Ratings & Reviews

First American Title - Texas

Austin

417 Customer Reviews
Apr 2020 - May 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.6
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.6
Rating of customers' willingness to recommend this title company

Austin Escrow Office Map

 

Company Profile

First American Title Insurance Company facilitates and streamlines real estate transactions by providing comprehensive title insurance protection and professional settlement services.

First American Title helps homebuyers and sellers, real estate agents and brokers, mortgage lenders, commercial property professionals, homebuilders and developers, title agencies and legal professionals close transactions. Find out more about our products and services, and how First American can help you streamline your transaction and protect your investment

About Eliant

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of real estate companies across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:...read more

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their title process, and we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers here.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this review site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the company or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted...read less

Most Recent 30 Comments From Austin
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Jarrelltx, TX, on May 11, 2021

Closing pushed back three times. Was not informed soon enough on the 3rd reschedule until I was at the office. They accommodated us and we closed anyway

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Manor, TX, on May 09, 2021

Communications are a bit weak

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Pflugerville, TX, on May 07, 2021

The date on my closing documents was incorrect because we were doing a remote closing and First American Title promptly correct and resent the paperwork so that the notary could print the correct documents, have them signed, and overnighted the same day.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Manor, TX, on May 07, 2021

Leslie was so great and took great care of me!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Apr 03, 2021

Jennifer was exceptionally professional & courteous, and signing the closing documents went smoothly; I had a great customer experience all the way around.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Kyle, TX, on Apr 02, 2021

Not once did they communicate with me during the process. Very dissapointing.

1.9
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Mar 28, 2021

The entire team kept us informed and always took the time to answer questions!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Pflugerville, TX, on Mar 21, 2021

My experience was seamless and quick, thank you!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Mar 18, 2021

Wonderful and positive experience.. very friendly!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Manor, TX, on Mar 15, 2021

Because of corona virus we missed out on alot .but all in all it was ok.the second go around anyway. The first time wasn't so great!!

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Mar 12, 2021

My experience was really good.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Feb 26, 2021

WAS A VERY SMOOTH PROCESS WAS NOT NERVOUS AT ALL. wAS VERY HAPPY WHEN I LEFT

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Feb 09, 2021

They made it very easy for us. Took time to answer questions

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Feb 08, 2021

Jennifer was the best! Thank you!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Feb 08, 2021

I was definitely delighted. My closing agent was very professional and knowledgeable.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Pflugerville, TX, on Feb 05, 2021

Lisa was amazing, kept us informed every step of the way.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Pflugerville, TX, on Jan 29, 2021

I was in a very stressful situation with my closing being pushed to 4pm on a Friday. Leslie made it happen! She went over all documents and ensured I knew what I was so signing. She even stayed in the office late to mark sure my loan was funded and I could get my keys for the weekend!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Pflugerville, TX, on Jan 28, 2021

Fue un placer ser atendidos por ese colectivo

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jan 26, 2021

The officer was super friendly and knowledgeable.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Jan 15, 2021

I really enjoyed my experience with First American Title. They kept me informed throughout the experience and were very helpful during the closing process.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Georgetown, TX, on Jan 05, 2021

Should have asked if the buyers would like to take a picture with a key or not ? We were not asked .

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Kyle, TX, on Jan 05, 2021

They failed to pay my homeowners insurance when it was supposed to have been paid. I also believe they did not send documents to the hoa company

2.9
Verified Homeowner
Georgetown, TX, on Jan 04, 2021

I had little to no communication with First American. Most information I received was through a third party, the builder. It made me feel like the title company was not really there to support me. Additionally, attempts to reach out after our closing for a digital copy of our closing documents were met with absolute silence. There was no acknowledgement of my attempt to communicate. I was hurried through the closing process. If I am going to be scheduled for a closing, time should be given to allowing me to review the documents during the process. I was told that I should’ve seen the documents prior. The problem was that there was a great amount of latency from the request for information between my mortgage officer and First American so I didn’t receive finalized copies, presumably, until the closing date and was rushed to sign. Again, my time is just as precious and telling me I can come back 5 hours later to conclude is not acceptable. If you’re going to rush me through the process, at least get me all the documents a couple of days prior to my scheduled closing for review.

2.0
Verified Homeowner
Georgetown, TX, on Dec 23, 2020

auto generated emails caused confusion...email asking for info that had already been provided and this was confirmed by First American personnel

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Dec 22, 2020

Jennifer was terrific and pleasant to work with - I was not overwhelmed at all! Appreciate her professionalism and friendly smiles!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Pflugerville, TX, on Dec 09, 2020

They didn't have the correct papers, and left one of the people off, so we have to wait.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Pflugerville, TX, on Dec 04, 2020

Disorganized and unprofessional. We scheduled our closing for 10am on a Monday, but never received any communication prior to the appointment. On the a of the closing at 9:45 I called the office to ensure that we were still on schedule. I was told at 9:45 that First American had failed to contact my mortgage broker to get final paperwork, and that our closing would be moved to 12pm. Lisa Jubela was eager to rush us through our paperwork with little to no explanation of fees or how they were calculated. She could not answer questions like “who am I paying this fee to?” Or “how was this fee calculated?” She became so frustrated with our questions (and her own inability to answer them) that she had one of her colleagues step in to finish our closing for her. We finally finished signing paperwork at 4:30 and left First American after an entire day of hand holding and frustration. First American demonstrated an astounding level of incompetence in preparing and executing our closing and for that reason I will vehemently discourage anyone I can from using your services.

1.1
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Nov 10, 2020

The final closing was a very positive experience . All the staff at American Title were extremely helpful . Also the staff at Century Homes were excellent ! Gerret and Julie were amazing ! Keep them onboard !

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Austin, TX, on Nov 03, 2020

Really really bad & frustrating experience with the title company and our closing agent Dean Freeman, as I was never contacted by any representative from title company ever during the closing process to share the documents, settlement statement ahead of time. Inspite of sending several emails during the last week before closing, never received my settlement statement until I escalated and that too received late night the day before closing. Some optional title endorsement fees were added which were never disclosed before. Nobody explained the reason and purpose of the fees that title company is charging for. Being a realtor as well as the owner of this house, I hope I never have to use First American Title AGAIN!!!! Request a full review of the whole process that was followed under Dean Freeman for this closing.....

1.1
Verified Homeowner
Georgetown, TX, on Nov 01, 2020

Everyone was very professional and pleasant to deal with. All in all it was a delightful experience to deal with your people.

5.0
Verified Homeowner