Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Southgate Homes Reviews

309 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2021 - Sep 2022

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
3.8
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

  • 5t Ranch
  • Angel Field
  • Angel Field West
  • Austin Waters
  • Austin Waters Ph II
  • Brockdale
  • Canals At Grand Park
  • Edgewood
  • Edgewood 55s
  • Homestead
  • Lakes Of Argyle
  • Northglen
  • Northwood
  • Northwood Manor
  • Oaks Of Argyle
  • Stoney Creek
  • The Grove
  • Twin Creeks
  • Twin Creeks Ph III
  • Windsong Ranch

Most Recent 10 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Frisc, TX, on Sep 27, 2022

[name removed] provided a great buying experience. Our builder was phenomenal to work with. [name removed] was on point and meticulous, which is something that we appreciate going through the new build process for the first time. We bought a new and used house in the past but never one in the early stages of development. [name removed] and [name removed] were great at updating weekly, and we felt like part of the process despite being thousands of miles away.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Sep 24, 2022

I love the qyality and design if the home. [name removed] happy about expectations for the build time but good things come to those who wait

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Sep 14, 2022

It has been good. We have a couple of items we need to add to the warranty list.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Sep 10, 2022

I really liked the people ([name removed] and [name removed]). Without them, the scoring would have been considerably lower. Didn't like the mortgage process or the situations that [name removed] and [name removed] had to communicate to us. We relied on Greenbrick when it was the most critical and I was trying to lock, I lost out on my lock and interest rate because of [name removed]'s departure. [name removed] did the best he could to pick up the pieces. Furthermore, the lack of skill by some of the trades pushed our home out even further due to construction issues and costed me more money on my loan through Greenbrick. I understand that [name removed] did not make as much money on our home as they could have with the material and labor price increases, but we did everything on our end contractually. There was no consideration given to the fact that we were delivered something less than agreed upon in terms of time and quality. This is not our first home build. I know things happen but the fact that I still talk positively and refer the other builders is because of their management's response to unforeseen issues, similar to those we experienced in our [name removed] build. It was a tough time for everyone I know but management could have done better there if you are asking.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Sep 05, 2022

Both Builder and sales reps helped us

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Aug 31, 2022

Constant delays during building phase with missing light fixtures, noncompliance with safety guidelines (missing egress from bedroom window), and lack of attention to detail (e.g. tile work is crooked, chipped, and sloppy). We have had to hire contractors or re-do finishes on our own because we’re told that it’s within “acceptable room for error.” Our contractor who also works as a senior construction manager for another builder disagreed that this work is acceptable. Outsourcing is common in construction but [name removed] should really review the quality of the work being performed, there should at least be internal standards that should be enforced across the different communities that they are building at. We are very unhappy about our purchase experience, will definitely not recommend to anybody and will be expressing our views across other social media sites.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Aug 26, 2022

My wife and I really enjoyed the knowledge, experience, professionalism and warm welcome [name removed] shared with us throughout our beginning process. She was always available and responsive. It was heart breaking to us once we learned of her replacement. We missed everything about her throughout the reminder of our home build. Someone in Southgates upper management made the wrong decision letting her go. Her loss was felt on our end and added a level of stress on our shoulders. [name removed] was absolute amazing. He really did a fabulous job as construction manager. It’s unbelievable the level of professionalism, knowledgeable and patience he exudes as a Construction Manager. His performance throughout the building process reflected his ability to multitask and follow every detail through. He is absolutely amazing at his craft. His positive and calm professionalism was comforting. He really put all of our dreams into action and for that my family and I are truly grateful. Thank you Sir

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Aug 22, 2022

Our overall experience is very satisfactory. Very professional sales agent and contractor. Our sales agent [name removed] was kind and patient whenever we had questions or clarifications. She was always available whenever we needed. Our contractor [name removed] was very thorough in all aspects of the house. We are much satisfied with his work. All the sessions with him were very informative. He clarified all our doubts elaborately and patiently.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Aug 16, 2022

Dislikes - 1/[name removed] significant delay in delivery of the house than what was originally promised. 2/ we had to work with multiple construction managers Likes - We are happy with the sales response especially [name removed]. He regularly provided updates and helped us to make the right purchase choices .

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Aug 16, 2022

Going back on a signed contract by an agent made me lose on precious time. That was unprofessional.

2.5
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Southgate Homes logo

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.