything that he said would be done. [name removed] design center experience was great and they were very patient and helpful. When I went to look at the house the lumber driver was there dropping off materials. He explained to me that [name removed] uses the best plywood and lumber to construct their houses. I was very impressed because he didn't work for [name removed] and still had all good comments to make about the company. [name removed] closing went smoothly and I loved that the [name removed] family all worked for the company. I believe the granddaughter covered for [name removed] in the sales office and she was extremely helpful and the grandson went over paperwork at closing. We love our house and were very happy we choose [name removed] to build our house. We would definitely buy another house that was built by [name removed]. We also liked that closing was on time, even during an ice storm!

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jul 04, 2021

Everything was met and they stuck to their word

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 04, 2021

Have issues with: actual property line, stone masonry quality, placement of septic system and drainage.

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 03, 2021

Disliked the fact that each crew could care less about what the crew before them worked on. I think it might just be the crazy times we are in right now, but a lot of things felt very rushed and thrown together. Hiring someone just to focus on quality control would be a good idea.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jul 03, 2021

[name removed] purchase experience was smooth and seamless.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Georgetown, TX, on Jul 02, 2021

The purchase experience was great. [name removed] in the [name removed] at [name removed] [name removed] community was fantastic and kept me updated the whole way. Mr [name removed] and [name removed] were both great in accepting and allowing a close date requirement which is normally not done, so that was fantastic.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jul 01, 2021

Overall, the experience was great for us.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Jonestown, TX, on Jun 29, 2021

Sales rep [name removed] was really fantastic to work with and made our first-time experience really pleasant. Our builder rep [name removed] was also great...very patient with us and responsive to all of our questions and concerns. [name removed] quality of the house is about everything we expected. We are really please. There are two concerns I'm not quite sure how or who to address with. May seem insignificant, but to us, they should be right. One is the back steps leading down the back patio to the ground level. [name removed] steps terminate into grass. [name removed] originally concerned until I noticed all of the other [name removed] similar-style homes built afterward have a nice concrete base/step at the bottom of the patio steps, providing a concrete base for the steps to attach versus running directly into the ground. [name removed] second concern is the quality of landscaping. Front yard is rather rough and it seems all other neighborhood [name removed] home lawns are smooth and finished a little nicer. There is some more digging to do by the LPG provider (not for us but for the houses next to us, but attaching in our front yard). [name removed] lawn should be repaired fully afterward. [name removed] river rock along the road is not particularly aesthetic (uneven and weeds already growing through...not sure if there is any kind of weed barrier under the rock).

4.9
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Giddens Homes is the leader when it comes to building your dream home on your lot. We specialize in building estate homes in the northwest suburbs of Austin. Owner and President, James Giddens has been building in this area since 1982.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.