Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

New Home Co.

Colorado

152 Homeowner Reviews
Sep 2022 - Mar 2024

Builder Profile

All of us are looking to build a better life. A life filled with everything and everyone that matters most. And a place to call home that brings it all together in the best possible ways. We understand how important your home is to you. It means a lot to us too. Our homes are an expression of the knowledge we have about how people want to live. For us they are individual works of art for the world to see and enjoy.

This is our legacy.

We hold ourselves to a higher standard. We demand more from ourselves. Our recognition as the nation’s most awarded builder for customer satisfaction matters deeply to us. We care about our home buyers experience, how their home looks, feels and lives. Why a particular piece of land was chosen. We care about the relationships with our craftsmen, our lenders, our neighbors. And we expect from them what we expect from ourselves – a belief that this process is as much about building a better life as it is about building a better home.

We’ve spent decades building homes and became a publicly traded company (NYSE: NWHM) to help fuel our growth while remaining committed to our roots. Homebuilding gives us a profound sense of fulfillment as we strive every day to provide better environments, contribute to better schools, support communities with a sense of social consciousness – all with a level of integrity, respect, and compassion for the world in which we live.

Each of us here at The New Home Company share in a strongly held belief that every new home is a new opportunity to build something better.

A better experience. A better home. A better life.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:...read more

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted...read less

Most Recent 20 Comments From Colorado
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Parker, CO, on Feb 19, 2024

[name removed] was responsive during construction. As a quality inspector for a living I felt like some big things were overlooked or missed and I’m dealing with those issues now.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Parker, CO, on Feb 13, 2024

Isaiac fixed issues quick.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Jan 19, 2024

[name removed], [name removed], and [name removed] we're incredible throughout the entire process. I had a ton of questions for them and since this was a brand new plan, I'm sure it wasn't easy for them to answer everything I asked each week but they came through every time. When I first looked at the house pre drywall, [name removed] happened to be there and I could immediately tell he was passionate about his job. He took the time to talk to me and show his excitement about the house and the new plan. That really made an impact on my decision to buy this house. I also loved that [name removed] took the time to give me a tour of the neighborhood. My only dislike during the process was the original preferred lender with New American Funding. There was a lot of confusion during the process, I felt I wasn't getting a great deal from them, I wasn't a priority, and last minute they let me know I needed to come up with an additional $8,000 because my down payment wasn't enough to receive the full builder credit. This is something that should have been caught months ago. Thankfully, [name removed] was able to connect me with another lender through Prime Lending that was amazing. They made me feel like I was a priority, gave me a much better deal, and they were able to put the loan together within a week! [name removed] also worked it out so that I could still receive the preferred lender credit!

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Dec 22, 2023

It was a great process!

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Dec 06, 2023

Loved [name removed] and the sales team!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Nov 28, 2023

I liked the attention and responsiveness from the Customer Care reps

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Parker, CO, on Nov 27, 2023

We aren't missing anything major, but several pending items for our house are not complete. We are missing cabinets, a ceiling fan, paint in a few places etc. We had a tight move-in window, which was much more important than the missing items. We *love love love* our floorplan. It's a ton of space, focused in the correct areas of the home that we use. It's a shame that NHC will stop building homes at this price point, the floor plan is really great.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Nov 02, 2023

The company has been extremely responsive to our requests to fix things that we identified during the walk-through.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Columbine Valley, CO, on Oct 21, 2023

This is a $2.5M home that you put hollow core doors in, didn't put a vanity in that we asked you for, wouldn't insultate between floors, only did the front yard, didn't setup the water heater properly (for anyone in the neighborhood), weren't going to tell us the roof needed to be replaced, wouldn't caulk windows and doors or any other inspection items that came up and the list goes on. We've asked everyone in the neighborhood and their experiences parallel ours. You failed on so many levels. Fortunately for you the people who live there are REALLY nice people. If any of them are lawyers or litigious be warned, they will come after you for these failures - there are SO many!

2.4
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Oct 12, 2023

Things were not fully finished at time of closing. Then we’ve been ignored

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Parker, CO, on Sep 17, 2023

The home is beautiful. The orientation was painful, it took 4 hours to note all the items needed to be addressed before closing. A large number of the items from the orientation walk through were not complete at closing and we are still waiting for many of them to be done nearly 30 days after close. For example, we didn’t have a functioning fridge for a week after close and one of our wall controllers for one of the garage doorIs still doesn’t work at all / About 2/3’s of the paint touch ups still need to be addressed / Still waiting on the wrong light fixtures in the entry to be replaced and for fixtures to be installed in the dining area /Under cabinet lights still don’t work / etc. [name removed] was great but he’s gone, [name removed] has been good. It appears [name removed] is committed to get our items wrapped up but needs help. He’s also closing homes and we’re getting pushed down the priority list. Everything outstanding could have and should have been done before closing.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Sep 13, 2023

The primary challenges and dislikes we have had are related to the sloppy paint job inside and outside the home . The quality of the painting of the doors has also been inconsistent . All other trades have done a wonderful job .

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Sep 02, 2023

[name removed] provide a great buying experience and helped us the entire way. The builders also took great pride in their work which made me feel confident in the quality of the home.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Parker, CO, on Aug 14, 2023

Like- the ability to customize several items, such as fridge location and bonus room half wall. Also the high quality of standard items. Dislike - the lack of communication after closing and how some of our comments/issues were brushed off and not addressed.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Aug 03, 2023

What I loved most was the attentive, professional approach from [name removed]. We could have bought from many other builders in any part of Denver. We didn’t choose Painted Prairie out of need for location. We chose Painted Prairie and Epic because if [name removed]. I talked to many other builders, NONE of them were [name removed]’s caliber. Their homes were attractive and honestly, ones I would have considered. But I didn’t. That’s because of [name removed].

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Columbine Valley, CO, on Jul 31, 2023

The construction delays were maddening, and at times [name removed] didn’t handle situation the best, he seemed to have limited info on what was going on.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Columbine Valley, CO, on Jun 15, 2023

I appreciate that we could individualize our home compared to most builders. Every Epic employee we worked with has been great.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on May 17, 2023

Everything went great and smooth.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Parker, CO, on May 01, 2023

[name removed] was awesome and so was [name removed] at the design studio. If it wasn’t for them I probably would not have bought the house. [name removed] and [name removed] are nice but I could not get answers many times about our house. It took 20 months from contract start to close which was very disappointing.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Apr 23, 2023

The end rush to finish on a time. The end result is over all a good quality home but there were lots of details that were rushed or done backwards or that need to be redone. Also, I think that the turnover rate of employees while the home was being built compromised the quality of work.

4.7
Verified Homeowner