Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Bella Vista Homes Reviews

457 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jun 2021 - May 2022

Overall Satisfaction

3.7
Customers' overall satisfaction
3.0
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Location Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments From All Locations
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

San Antonio, TX, on May 23, 2022

The home has one linen closet no coat closet, no drawers in bathrooms my driveway was cracked and they refuse to fix it

1.6
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on May 21, 2022

A LOT of issues with quality and build! And the repair process has been slow and dysfunctional.

1.6
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on May 21, 2022

This home was a model home and only needed to have the garage converted from offices back to the garage. We were told we would likely be in by Mid January. I called to find out the status the first week of January. I then called the county and the demo permit had not been filed. I called our realtor. [name removed] permit wasn't filed with the county until January 2nd and we signed the contract Dec. 6th. We lost an entire month for the permit to be processed. This then cost me to extend the apartment lease I was on which was 3200.00 for 3 more months. We did not get into our home until March 31st and only because i put the pressure on them as I was recently diagnosed with kidney cancer and needed to have surgery. We had a long list of items that needed to be completed after we moved in and the list got much longer once we moved in. We started off with one construction contractor, he was then pulled from our house. We then got to work with [name removed] and he is the ONLY saving grace from [name removed] [name removed]. He has tried so hard to get things done, but you keep pulling away to work in too many other communities. We are now a month and a half since moving in and I still don't have the front of the house painted, screens on windows, fixed railing going upstairs, and many many more items. [name removed] communication in your [name removed] [name removed] community is horrible. I had to be the one to call the county and find out the permit had not been filed until Jan 2, I had to be driving by the house to see that nothing had been done on the house. I drove by daily and did not see anyone working in our home. [name removed] house was used for storage and it took months for someone to clear things out. This was just a snippet of what we experienced. It started with on contract on Sunflower that we were supposed to move into in August of last year and kept being put off to the next month, the next month. etc. When we pointed out that the arches in the entry way were not correct and the seams in the bedroom were not straight we were told that we would not be able to move in as estimated if we wanted those items fixed. That was the end..we got out of that contract and into the Bass lane home. I should have known that the same business practices would happen here. Again, [name removed] has worked hard to get things done, but he needs someone to follow up with trades people, check on work orders, file change orders etc. He can't do all that and manage what is happening on site, and cover four or five communities. You are going to lose him if you don't take care of him. He is the only good thing about [name removed].

2.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 19, 2022

I like the layout and style of the home and the area it’s in. I didn’t like how hard it’s been to get certain things needed for the home as employees and contractors kept changing through the last year.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 19, 2022

Nothing

0.9
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 15, 2022

Customer service was decent, but we do have a lot of electrical issues and signs of moisture under the paint on the walls.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 15, 2022

Responsiveness was good until the builder was done with the home. Some things were never followed up on. Workmanship was good for the most part but there are some areas I had to fix myself.

2.9
Verified Homeowner
Cibolo, TX, on May 13, 2022

We originally started off in a different [name removed] [name removed] community. We were told things from the construction manager that just wasn’t adding up. The sales rep “forgot” to mention that the original community was going to be mostly leased out with new homes being built. We came to our current community because we didn’t want to loose out on the money we had already put down. The other community wasn’t willing to transfer all of the funds we put down even though we were still buying [name removed]. When we did our walk throughs at our current house, there were a lot of things that needed to be fixed. We were promised they would be fixed and have not even to this day. I would not recommend anyone to a [name removed] [name removed] community.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 10, 2022

We liked working with [name removed]. He was awesome and it was a pleasure working with him. He was always helpful, available, and responsive. Everyone was great to work with. [name removed], the ladies at [name removed] [name removed] were awesome. They were always pleasant and helpful. We really enjoyed our experience.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on May 10, 2022

[name removed] designs are nice. Sales professional was nice but could not keep up with his updates. Dates changed every other day and updates happened only after I had to reach out to him several times though out the build. Weeks would go by and nothing was done on the house. My closing dates kept getting pushed back farther and farther even though other houses that were sold after ours were being built and closing dates acquired while my house sat for a few months with no work being done to it. Eventually we came to a closing date after waiting several months. And that's when all of a sudden the house was built pretty much in a couple of weeks. My builder that was supposed to keep me up to date with the progress either got fired/quit/or got replaced at least 3 to 4 times which was very frustrating. And after all of that waiting and patience we closed on the house and there was still so much work to be done. My fence post was broken, stairs weren't completed, railing was done sloppy, none of my doors/closets are even, the living room and kitchen tiles are all uneven and cut your feet when you walk on it, garage was left a mess with dry cement everywhere, drive way is un even and has a huge slope on one side, and a whole list of others. Currently my house is still being worked on and I closed over a month ago. The whole process was very frustrating and unprofessional all around.

2.1
Verified Homeowner
Converse, TX, on May 09, 2022

No, proper information and details about the house. Poor communication

1.2
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on May 09, 2022

Hated the lack of communication still need some things finished after the closing we closed in April ,2022 .

3.4
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on May 06, 2022

The warranty service/customer service experience has been ok. Most of the items we have submitted have been addressed. I believe if the quality of the work was done correctly the first time and not just completing homes quickly to meet a number of completed homes, the warranty services would be less used. (if you want to know more in detail what I mean, please by all means contact me so we can discuss these issues).

4.2
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 05, 2022

I haven't had my damages at the home since I moved in October 2021 checked out, the maintenance guy has not reached out since February.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 04, 2022

Worst purchase I’ve ever made. Rushed through the walk through so missed a ton of things needing to be fixed. The things that were addressed still haven’t been taken care, and it’s been over a month since we closed. My house was never cleaned. We moved into a house that was filthy dirty. Paint all over the flooring, and cabinets. [name removed] match paint throughout the entire home. Hole in my foundation in the garage. I can see outside from inside my garage. Which is the reason I have ton of bugs in my garage. I could go on for another half hour, but I think you get the jiff.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 03, 2022

I like everything about my purchase experience, the only thing I find room for improvement is the construction manager. Has been doing a poor job at following up with pending repairs at our home. Other than that everything is great we love our house!

4.3
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 02, 2022

Warranty and customer care have done a great job of responding to our concerns

4.6
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on May 02, 2022

We was charged a $1500 dollar lot premium because of a supposed green belt behind us. Then it was cut down and we was told we would not get the lot premium back anyway.

1.7
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on May 01, 2022

My house has a lot of details that were not addressed or finished. I feel like I was rushed to close by 3/31 end of month and quarter. Los if things were left incomplete and are still incomplete.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Converse, TX, on Apr 29, 2022

More detailed information and understanding on where and who to contact specifically..a better briefing and handover from purchasing into maintaining how warranty works to make notes. Separate what can be claimed weekly or monthly compared to what should be claimed further out a year or more as the home settles.

2.2
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Bella Vista Homes is a premier new home builder in San Antonio, TX.

Since 2005, Bella Vista has worked hard to create communities that provide modern convenience, affordability and architectural style for every family.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:...read more

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted...read less