Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

The New Home Company

Northern California

382 Homeowner Reviews
May 2021 - Nov 2022

Builder Profile

All of us are looking to build a better life. A life filled with everything and everyone that matters most. And a place to call home that brings it all together in the best possible ways. We understand how important your home is to you. It means a lot to us too. Our homes are an expression of the knowledge we have about how people want to live. For us they are individual works of art for the world to see and enjoy.

This is our legacy.

We hold ourselves to a higher standard. We demand more from ourselves. Our recognition as the nation’s most awarded builder for customer satisfaction matters deeply to us. We care about our home buyers experience, how their home looks, feels and lives. Why a particular piece of land was chosen. We care about the relationships with our craftsmen, our lenders, our neighbors. And we expect from them what we expect from ourselves – a belief that this process is as much about building a better life as it is about building a better home.

We’ve spent decades building homes and became a publicly traded company (NYSE: NWHM) to help fuel our growth while remaining committed to our roots. Homebuilding gives us a profound sense of fulfillment as we strive every day to provide better environments, contribute to better schools, support communities with a sense of social consciousness – all with a level of integrity, respect, and compassion for the world in which we live.

Each of us here at The New Home Company share in a strongly held belief that every new home is a new opportunity to build something better.

A better experience. A better home. A better life.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.

Most Recent 20 Comments From Northern California
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Sacramento, CA, on Nov 24, 2022

[name removed] the seller's agent was very professional and kept me posted woth the status of my home. She respond to my inquiries promptly and professionally. [name removed] the custmer representative on the other hand was very thoughtful and assisted me during orientation to ensure most of the defects are caught and addressed before the move. She even ensures all requests are looked into and address timely. Experience with [name removed] was great from contract to move-in.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lathrop, CA, on Nov 23, 2022

[name removed] and [name removed] were super helpful and attentive throughout the whole process

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Nov 09, 2022

A lot of the other stuff I think was rushed just to close. Visible cracks on front door concrete, leaking water in brand new ref unit, no mailboxes installed up to present ,took a month for trash bins to be delivered , creaking floors etc

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Nov 06, 2022

Love this community

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Granite Bay, CA, on Nov 06, 2022

The sales staff was very friendly, [name removed] & [name removed] and made everything smooth.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Nov 01, 2022

The quality is not good. No proper insulation, paint job and imperfect smooth work is ver very bad. Got our refrigerator after multiple follow ups. Prep kitchen stove is not completely installed yet. Main kitchen stove is not properly installed yet. Water sprinklers does not work all the plants in my front yard are dead. I would not recommend or suggest new home company. After paying so much we expect things to be perfect. Home was never delivered as promised. It got extended by more than 2 months. I had to pay extra money to keep the interest rates. Over all unsatisfied with the construction quality. We pointed multiple issues during walk through and none of them were properly addressed.

1.7
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Nov 01, 2022

No bathrooms in the sales office. Offers extended/promotions but never in writing and later dismissed, inadequate access to the new home before completion, endless delays and multiple missed dates

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Vacaville, CA, on Oct 30, 2022

Schedule and communications were good. Process was easy to navigate and options were extensive. Overall build quality is good, but there are a lot of touch ups that still need to be processed after the home was taken over by me. Still, I'm satisfied with how everything turned out and am looking forward to staying here for along time.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Oct 30, 2022

Like: [name removed] and [name removed] were great people to work with. Helpful and accommodating. Dislike: very lacking on last-minute fixes, which I will request for fixing before the 1yr mark for sure.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Oct 26, 2022

move in has been slow to get an update on open service requests, after months

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Oct 21, 2022

Nothing so far- except street parking- notice cars not parking correctly which does not allow more than 1 car to park in a space because they are parking incorrectly. The street parking should be enforced

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Oct 16, 2022

All good except move in issues are not solved yet

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Oct 16, 2022

Home was incomplete upon move-in and it has been extremely difficult to get things done. There was no attention to detain in the finish work which is sad because that is what we all notice the most.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Oct 16, 2022

Home design....good Sales agent...did a good job Construction....good job but paint work inside home is not upto mark.outside it is okay. There is issue with water drainage in back yard by the retaining wall .water seeping through underground pipes. Another issue I faced the moment I walked into house is bad pest issue . I can see pests crawling in kitchen area, bathroom and bedroom.my expectation is it is builders job to keep the house pest free before transfer it over to buyer . Overall experience is 6 5/10.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Granite Bay, CA, on Oct 15, 2022

[name removed] and [name removed] helped us and had answers for almost all of our questions.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Granite Bay, CA, on Oct 13, 2022

It was good for contract part. However, TNHC delayed move in date twice. When we did the walk through, the customer service representative, who was backup for that day, was not willing acknowledge the some of the mistakes on the house. Also, we have two hours walk through, but he wanted to leave early. We could see it from his body language. We pointed out several issues in walk through days, but he told us that they are cosmetic issues that can be easily fixed by TNHC. However, those items still haven't been completely fixed.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Oct 10, 2022

I want to give great remarks to the people we have encountered to make the home buying experience very pleasurable. The people are [name removed], [name removed], [name removed], [name removed], and [name removed]. These are the people we call the front line workers representing TNHC. We are very pleased with [name removed] especially. [name removed] has an open transparency, honesty, and care for her buyers beyond any sales agent that we have ever met. Currently we still have many fixes within the home that has not been addressed and [name removed] has graciously tried to reach out to contractors and vendors to help us but it’s very hard to get anything done within a reasonable time with numerous no-shows and cancellations from these contractors has made our process a lot more difficult than we would like to complete our new home. We know everyone is working expeditiously and there’s really no one to blame in the current state that we are in but things such as upgrades on our master bathroom sinks that were not done that we should’ve had from the get go, we are still waiting for the upper management to address.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Oct 07, 2022

There are a lot of issues in my home. This is not something that I would expect from a brand-new home. I had a few trades who came in to fix the problems but have made the problem worse. The customer service team ([name removed], [name removed] and [name removed]) have been working hard to help me out but I have a lot of issues that are still open. There are a few things (like the door to the California room, etc) that are not functional since the move in back in Jun 2022. I think I deserve a better buying experience and would really appreciate if someone can take this review seriously and help me with all the issues.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Oct 07, 2022

I liked the customer service. One person was less ingenuous, felt like he was just going through the motions, while [name removed] was exceptional! She made sure I was up to date on everything and communicated very well expectations.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Oct 05, 2022

The damaged sidewalks remain u repaired n have concerns of tripping hazards due to missing sidewalk n cracks . Would love to see it corrected at 5301 e commerce way. # 39104 Sacramento Ca 95835

4.9
Verified Homeowner