Top Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Shaddock Homes

Inspiration

61 Homeowner Reviews Completed Apr 2020 - Oct 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.3
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.2
Rating of homeowners' willingness to recommend this builder

PERFORMANCE RATINGS

Purchase Experience

4.3

Home Personalization Experience

4.2

Construction Experience

3.8

Customer Care Experience

4.4

Home Readiness

4.4

Installation & Workmanship

4.3

Community Profile

Inspiration is located in St. Paul, Texas just steps away from Lake Lavon, one of the largest lakes in Texas. This 593 acre master planned community in Collin County offers countryside living with beautiful lake views.





Driving Directions
Request More Info

MOST RECENT HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - All
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

St Paul, on Jun 26, 2021

We were treated horribly in the buying process and not a single leader from [name removed] has contacted me. They are a poorly run company that didn't care about my business.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Sep 08, 2021

The construction manager ultimately followed through on our requests, but communication with him was difficult both in person and via e-mail. My husband is a licensed architect and certain legitimate concerns raised to the construction manager were initially scoffed at and/or challenged, even if he did ultimately address them.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Sep 18, 2021

Able to get response in promptly time, so far no issues

4.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on May 19, 2021

We have had several quality issues with our home that are still outstanding. The below reflects the more major quality concerns. - Our master shower has been leaking into the walls. The issue was visible in September and we went through months of “what vendor was accountable” before it was repaired in February. A few months later it became apparent that the shower was again leaking. This repair is underway after aggressive pushes from [name removed] to get teams here. - Our roof was installed incorrectly with the dryer vent being roofed over. The roof has been patched but the integrity remains to be seen and the mold growing in the garage has yet to be remediated. - Our AC unit was installed with a book manual in the blower motor and a repair had to be made before we moved in. The exterior unit broke in November and was repaired before breaking again less than 24 hours later. The AC team has refused to remediate appropriately and the issue is still outstanding. - We had a patio extension added on and during the winter weather it was apparent that this was done without prior tie ins to the existing porch as the elevation difference was roughly two inches higher on the extension. - We have a crack in our foundation that was reported in March with adjacent cracked interior tiles. We have yet to hear from someone to evaluate the problem. - While updating some of the lighting in our bathrooms we discovered that the builder installed lights were not grounded appropriately along with large holes in the Sheetrock from poor installation. We were lucky this did not cause a fire.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Aug 07, 2021

Communications and meetings with the general contractor were cold and rushed. Couldn't tell if my questions or requests were being passed off or ignored because I was a woman or not but it was a consistent tone. Emails and texts with the contractor were strenuous and not helpful if he responded to me or my loan provider about items that would push back the closing date.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Sep 17, 2021

[name removed] has been good. Very responsive and overall helpful. Though I am not thrilled with some of the things considered not to be warrantied (such as spalling stone - why do ya'll not seal anything? It's a little absurd to me).

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Mar 25, 2021

Like 1.The response from Service ([name removed]) if needed 2. The quality of workmanship Dislike Nothing

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 08, 2021

[name removed] is doing a fantastic job

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Jul 16, 2021

Likes: It was great to have a design center with many design options to choose from. It was also nice that we were able to choose from several different exterior elevations, and modify several interior aspects of the home. Overall, we’re very happy with our home and feel that it’s a solid build. We love our floor plan. I personally enjoyed working with [name removed] and feel that she helped us narrow down our options in a decisive manner. Your title company was super efficient and even let us bring our dogs inside while we closed. We moved from Illinois so we didn’t have anyone available to watch them while we closed, so that was incredibly awesome! Dislikes: Working with [name removed], the construction manager, wasn’t the most pleasant experience. I’m a working business woman and was the primary contact on the build, yet when my husband and I met with [name removed], [name removed] mainly only interacted with my husband. I was making the final call on everything so it would’ve been nice if [name removed] could’ve acted like I was part of the transaction. Also, we were told that we’d be sent pictures of the building process and never once received any. We received some pictures of things that had to be fixed, but that was the extent of sharing photos with us. We lived in Illinois so it would’ve been nice if [name removed] followed through on sending pics. Regarding design center pricing, I had to sort through our selections list several times and request that [name removed], the designer we worked with, correct the pricing sheets. She could’ve been a bit more thorough in her review of pricing sheets before sending them to us.

3.5
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Oct 04, 2020

Easy to work with on a spec home .... very little warranty work (which was nice) but response to warranty slow. Grass and sprinkler system (breaks, leaks repairs) have been challenging.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on May 27, 2021

[name removed] is amazing - she is patient, knowledgeable and very thoughtful about the entire process!

4.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jun 22, 2021

Dead shrubs in front were not replaced. We were in just a month when the February freeze killed them. We’re initially told they’d replace in May then said they would not.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 01, 2020

I understand that sometimes issues can come up with new house however the professionalism and dedication for [name removed] to address and fix all the issues is outstanding. I just want to say thank you [name removed]!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Mar 16, 2021

Working with [name removed] has been great. He knows his job and knows it well. [name removed] process is complex and I appreciate he takes the time to evaluate our identified issues and resolves them or makes it clear why something is not covered under warranty.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on May 14, 2021

Almost every single person we have interacted with at [name removed] has been extremely rude and/or indifferent. We had to constantly struggle to figure out what modifications we could make to our home and often times the sales rep was not knowledgeable about the topic or unwilling to suggest things to us, and we often felt like if anything went wrong there it was our fault when we had no guidance. When there was a dispute about something, [name removed] was always quick to blame us and make us feel completely unvalued as a customer. The designer did not seem to want to give any guidance whatsoever. Our first meeting was discouraging because we did not feel like we got any actual design help. If we had not already spent ~100 hours fully brainstorming the design of the home before the appointment, we would certainly have been screwed. Prices of things were never discussed, and the question of what we would like our total budget to be was NEVER asked. The construction manager was frequently very smug and condescending. Any time we pointed out actual issues (including a real, verified gas leak) we were met with indignation, as if we were personally attacking his work. Getting a helpful response via email is like pulling teeth unless we are wrong about something then we are very quick to get a condescending response. The entire process has been exhausting and was not once made easier on us by outstanding customer service. Our home is nice because we literally fought to make it that way. I have actively steered others away from consider [name removed] and have instead sent them to Highland [name removed].

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Wylie, on Jul 13, 2019

The attention to details and willingness to make sure we were happy and remained happy.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Feb 08, 2021

I have been completely satisfied. [name removed] is awesome to work with

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Apr 06, 2021

I had no major issues with the purchasing. Everything went smoothly as I expected.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Mar 19, 2019

Customer service and responses on any needs were always handled with the upmost of professionalism.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Dec 18, 2020

[name removed] has been super friendly and easy to contact. However, a few our tickets were prematurely closed without being addressed at all. I've asked repeatedly whether those can be reopened or should I log new items, and I never got a response.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Mar 16, 2021

[name removed] and my Realestate agent made the process very easy for us. They were available to answer our questions and concerns

4.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 17, 2018

We loved our [removed] home in [removed] but our house in Saint [removed] in not the same quality.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Nov 10, 2020

There have been very few warranty issues up to this point - which is awesome!

3.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Feb 28, 2021

It was a seamless experience

4.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 10, 2018

[removed] and mike

4.6
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Sep 03, 2020

So far it's been good

4.5
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Feb 11, 2021

Nearby construction and muddy streets.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 10, 2018

During the building process, issues seen were quickly addressed. Quality of workmanship was above expectations.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on May 22, 2020

Our new warranty contact, [name removed], has been an amazing help in getting our warranty tickets completed.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Nov 10, 2020

We were very pleased with the entire process. [name removed] was amazing and made the process very easy. She accommodated all of our needs to include the numerous times we asked to be let into the house to see it as the build progressed.

4.8
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 10 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - Purchase & Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

St Paul, TX, on Sep 08, 2021

The construction manager ultimately followed through on our requests, but communication with him was difficult both in person and via e-mail. My husband is a licensed architect and certain legitimate concerns raised to the construction manager were initially scoffed at and/or challenged, even if he did ultimately address them.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Aug 07, 2021

Communications and meetings with the general contractor were cold and rushed. Couldn't tell if my questions or requests were being passed off or ignored because I was a woman or not but it was a consistent tone. Emails and texts with the contractor were strenuous and not helpful if he responded to me or my loan provider about items that would push back the closing date.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Jul 16, 2021

Likes: It was great to have a design center with many design options to choose from. It was also nice that we were able to choose from several different exterior elevations, and modify several interior aspects of the home. Overall, we’re very happy with our home and feel that it’s a solid build. We love our floor plan. I personally enjoyed working with [name removed] and feel that she helped us narrow down our options in a decisive manner. Your title company was super efficient and even let us bring our dogs inside while we closed. We moved from Illinois so we didn’t have anyone available to watch them while we closed, so that was incredibly awesome! Dislikes: Working with [name removed], the construction manager, wasn’t the most pleasant experience. I’m a working business woman and was the primary contact on the build, yet when my husband and I met with [name removed], [name removed] mainly only interacted with my husband. I was making the final call on everything so it would’ve been nice if [name removed] could’ve acted like I was part of the transaction. Also, we were told that we’d be sent pictures of the building process and never once received any. We received some pictures of things that had to be fixed, but that was the extent of sharing photos with us. We lived in Illinois so it would’ve been nice if [name removed] followed through on sending pics. Regarding design center pricing, I had to sort through our selections list several times and request that [name removed], the designer we worked with, correct the pricing sheets. She could’ve been a bit more thorough in her review of pricing sheets before sending them to us.

3.5
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on May 27, 2021

[name removed] is amazing - she is patient, knowledgeable and very thoughtful about the entire process!

4.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on May 14, 2021

Almost every single person we have interacted with at [name removed] has been extremely rude and/or indifferent. We had to constantly struggle to figure out what modifications we could make to our home and often times the sales rep was not knowledgeable about the topic or unwilling to suggest things to us, and we often felt like if anything went wrong there it was our fault when we had no guidance. When there was a dispute about something, [name removed] was always quick to blame us and make us feel completely unvalued as a customer. The designer did not seem to want to give any guidance whatsoever. Our first meeting was discouraging because we did not feel like we got any actual design help. If we had not already spent ~100 hours fully brainstorming the design of the home before the appointment, we would certainly have been screwed. Prices of things were never discussed, and the question of what we would like our total budget to be was NEVER asked. The construction manager was frequently very smug and condescending. Any time we pointed out actual issues (including a real, verified gas leak) we were met with indignation, as if we were personally attacking his work. Getting a helpful response via email is like pulling teeth unless we are wrong about something then we are very quick to get a condescending response. The entire process has been exhausting and was not once made easier on us by outstanding customer service. Our home is nice because we literally fought to make it that way. I have actively steered others away from consider [name removed] and have instead sent them to Highland [name removed].

3.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Apr 06, 2021

I had no major issues with the purchasing. Everything went smoothly as I expected.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Mar 16, 2021

[name removed] and my Realestate agent made the process very easy for us. They were available to answer our questions and concerns

4.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Feb 28, 2021

It was a seamless experience

4.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Feb 11, 2021

Nearby construction and muddy streets.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, TX, on Nov 10, 2020

We were very pleased with the entire process. [name removed] was amazing and made the process very easy. She accommodated all of our needs to include the numerous times we asked to be let into the house to see it as the build progressed.

4.8
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 10 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - 5-6 Months after Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

St Paul, on Sep 18, 2021

Able to get response in promptly time, so far no issues

4.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Sep 17, 2021

[name removed] has been good. Very responsive and overall helpful. Though I am not thrilled with some of the things considered not to be warrantied (such as spalling stone - why do ya'll not seal anything? It's a little absurd to me).

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 08, 2021

[name removed] is doing a fantastic job

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jun 22, 2021

Dead shrubs in front were not replaced. We were in just a month when the February freeze killed them. We’re initially told they’d replace in May then said they would not.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Mar 16, 2021

Working with [name removed] has been great. He knows his job and knows it well. [name removed] process is complex and I appreciate he takes the time to evaluate our identified issues and resolves them or makes it clear why something is not covered under warranty.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Feb 08, 2021

I have been completely satisfied. [name removed] is awesome to work with

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Dec 18, 2020

[name removed] has been super friendly and easy to contact. However, a few our tickets were prematurely closed without being addressed at all. I've asked repeatedly whether those can be reopened or should I log new items, and I never got a response.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Nov 10, 2020

There have been very few warranty issues up to this point - which is awesome!

3.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Sep 03, 2020

So far it's been good

4.5
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on May 22, 2020

Our new warranty contact, [name removed], has been an amazing help in getting our warranty tickets completed.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 10 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - 10-12 Months after Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

St Paul, on Jun 26, 2021

We were treated horribly in the buying process and not a single leader from [name removed] has contacted me. They are a poorly run company that didn't care about my business.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on May 19, 2021

We have had several quality issues with our home that are still outstanding. The below reflects the more major quality concerns. - Our master shower has been leaking into the walls. The issue was visible in September and we went through months of “what vendor was accountable” before it was repaired in February. A few months later it became apparent that the shower was again leaking. This repair is underway after aggressive pushes from [name removed] to get teams here. - Our roof was installed incorrectly with the dryer vent being roofed over. The roof has been patched but the integrity remains to be seen and the mold growing in the garage has yet to be remediated. - Our AC unit was installed with a book manual in the blower motor and a repair had to be made before we moved in. The exterior unit broke in November and was repaired before breaking again less than 24 hours later. The AC team has refused to remediate appropriately and the issue is still outstanding. - We had a patio extension added on and during the winter weather it was apparent that this was done without prior tie ins to the existing porch as the elevation difference was roughly two inches higher on the extension. - We have a crack in our foundation that was reported in March with adjacent cracked interior tiles. We have yet to hear from someone to evaluate the problem. - While updating some of the lighting in our bathrooms we discovered that the builder installed lights were not grounded appropriately along with large holes in the Sheetrock from poor installation. We were lucky this did not cause a fire.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Mar 25, 2021

Like 1.The response from Service ([name removed]) if needed 2. The quality of workmanship Dislike Nothing

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Oct 04, 2020

Easy to work with on a spec home .... very little warranty work (which was nice) but response to warranty slow. Grass and sprinkler system (breaks, leaks repairs) have been challenging.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 01, 2020

I understand that sometimes issues can come up with new house however the professionalism and dedication for [name removed] to address and fix all the issues is outstanding. I just want to say thank you [name removed]!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Wylie, on Jul 13, 2019

The attention to details and willingness to make sure we were happy and remained happy.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Mar 19, 2019

Customer service and responses on any needs were always handled with the upmost of professionalism.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 17, 2018

We loved our [removed] home in [removed] but our house in Saint [removed] in not the same quality.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 10, 2018

[removed] and mike

4.6
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 10, 2018

During the building process, issues seen were quickly addressed. Quality of workmanship was above expectations.

4.8
Verified Homeowner