Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

The New Home Company Reviews

968 Homeowner Reviews Completed Aug 2021 - Feb 2023

Overall Satisfaction

4.5
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.4
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Location Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments From All Locations
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Davis, CA, on Feb 06, 2023

The [name removed] condo model style #4 has an island, but the actual #4 does not. There are no towel rings in all three of the bathrooms. In addition, there isn’t any storage in the bathrooms. The guest and half bath have no place for toilet paper or drawers for personal toiletries. The master bath only has three drawers in the center of the vanity. The toilet area also has no place for toilet paper. There’s no adequate place for towel storage in the bathrooms. There’s no adequate room for dressers in the bedrooms. The texture on the walls is so thin that the slightest bump causes the texture to pop off, and expose corner metal strips or drywall underneath. Baseboards and kitchen trim weren’t sealed or painted properly.

2.3
Verified Homeowner
Chandler, AZ, on Feb 01, 2023

We continue to enjoy the nice new home from TNHC. We have had a few minor issues since moving in, all with quick and reasonable resolve

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Granite Bay, CA, on Jan 30, 2023

I can’t get my front door opening. It’s jamming and nobody can come and fix it. It’s been about three weeks. I would like to be able to lock my door remotely like I paid for.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Jan 27, 2023

It was a very slow start but is picking up nicely!

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Mesa, AZ, on Jan 27, 2023

[name removed] is awesome! She’s been helpful and responsive. We appreciate all of her support.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Mesa, AZ, on Jan 26, 2023

Quick response. Quality work and stays in touch until the work is completed.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Irvine, CA, on Jan 26, 2023

very satisfied! Beyond expectation.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Irvine, CA, on Jan 24, 2023

Like the contemporary design their homes featured, the upgrade options are nice and flexible.I feel the sales are very knowledgeable and patient; the customer support is great.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Jan 24, 2023

Everything and everyone has been amazing meeting and helping us with our requests and problems as they arise

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Jan 22, 2023

Inflexibility and arrogance

2.1
Verified Homeowner
Lathrop, CA, on Jan 22, 2023

[name removed] and [name removed] were fantastic with the entire purchasing experience from the first phone call until we closed. They promptly answered every question and concern, and truly made us feel like family. They are great faces of the company.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Granite Bay, CA, on Jan 22, 2023

I don’t have any issue with the contract, but when we move in, me and my wife still need to clean the house, specially some of the dried tiny paint splashes on the carpet and front door which is difficult to clean.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Chandler, AZ, on Jan 18, 2023

I haven’t had any problems and whenever I had a question about anything. [name removed] always handles it for me.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Goodyear, AZ, on Jan 16, 2023

We very much appreciate the hard work and fast responses we have been getting to fix our roof tiles and other things. The customer care has been great.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Jan 15, 2023

We had a lot on our list of things to fix for our 30 days check in and there were a lot of delays and reschedules and cancellations but we understand the circumstances of the times so we were patient. Three month survey we were neutral because less than half on our home fix list was addressed but it took constant follows up. It is now past six months and finally we feel like things are addressed and in the right hands with [name removed]

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Jan 10, 2023

Employees have been very customer service oriented. [name removed] and [name removed] in the front office were wonderful. We greatly appreciated [name removed] and [name removed]. Outstanding at getting us moved in and fixing any issues that came up. Construction guys were very professional and helpful while our house was being constructed and also as the neighbors houses have been constructed.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Jan 10, 2023

-The demo unit had a porch. When my house was completed there was no porch. It wasn't a deal breaker but I like to grill and host small events. Now I can't do that. -Parking is also a huge concern.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lathrop, CA, on Jan 08, 2023

[name removed] things were not done properly. All the vents (5 of them) did not work, heating was not functional, lotta broken things here and there. [name removed] at all satisfactory. It’s sucks when you move in and realize that the heating doesn’t work at all and it took 2 appointments to fix it. Absolutely ridiculous. Still a lotta pending things and I am not satisfied at all. The worst part is that the 24 hour emergency contact number does not work. They said it doesn’t work for t-mobile and AT&T mobile subscribers. Seriously guys? That’s unacceptable ????

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Ontario, CA, on Jan 01, 2023

Likes: Friendliness of the salespeople The open floor plans Ease of purchase and financing Affordability of the homes Layout of the Floorplans and model home representations Purchase incentives Dislikes: Condition of my home at closing. Upon receiving my keys to my new home, I found that someone had accessed the primary bathroom toilet and neglected to flush the toilet after using it. Leaving excrement in the toilet. I contacted the sales office and they were very apologetic and committed to fixing the issue. In the end I cleaned the toilet myself. Very disappointing after such a great buying experience.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Ontario, CA, on Jan 01, 2023

I loved that I was able to visit my home weekly to see the progress made. I also liked that my home was finished by the projected time with no delays.

4.9
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

All of us are looking to build a better life. A life filled with everything and everyone that matters most. And a place to call home that brings it all together in the best possible ways. We understand how important your home is to you. It means a lot to us too. Our homes are an expression of the knowledge we have about how people want to live. For us they are individual works of art for the world to see and enjoy.

This is our legacy.

We hold ourselves to a higher standard. We demand more from ourselves. Our recognition as the nation’s most awarded builder for customer satisfaction matters deeply to us. We care about our home buyers experience, how their home looks, feels and lives. Why a particular piece of land was chosen. We care about the relationships with our craftsmen, our lenders, our neighbors. And we expect from them what we expect from ourselves – a belief that this process is as much about building a better life as it is about building a better home.

We’ve spent decades building homes and became a publicly traded company (NYSE: NWHM) to help fuel our growth while remaining committed to our roots. Homebuilding gives us a profound sense of fulfillment as we strive every day to provide better environments, contribute to better schools, support communities with a sense of social consciousness – all with a level of integrity, respect, and compassion for the world in which we live.

Each of us here at The New Home Company share in a strongly held belief that every new home is a new opportunity to build something better.

A better experience. A better home. A better life.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:...read more

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted...read less