Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

The New Home Company

Northern California

469 Homeowner Reviews
Nov 2020 - May 2022

Builder Profile

All of us are looking to build a better life. A life filled with everything and everyone that matters most. And a place to call home that brings it all together in the best possible ways. We understand how important your home is to you. It means a lot to us too. Our homes are an expression of the knowledge we have about how people want to live. For us they are individual works of art for the world to see and enjoy.

This is our legacy.

We hold ourselves to a higher standard. We demand more from ourselves. Our recognition as the nation’s most awarded builder for customer satisfaction matters deeply to us. We care about our home buyers experience, how their home looks, feels and lives. Why a particular piece of land was chosen. We care about the relationships with our craftsmen, our lenders, our neighbors. And we expect from them what we expect from ourselves – a belief that this process is as much about building a better life as it is about building a better home.

We’ve spent decades building homes and became a publicly traded company (NYSE: NWHM) to help fuel our growth while remaining committed to our roots. Homebuilding gives us a profound sense of fulfillment as we strive every day to provide better environments, contribute to better schools, support communities with a sense of social consciousness – all with a level of integrity, respect, and compassion for the world in which we live.

Each of us here at The New Home Company share in a strongly held belief that every new home is a new opportunity to build something better.

A better experience. A better home. A better life.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.

Most Recent 20 Comments From Northern California
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Sacramento, CA, on Apr 26, 2022

items still not taken care of since move in

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Apr 19, 2022

Enjoyed our interactions with the sales team ([name removed]/[name removed]), they were always pleasant and responsive. Design studio encounters with [name removed] were hit and miss. She is very engaging, had some good suggestions, and genuinely was eager to help. We were upset not to see pendant lights when we went through our walk thru (we had discussed early in process and relayed that we wanted) but she didn't have them in our plan and we didn't notice. We pointed it out on our first walk thru (framing was up and wires everywhere were exposed) figuring that could be taken care of, but was told electrician had "moved on" to other homes and wasn't coming back?! There was also some back and forth regarding other features and as time went on it appeared she was a bit overwhelmed (somewhat understanding with a lot of delays on products due to COVID?). Felt a bit rushed in December as our move in date was moved a couple times. We did get in 12/23, but found a few things missing, unfinished, and not working properly. Thinking NHC was trying to close sales before year end, and possibly sacrificed a few important details to do so (neighbors around us also sharing similar experiences). Just recently we found out that our recessed ceiling in the main room is not level (crown moulding was not straight) so [name removed] is scheduled to come out at end of month to rip out and fix (a one week costly interruption and inconvenience). Also just finding out all our touch up paint isn't matching. There were numerous white spots that needed to be covered, thinking the problem is only one thin coat was originally applied?? [name removed] was our initial "fix it" guy, but we felt sorry for him as he was obviously way overwhelmed. We now have [name removed], and on his initial encounter he was very detailed and attentive.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Vacaville, CA, on Apr 12, 2022

Excellent service and open line of communication was provided from beginning to end.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Vacaville, CA, on Apr 11, 2022

Quality of the models translated to the quality of house we received in the end. There were not any upgrades we felt compelled to select as all the standard features were already attractive to us.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Davis, CA, on Apr 10, 2022

The staff were very helpful, friendly and professional.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Vacaville, CA, on Apr 09, 2022

The time between purchase and move in were considered unprecedented times…and the delays were numerous. I do feel like a bit more could have been done to ensure all materials were installed on time for move in. We did not have shower doors or even a real front door to our home.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Vacaville, CA, on Apr 09, 2022

Everything went smooth as I had hoped.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Apr 05, 2022

My Home was not ready in Move in Date 11/30/22. Moved in on Dec 6, 2022. I Home has need many repairs and still do

2.7
Verified Homeowner
Sacramento, CA, on Apr 02, 2022

I didn't like that all of my to do list items that needed to be fixed wasn't fixed prior to me moving in

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Apr 02, 2022

Likes: 1. Salespeople ([name removed] and [name removed]) were very helpful throughout the whole process. 2. [name removed] is very communicative and is trying his best to sort through all of our issues. He is very friendly and professional. Dislikes: 1. Our design selection process was way more stressful that it should have been, in my opinion. Our design person ([name removed]) kept confusing our lot with other lots and we had to keep track of a lot of details on our end to make sure all orders were entered properly. There was also a lack of communication from her. We rarely received communication back in a timely manner and had to call her multiple times to receive a response. This should have been the most exciting part of the process, which became the most frustrating part due to lack of communication and disorganization. 2. There were a lot of items that were not properly installed when we moved in. I believe there is a huge issue with the builder’s quality control process. Our AC wasn’t properly installed, ceiling lights were misaligned, seams were showing on the ceilings…and the list goes on. A lot of these items are very visible and could have been caught before the home was delivered to us. Instead, I believe the builder rushed to close on our home because it was the end of the year. 3. More than 3 months after we have moved in, we are still chipping away at the long list of items we have yet to resolve. The workers have had to come back multiple times to fix and re-fix the work that they have done.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Davis, CA, on Apr 02, 2022

The sales agent, [name removed], was very helpfull and supportive for us to acquire this purchasing in a short period of time.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Mar 29, 2022

I liked that there were plenty of options available to choose from. I disliked how the closing was handled. We were rushed to close despite the house having lots of paint and finish issues, damage in many areas and the vast majority of our windows were (are scratched) with deep gouges. The garage door would not close due to binding which caused it to pop back open automatically. Lot's of paint all over the floor as well as overspray on several areas on the outside of the house. It felt like we were buying a fixer upper and not a new house.

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Mar 18, 2022

Quality of build and house.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Mar 15, 2022

We enjoyed working with [name removed] in customizing the house as she was very knowledgable. Beyond that we are extremely dissatisfied with how our home turned out. Very little from our initial walk through prior to move in has been fixed. We are missing basic door handles, window screens, basic finishing hasn't been completed, stains throughout our stairs haven't been fixed, damaged carpet hasn't been replaced, we still don't have the dishwasher we purchased, fireplace needs to be replaced. The quality of our home is similar to a fixer up and not what we expected with the amount we paid for this home. I would not recommend any friends or family to The New Home Company based on the quality of work completed thus far.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
Davis, CA, on Mar 15, 2022

[name removed] was an amazing agent who helped make purchasing my first home go smoothly and a great experience. [name removed] had 10/10 customer support after I moved in. I appreciated her guidance and was always so helpful. I can't recommend [name removed] and [name removed] enough they are awesome!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Davis, CA, on Jan 10, 2022

The purchase experience was very good. Only the long list of information we had to provide to our lender slowed us down. We were lucky and all people associated with Good Home were top-notch.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Davis, CA, on Jan 10, 2022

The contract and move-in are fine, but we believe the interior design can be a bit more thoughtful for the residents.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Vacaville, CA, on Dec 07, 2021

I was most impressed by everyone working as a team. Everyone was in communication with each other. My family and I love and appreciate every team member that had a hand in this project. Thank you.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Nov 02, 2021

Great customer service

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Folsom, CA, on Oct 22, 2021

[name removed] and [name removed] were awesome from start to finish. They made the home buying experience pleasurable

4.9
Verified Homeowner