Top Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Shaddock Homes

Inspiration

49 Homeowner Reviews Completed Sep 2022 - Mar 2024

Overall Satisfaction

4.0
Customers' overall satisfaction
3.5
Rating of homeowners' willingness to recommend this builder

PERFORMANCE RATINGS

Purchase Experience

3.8

Home Personalization Experience

4.1

Construction Experience

4.1

Customer Care Experience

4.6

Home Readiness

4.1

Installation & Workmanship

4.1

Community Profile

Inspiration is located in St. Paul, Texas just steps away from Lake Lavon, one of the largest lakes in Texas. This 593 acre master planned community in Collin County offers countryside living with beautiful lake views.





Driving Directions
Request More Info

MOST RECENT HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - All
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Lucas, on Dec 28, 2023

The warranty service is worst. I have a service request open for several months with little or no communication

1.3
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Jan 04, 2024

Nothing

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jan 15, 2024

We liked shaddock staff- [name removed], [name removed], [name removed]

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Dec 09, 2021

I have brought up the issue of the dead tree in my front yard many months ago. I spoke with [name removed] on November 9th, 2021. He told me to send him the photos of my dead tree which I did on November 10th via text. Since then I have texted him twice, email once with no response. I am retired military officer and I take care of my property, therefore the issue of the dead tree was not due to negligence on my part. I am deeply saddened with this situation, so I am going to schedule an appointment with the owner of the company in order for [name removed] home to do the right thing.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Aug 27, 2023

uncertainty of schedule, poor quality of work especially the bath frameless shower glasses from united mirrors. they replaced one and all it is not fit properly. there are a few electrical sockets that do not work, touch up left etc.,

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Dec 16, 2023

Overall, needed warranty services have been well managed and conducted professionally. I appreciate the system [name removed] has in place for this type of work.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Dec 08, 2021

Our warranty manager, [name removed] has been extremely helpful and attentive, always handling any situation promptly with attention to detail and full follow through. He's always available to assist and keeps us in the loop with the progress of the repairs. A lot to be said for that!!!

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Aug 11, 2023

The main things that stands out are issues associate with the upgraded front elevation and the related concerns having to do with watershed from the roof. These matters were ultimately addressed to my satisfaction.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Oct 13, 2023

1. Very poor quality of workmanship (our upgraded $40K Engineered wood floors have several areas where it is not leveled), chipped wooden floors in main areas(study, foyer, kitchen, great room) 2. Sheetrock not fixed properly in the garage 3. Garage door making noise when closing in 1-car garage 4. Trim not fixed properly in the left side of the 1-car garage 5. Leaks from Master Bathroom glass screen adjacent to master tub 6.Paint not done well in kitchen cabinets (above vent-a-hood)-streaks of paint makes it looks poor quality. 7. Exterior faucet in the front requires caulking in the wall (gap is exposed and not secure) 8. Warranty manager and dashboard to report is NOT responsive. No communication and delete the issue without responding back to the customer. OVERALL, TERRIBLY DISAPPOINTED with the [name removed] build and would not recommend to anyone. [name removed], 1534 Stellar Truth Way, [name removed] Community (214-649-7171) cell phone in case anyone cares about customer satisfaction and service

0.5
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Nov 24, 2021

Quality materials and workmanship.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jul 24, 2023

Very Rigid and one-sided Contract Language by [name removed]. Design Studio [name removed], Site Management, and Construction Management Teams were highly flexible, customer service oriented, and quality oriented.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Aug 25, 2023

They have kept their word and commitment to fixing things that may not have been quite perfect from the close of the home

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Nov 16, 2021

The plumbers took too long to get my toilet taken care of.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jul 16, 2023

I like sell / closing process, everything is on time and smooth transaction, however expected more build quality. On second day on move found issue with AC unit and took few days to resolve and caused some room damage etc... Also there were minor outstanding issues took longer than expected. Overall quality is good, could've been better.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Aug 20, 2023

Disliked the Warrenty, had to call raise request multiple times to fix

2.7
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jun 26, 2021

We were treated horribly in the buying process and not a single leader from [name removed] has contacted me. They are a poorly run company that didn't care about my business.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jun 14, 2023

A lot, but these are top of mind. Assume I am not winning the gifts on the drawings, but brutally honest feedback below: 1. "Nickel and Dimed" on pretty much every item. Standard offering was low spec forcing us to upgrade 2. In some cases, charged twice as much for the upgrade as the item actually cost 3. Standard offering especially floor tiles was pathetic quality and look cheap. 1' X 1' floor tiles, never seen them since the 1980s. 4. Design Center experience was lackluster to say the least. The center "consultant" had little to no knowledge on the upgrade items specs. We did all the research 5. We had little choice in the "upgrade" selection. Most were either builder grade or lower end versions of the items. Inflated pricing 6. The builder purchase contract was extremely one sided. Was not fair to us, the purchaser. 7. Extreme lack of communication/updates from the build team early in the process. Several weeks of no updates. Progress had to be literally asked for. Communication frequency we agreed was not adhered to. However this improved towards the latter part of the build once we demonstrated we meant business. 8. Tried to close home with several pending items including developer related issues which were pending for weeks. We literally had to delay close to handle these. Overall, [name removed] and [name removed] worked with me to handle these problems. They worked hard with the larger limitations they are faced from corporate.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Jul 10, 2023

Warranty manager isn’t answering my call. I didn’t get any services from Shaddok

1.1
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on May 19, 2021

We have had several quality issues with our home that are still outstanding. The below reflects the more major quality concerns. - Our master shower has been leaking into the walls. The issue was visible in September and we went through months of “what vendor was accountable” before it was repaired in February. A few months later it became apparent that the shower was again leaking. This repair is underway after aggressive pushes from [name removed] to get teams here. - Our roof was installed incorrectly with the dryer vent being roofed over. The roof has been patched but the integrity remains to be seen and the mold growing in the garage has yet to be remediated. - Our AC unit was installed with a book manual in the blower motor and a repair had to be made before we moved in. The exterior unit broke in November and was repaired before breaking again less than 24 hours later. The AC team has refused to remediate appropriately and the issue is still outstanding. - We had a patio extension added on and during the winter weather it was apparent that this was done without prior tie ins to the existing porch as the elevation difference was roughly two inches higher on the extension. - We have a crack in our foundation that was reported in March with adjacent cracked interior tiles. We have yet to hear from someone to evaluate the problem. - While updating some of the lighting in our bathrooms we discovered that the builder installed lights were not grounded appropriately along with large holes in the Sheetrock from poor installation. We were lucky this did not cause a fire.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Apr 30, 2023

Lack of response. Constantly having to follow up.

1.4
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on May 13, 2023

The builder had lack of communication and several “choices” made were no longer available but only found out about it after the fact. Quality of cabinets is that of Ikea and not what you would see in a $700K+ home. The attention to detail from certain trades was minimal and resulted in several replacements or “fixed”

3.3
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Mar 25, 2021

Like 1.The response from Service ([name removed]) if needed 2. The quality of workmanship Dislike Nothing

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Mar 11, 2023

The manager over warranty has been a saving [name removed] when things are going left. I like how quick and responsive [name removed] is. There are a few areas and concerns with my flooring in the home and has been since moving in. It is slowly getting fixed but it’s consistent disruption. [name removed] has responded timely for all inquiries showing to take it seriously but limited on solutions with flooring. Overall [name removed] helps with providing some comfort of support when needed.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Apr 29, 2023

Timeline of finished home and inflexibility

3.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Oct 04, 2020

Easy to work with on a spec home .... very little warranty work (which was nice) but response to warranty slow. Grass and sprinkler system (breaks, leaks repairs) have been challenging.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Mar 09, 2023

Worst build experience. Builders and sales changed too many times. Took more than 2 years for completion. Roof leaked the second day we moved in. Lots of cracks in the build and lots of quality issues. Doesnt expect this from a premium builder.

1.5
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Apr 26, 2023

I haven’t liked the sales agent the way he treated and spoken to us

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 01, 2020

I understand that sometimes issues can come up with new house however the professionalism and dedication for [name removed] to address and fix all the issues is outstanding. I just want to say thank you [name removed]!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Jan 16, 2023

It has been a struggle to get the things fixed that need to be fixed.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Apr 21, 2023

Service is really good

4.4
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 10 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - Purchase & Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Lucas, TX, on Jan 15, 2024

We liked shaddock staff- [name removed], [name removed], [name removed]

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Aug 27, 2023

uncertainty of schedule, poor quality of work especially the bath frameless shower glasses from united mirrors. they replaced one and all it is not fit properly. there are a few electrical sockets that do not work, touch up left etc.,

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Aug 11, 2023

The main things that stands out are issues associate with the upgraded front elevation and the related concerns having to do with watershed from the roof. These matters were ultimately addressed to my satisfaction.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jul 24, 2023

Very Rigid and one-sided Contract Language by [name removed]. Design Studio [name removed], Site Management, and Construction Management Teams were highly flexible, customer service oriented, and quality oriented.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jul 16, 2023

I like sell / closing process, everything is on time and smooth transaction, however expected more build quality. On second day on move found issue with AC unit and took few days to resolve and caused some room damage etc... Also there were minor outstanding issues took longer than expected. Overall quality is good, could've been better.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jun 14, 2023

A lot, but these are top of mind. Assume I am not winning the gifts on the drawings, but brutally honest feedback below: 1. "Nickel and Dimed" on pretty much every item. Standard offering was low spec forcing us to upgrade 2. In some cases, charged twice as much for the upgrade as the item actually cost 3. Standard offering especially floor tiles was pathetic quality and look cheap. 1' X 1' floor tiles, never seen them since the 1980s. 4. Design Center experience was lackluster to say the least. The center "consultant" had little to no knowledge on the upgrade items specs. We did all the research 5. We had little choice in the "upgrade" selection. Most were either builder grade or lower end versions of the items. Inflated pricing 6. The builder purchase contract was extremely one sided. Was not fair to us, the purchaser. 7. Extreme lack of communication/updates from the build team early in the process. Several weeks of no updates. Progress had to be literally asked for. Communication frequency we agreed was not adhered to. However this improved towards the latter part of the build once we demonstrated we meant business. 8. Tried to close home with several pending items including developer related issues which were pending for weeks. We literally had to delay close to handle these. Overall, [name removed] and [name removed] worked with me to handle these problems. They worked hard with the larger limitations they are faced from corporate.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on May 13, 2023

The builder had lack of communication and several “choices” made were no longer available but only found out about it after the fact. Quality of cabinets is that of Ikea and not what you would see in a $700K+ home. The attention to detail from certain trades was minimal and resulted in several replacements or “fixed”

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Apr 29, 2023

Timeline of finished home and inflexibility

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Apr 26, 2023

I haven’t liked the sales agent the way he treated and spoken to us

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Apr 21, 2023

Service is really good

4.4
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 10 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - 5-6 Months after Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Lucas, on Dec 28, 2023

The warranty service is worst. I have a service request open for several months with little or no communication

1.3
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Dec 16, 2023

Overall, needed warranty services have been well managed and conducted professionally. I appreciate the system [name removed] has in place for this type of work.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Oct 13, 2023

1. Very poor quality of workmanship (our upgraded $40K Engineered wood floors have several areas where it is not leveled), chipped wooden floors in main areas(study, foyer, kitchen, great room) 2. Sheetrock not fixed properly in the garage 3. Garage door making noise when closing in 1-car garage 4. Trim not fixed properly in the left side of the 1-car garage 5. Leaks from Master Bathroom glass screen adjacent to master tub 6.Paint not done well in kitchen cabinets (above vent-a-hood)-streaks of paint makes it looks poor quality. 7. Exterior faucet in the front requires caulking in the wall (gap is exposed and not secure) 8. Warranty manager and dashboard to report is NOT responsive. No communication and delete the issue without responding back to the customer. OVERALL, TERRIBLY DISAPPOINTED with the [name removed] build and would not recommend to anyone. [name removed], 1534 Stellar Truth Way, [name removed] Community (214-649-7171) cell phone in case anyone cares about customer satisfaction and service

0.5
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Aug 25, 2023

They have kept their word and commitment to fixing things that may not have been quite perfect from the close of the home

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Aug 20, 2023

Disliked the Warrenty, had to call raise request multiple times to fix

2.7
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Jul 10, 2023

Warranty manager isn’t answering my call. I didn’t get any services from Shaddok

1.1
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Apr 30, 2023

Lack of response. Constantly having to follow up.

1.4
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Mar 11, 2023

The manager over warranty has been a saving [name removed] when things are going left. I like how quick and responsive [name removed] is. There are a few areas and concerns with my flooring in the home and has been since moving in. It is slowly getting fixed but it’s consistent disruption. [name removed] has responded timely for all inquiries showing to take it seriously but limited on solutions with flooring. Overall [name removed] helps with providing some comfort of support when needed.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Mar 09, 2023

Worst build experience. Builders and sales changed too many times. Took more than 2 years for completion. Roof leaked the second day we moved in. Lots of cracks in the build and lots of quality issues. Doesnt expect this from a premium builder.

1.5
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, on Jan 16, 2023

It has been a struggle to get the things fixed that need to be fixed.

4.3
Verified Homeowner

MOST RECENT 10 HOME OWNERS' VERBATIM COMMENTS - 10-12 Months after Move In
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Lucas, on Jan 04, 2024

Nothing

3.9
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Dec 09, 2021

I have brought up the issue of the dead tree in my front yard many months ago. I spoke with [name removed] on November 9th, 2021. He told me to send him the photos of my dead tree which I did on November 10th via text. Since then I have texted him twice, email once with no response. I am retired military officer and I take care of my property, therefore the issue of the dead tree was not due to negligence on my part. I am deeply saddened with this situation, so I am going to schedule an appointment with the owner of the company in order for [name removed] home to do the right thing.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Dec 08, 2021

Our warranty manager, [name removed] has been extremely helpful and attentive, always handling any situation promptly with attention to detail and full follow through. He's always available to assist and keeps us in the loop with the progress of the repairs. A lot to be said for that!!!

4.7
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Nov 24, 2021

Quality materials and workmanship.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Nov 16, 2021

The plumbers took too long to get my toilet taken care of.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jun 26, 2021

We were treated horribly in the buying process and not a single leader from [name removed] has contacted me. They are a poorly run company that didn't care about my business.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on May 19, 2021

We have had several quality issues with our home that are still outstanding. The below reflects the more major quality concerns. - Our master shower has been leaking into the walls. The issue was visible in September and we went through months of “what vendor was accountable” before it was repaired in February. A few months later it became apparent that the shower was again leaking. This repair is underway after aggressive pushes from [name removed] to get teams here. - Our roof was installed incorrectly with the dryer vent being roofed over. The roof has been patched but the integrity remains to be seen and the mold growing in the garage has yet to be remediated. - Our AC unit was installed with a book manual in the blower motor and a repair had to be made before we moved in. The exterior unit broke in November and was repaired before breaking again less than 24 hours later. The AC team has refused to remediate appropriately and the issue is still outstanding. - We had a patio extension added on and during the winter weather it was apparent that this was done without prior tie ins to the existing porch as the elevation difference was roughly two inches higher on the extension. - We have a crack in our foundation that was reported in March with adjacent cracked interior tiles. We have yet to hear from someone to evaluate the problem. - While updating some of the lighting in our bathrooms we discovered that the builder installed lights were not grounded appropriately along with large holes in the Sheetrock from poor installation. We were lucky this did not cause a fire.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Mar 25, 2021

Like 1.The response from Service ([name removed]) if needed 2. The quality of workmanship Dislike Nothing

5.0
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Oct 04, 2020

Easy to work with on a spec home .... very little warranty work (which was nice) but response to warranty slow. Grass and sprinkler system (breaks, leaks repairs) have been challenging.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
St Paul, on Jul 01, 2020

I understand that sometimes issues can come up with new house however the professionalism and dedication for [name removed] to address and fix all the issues is outstanding. I just want to say thank you [name removed]!

5.0
Verified Homeowner