Top Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Ideal Homes

Red Canyon Ranch

46 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jan 2023 - Jul 2024

Overall Satisfaction

4.4
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.2
Rating of homeowners' willingness to recommend this builder

PERFORMANCE RATINGS

Purchase Experience

4.5

Home Personalization Experience

5.0

Construction Experience

4.3

Customer Care Experience

4.7

Home Readiness

4.0

Installation & Workmanship

4.3

Community Profile

Red Canyon Ranch features scenic views, rolling hills, a playground, and peaceful walking trails surrounded by Norman's unique landscape. Residents of Red Canyon Ranch love our convenient location on Tecumseh Road that will get them to the University of Oklahoma, I-35, Tinker Air Force Base and to shopping and dining areas in no time! 

Ranked by CNN's Money Magazine as the sixth best small city within the United States, Norman hosts many arts and culture events sponsored by the University of Oklahoma, including music centers, theaters, and one of the largest French Impressionist painting collections in the United States at the Fred Jones, Jr. Museum of Art. The Sam Noble Museum of Natural History has one of the largest and most important Paleozoic exhibits in existence. The University of Oklahoma is also home to many collegiate sporting events, including the Oklahoma Sooners football, softball, basketball, and gymnastics teams. Visitors pour in and boost the local economy on game days, and come to visit the weekend concert series like the Norman Musical Festival. 

We are proud to build in several other Norman communities, including Little River Trails, Greenleaf Trails, and Trail Woods. Stop by our Red Canyon Ranch model home today, at 3713 Black Mesa Road, Norman, Oklahoma 73071.



Driving Directions
Request More Info

MOST RECENT HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - All
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Norman, OK, on Apr 29, 2024

Because of a water leak under the sink, .we have had challenges with the island and flooring. In spite of the challenges, I'm very satisfied with your company's response

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on May 01, 2024

Warranty service has been great and meets all repair or corrective actions requests in a timely manner. [name removed] is great and very good at keeping us informed of repairs.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jul 03, 2024

We love it all: our home, the Ideal people, the Ideal customer service, the list goes on and on!

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Dec 05, 2023

Dealing with City Wide was a pain. Instead of telling us up front exactly what they wanted, they kept coming back to us over and over again with more and more requests for information. I would not deal with them again.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 22, 2024

Like: [name removed], friendly staff, responsiveness. Dislike: Minor issues in the building process: wood frame quality, missing electric outlet, electric box in the backyard after informing we didn't want it, delayed completion time, and the light bulbs wear out too quickly (in less than a year more than 10 light bulbs are broken).

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Mar 02, 2024

I'm still waiting for someone to come and fix a few minor deficiencies we have found inside the home, thank you.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Sep 30, 2023

We did our own research to find our home, and worked strictly with the Ideal home team and Citywide Mortgage. Everyone was great to work with. Our home needed finishing touches, however; working with [name removed] everything was taken car of quickly and professionally. We love our home so much we don't ever plan to leave it.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 13, 2024

I like the house but I don’t like the way the ideal homes isn’t standing up to its promises to me for fixing the issues.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Feb 14, 2024

We had a meeting in Noverber and provided a list of items needing work. To date that list is about 50% complete.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jul 16, 2023

waiting for things to be fixed has been long... most things have been attended to quickly and professionally

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 04, 2024

There were a lot of issues with the quality of the home over the first year. Some repairs took 6+ months

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 25, 2024

I love the beautiful layout and custom colors etc. I did notice after moving in there was glue on some of the wood floors, caulking that had separated from the bathroom floor or kitchen ceiling, some excess caulking on the window mantle etc.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jul 08, 2023

i hate the red clay everywhere. hard to keep everything clean.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Nov 01, 2023

Nothing so far negative. Grass had allot of weeds and needed attention but I’ll get it done

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Dec 30, 2023

Any issues that came up were taken care of in a timely manner!

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jun 21, 2023

3 plumbing backups in the first 3 weeks of living in the house. On the third visit with the plumbers, it was determined there was a damaged line.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Aug 19, 2023

I am not satisfied with customer service because it takes a long time to complete the issues.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Nov 12, 2023

Great customer service. Wonderful quality of products/home.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on May 07, 2023

We had an unexpected delay with the buyers of our home during the process of buying this home. Although, ultimately the process was on time, Ideal Homes were very patient and understanding.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jun 05, 2023

Warranty has not been responsive if we ask any questions about the lawn

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Oct 06, 2023

Home is well designed and seems well build. I feel more attention to drainage in the yard and surrounding properties could have been looked at.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Apr 28, 2023

I liked the design but there was some issues that didn’t fixed before I moved in.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on May 30, 2023

Nothing. It has been great! The only dissatisfaction we had/have is the tile in the front bathroom. It is meant to look dirty/distressed; however, we thought was was dirt/debris from construction.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Sep 15, 2023

Overall the home we ended up with is very nice. We had extreme delays on the first home we were to buy and ended up with this one instead. Just some inattention to detail in this home and slow response on getting things fixed. But the folks we have dealt with have been very nice.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Dec 31, 2022

I do not have a direct complaint. We just recently met with the warranty team, and have not received any calls to schedule the requested repairs.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Feb 25, 2023

We switched houses due to the timeline shifting; however, the house we switched to took longer than the original (not what was told to us). In the end, we love our home!

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Aug 29, 2023

NA

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 25, 2022

Quick turnaround

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Feb 04, 2023

Much mis information and very extended timelines.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on May 31, 2023

Overall, my experience has been great. My major complaint is the grass area on the east side of the house next to the retaining wall. That area never dries out and even after a light amount of rain, there is standing water.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jul 03, 2021

When moved in still had a number of blue tape that needed to get fixed inside the house, garage and fence. The shutter fell off within 2 months of living there. Took over 4 months to get resolved. The window part broke around the same time and took about 3 months to get resolved. Tape from the seam of the drywall was coming off in the master bedroom as well. Also, the workers in the area are not friendly to the neighborhood. Leave trash around all over and blows into yards, play loud music early in the morning and park cars so it is difficult to get out of your drive way

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Dec 10, 2021

Take long time to fix the small problems after closing.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Nov 26, 2022

Delays on the original house we were going to purchase and lack of communication

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Nov 20, 2021

They have done their best to fix everything to my satisfaction. With exception of still needing one window replaced and has been almost 6 months.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Oct 29, 2022

took to long to complete the house. There are completed homes still for sale that were completed before ours.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Oct 01, 2021

Warranty repairs are taking longer then usually and there are more issues happen then prior builds.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Aug 31, 2022

Overall, the whole process was very nice. [name removed] was a pleasure to work with and stayed in contact with us throughout the entire build process.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Sep 20, 2021

The length of time it took to get in. We understand that many items were backordered etc. But it seemed at times our completion was not a priority as house that were not only started after ours but also expected to close way after ours were moving much faster than ours. Its was frustrating waiting on things like painting "because the painters had other jobs", which were houses right next to ours. There were a lot of things like that. [name removed] was amazing. He was very thoughtful and stayed in touch continually through the whole process. We appreciated him very much.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Sep 24, 2021

Ideal follows up and meets every commitment in fixing any issues with our home

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Aug 08, 2021

This dislike is about my other home that I purchased 2 yrs ago and things are falling apart. My other house is 103 Sonora Ln, [name removed]. 73069. ( built by Ideal homes). I am not sure how things will turn out in this house. My suggestion is to ask these questions after one yr of use.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Aug 22, 2021

There have been several issues, to discuss further give us a call XXX-XXX-XXXX

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 31, 2021

Poor response time. Been waiting since before thanksgiving for the shutter on the house to be fixed since it was not anchored into the brick and the brick is cracked now. Just a week ago the. Inside window finally got fixed but still waiting for a part to be ordered since it cracked

2.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jul 27, 2021

None

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jul 27, 2021

Timeline issues was originally told 6-9 months ended up 13 months

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on May 31, 2021

Time for quotes on customs took longer than needed. But the on-site foreman did an excellent job on customer care regardless of the problems with material shortage and trades misshapes.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on May 10, 2021

Ideal homes always provide professional work and customer service. Ideal homes makes the overall home buying experience feel good for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd time home buyer.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on May 02, 2021

LIKE: We liked that our builder, [name removed], was knowledgeable and very helpful with addressing concerns when we had them. Even after we moved in, he has followed up with some items that were not completed prior to our close date. He has also been helpful with answering questions when he can. We do love our home; the quality of the home is very well built, although there are still minor corrections needed. DISLIKE: We will address our dislikes from Day1 of signing papers to closing. We had to change our first Sales Representative, [name removed], because she did not communicate well and when I asked her a question directly, she chose to text my realtor instead. Also, she sent our contract, which had banking information, social security numbers, personal information to the wrong email address. Luckily, the email address was invalid, but she should have ensured that correct email addresses were used especially when it contains such sensitive/personal information. She made us feel that we were a burden. The only time we felt important was when we were signing the contract with Ideal. We did recieve help from [name removed] in changing reps to [name removed]. Next, the building of the home took more time than what was promised, We had three different close dates that were inconvenient for our jobs, our lease, and trying to schedule a move. Also, some of the contractors used, should not be used in future builds, specifically the shower tiler. We decided to tile our shower and have a niche put in and to this date, we are extremely unsatisfied with this tilers work. The shower tiles look unevenly cut, the grout looks awful in places and it looks sloppy as a whole. On top of the tiler's sloppy work, the design center misordered our original tile chosen and could not get it replaced. We had to choose a different tile, which we weren't too excited about but had to compromise. The fact that it was misordered and installed before they realized this mix-up is unacceptable. The shower as a whole is anything less than Ideal. Lastly, our second sales rep [name removed]: she was helpful in the beginning but during the last few months before closing, she was very unprofessional. There are many things we wish to discuss in detail about how she has treated us. We would like someone from Ideal to contact us, her behavior is also unacceptable for someone who received a commission.

4.0
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 20 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - Purchase & Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Norman, OK, on Apr 29, 2024

Because of a water leak under the sink, .we have had challenges with the island and flooring. In spite of the challenges, I'm very satisfied with your company's response

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Dec 05, 2023

Dealing with City Wide was a pain. Instead of telling us up front exactly what they wanted, they kept coming back to us over and over again with more and more requests for information. I would not deal with them again.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Sep 30, 2023

We did our own research to find our home, and worked strictly with the Ideal home team and Citywide Mortgage. Everyone was great to work with. Our home needed finishing touches, however; working with [name removed] everything was taken car of quickly and professionally. We love our home so much we don't ever plan to leave it.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jul 16, 2023

waiting for things to be fixed has been long... most things have been attended to quickly and professionally

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jul 08, 2023

i hate the red clay everywhere. hard to keep everything clean.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jun 21, 2023

3 plumbing backups in the first 3 weeks of living in the house. On the third visit with the plumbers, it was determined there was a damaged line.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on May 07, 2023

We had an unexpected delay with the buyers of our home during the process of buying this home. Although, ultimately the process was on time, Ideal Homes were very patient and understanding.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Apr 28, 2023

I liked the design but there was some issues that didn’t fixed before I moved in.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Feb 25, 2023

We switched houses due to the timeline shifting; however, the house we switched to took longer than the original (not what was told to us). In the end, we love our home!

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Feb 04, 2023

Much mis information and very extended timelines.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Nov 26, 2022

Delays on the original house we were going to purchase and lack of communication

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Oct 29, 2022

took to long to complete the house. There are completed homes still for sale that were completed before ours.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Aug 31, 2022

Overall, the whole process was very nice. [name removed] was a pleasure to work with and stayed in contact with us throughout the entire build process.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Sep 20, 2021

The length of time it took to get in. We understand that many items were backordered etc. But it seemed at times our completion was not a priority as house that were not only started after ours but also expected to close way after ours were moving much faster than ours. Its was frustrating waiting on things like painting "because the painters had other jobs", which were houses right next to ours. There were a lot of things like that. [name removed] was amazing. He was very thoughtful and stayed in touch continually through the whole process. We appreciated him very much.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Aug 08, 2021

This dislike is about my other home that I purchased 2 yrs ago and things are falling apart. My other house is 103 Sonora Ln, [name removed]. 73069. ( built by Ideal homes). I am not sure how things will turn out in this house. My suggestion is to ask these questions after one yr of use.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jul 27, 2021

None

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on Jul 27, 2021

Timeline issues was originally told 6-9 months ended up 13 months

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on May 31, 2021

Time for quotes on customs took longer than needed. But the on-site foreman did an excellent job on customer care regardless of the problems with material shortage and trades misshapes.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on May 10, 2021

Ideal homes always provide professional work and customer service. Ideal homes makes the overall home buying experience feel good for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd time home buyer.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, OK, on May 02, 2021

LIKE: We liked that our builder, [name removed], was knowledgeable and very helpful with addressing concerns when we had them. Even after we moved in, he has followed up with some items that were not completed prior to our close date. He has also been helpful with answering questions when he can. We do love our home; the quality of the home is very well built, although there are still minor corrections needed. DISLIKE: We will address our dislikes from Day1 of signing papers to closing. We had to change our first Sales Representative, [name removed], because she did not communicate well and when I asked her a question directly, she chose to text my realtor instead. Also, she sent our contract, which had banking information, social security numbers, personal information to the wrong email address. Luckily, the email address was invalid, but she should have ensured that correct email addresses were used especially when it contains such sensitive/personal information. She made us feel that we were a burden. The only time we felt important was when we were signing the contract with Ideal. We did recieve help from [name removed] in changing reps to [name removed]. Next, the building of the home took more time than what was promised, We had three different close dates that were inconvenient for our jobs, our lease, and trying to schedule a move. Also, some of the contractors used, should not be used in future builds, specifically the shower tiler. We decided to tile our shower and have a niche put in and to this date, we are extremely unsatisfied with this tilers work. The shower tiles look unevenly cut, the grout looks awful in places and it looks sloppy as a whole. On top of the tiler's sloppy work, the design center misordered our original tile chosen and could not get it replaced. We had to choose a different tile, which we weren't too excited about but had to compromise. The fact that it was misordered and installed before they realized this mix-up is unacceptable. The shower as a whole is anything less than Ideal. Lastly, our second sales rep [name removed]: she was helpful in the beginning but during the last few months before closing, she was very unprofessional. There are many things we wish to discuss in detail about how she has treated us. We would like someone from Ideal to contact us, her behavior is also unacceptable for someone who received a commission.

4.0
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 20 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - 5-6 Months after Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Norman, on May 01, 2024

Warranty service has been great and meets all repair or corrective actions requests in a timely manner. [name removed] is great and very good at keeping us informed of repairs.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Mar 02, 2024

I'm still waiting for someone to come and fix a few minor deficiencies we have found inside the home, thank you.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Feb 14, 2024

We had a meeting in Noverber and provided a list of items needing work. To date that list is about 50% complete.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 25, 2024

I love the beautiful layout and custom colors etc. I did notice after moving in there was glue on some of the wood floors, caulking that had separated from the bathroom floor or kitchen ceiling, some excess caulking on the window mantle etc.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Nov 01, 2023

Nothing so far negative. Grass had allot of weeds and needed attention but I’ll get it done

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Aug 19, 2023

I am not satisfied with customer service because it takes a long time to complete the issues.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jun 05, 2023

Warranty has not been responsive if we ask any questions about the lawn

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on May 30, 2023

Nothing. It has been great! The only dissatisfaction we had/have is the tile in the front bathroom. It is meant to look dirty/distressed; however, we thought was was dirt/debris from construction.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Dec 31, 2022

I do not have a direct complaint. We just recently met with the warranty team, and have not received any calls to schedule the requested repairs.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 25, 2022

Quick turnaround

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Dec 10, 2021

Take long time to fix the small problems after closing.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Nov 20, 2021

They have done their best to fix everything to my satisfaction. With exception of still needing one window replaced and has been almost 6 months.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Oct 01, 2021

Warranty repairs are taking longer then usually and there are more issues happen then prior builds.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Sep 24, 2021

Ideal follows up and meets every commitment in fixing any issues with our home

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Aug 22, 2021

There have been several issues, to discuss further give us a call XXX-XXX-XXXX

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 31, 2021

Poor response time. Been waiting since before thanksgiving for the shutter on the house to be fixed since it was not anchored into the brick and the brick is cracked now. Just a week ago the. Inside window finally got fixed but still waiting for a part to be ordered since it cracked

2.0
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 20 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - 10-12 Months after Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Norman, on Jul 03, 2024

We love it all: our home, the Ideal people, the Ideal customer service, the list goes on and on!

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 22, 2024

Like: [name removed], friendly staff, responsiveness. Dislike: Minor issues in the building process: wood frame quality, missing electric outlet, electric box in the backyard after informing we didn't want it, delayed completion time, and the light bulbs wear out too quickly (in less than a year more than 10 light bulbs are broken).

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 13, 2024

I like the house but I don’t like the way the ideal homes isn’t standing up to its promises to me for fixing the issues.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jan 04, 2024

There were a lot of issues with the quality of the home over the first year. Some repairs took 6+ months

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Dec 30, 2023

Any issues that came up were taken care of in a timely manner!

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Nov 12, 2023

Great customer service. Wonderful quality of products/home.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Oct 06, 2023

Home is well designed and seems well build. I feel more attention to drainage in the yard and surrounding properties could have been looked at.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Sep 15, 2023

Overall the home we ended up with is very nice. We had extreme delays on the first home we were to buy and ended up with this one instead. Just some inattention to detail in this home and slow response on getting things fixed. But the folks we have dealt with have been very nice.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Aug 29, 2023

NA

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on May 31, 2023

Overall, my experience has been great. My major complaint is the grass area on the east side of the house next to the retaining wall. That area never dries out and even after a light amount of rain, there is standing water.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Norman, on Jul 03, 2021

When moved in still had a number of blue tape that needed to get fixed inside the house, garage and fence. The shutter fell off within 2 months of living there. Took over 4 months to get resolved. The window part broke around the same time and took about 3 months to get resolved. Tape from the seam of the drywall was coming off in the master bedroom as well. Also, the workers in the area are not friendly to the neighborhood. Leave trash around all over and blows into yards, play loud music early in the morning and park cars so it is difficult to get out of your drive way

3.4
Verified Homeowner