Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Southgate Homes Reviews

287 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jan 2023 - Jul 2024

Overall Satisfaction

4.1
Customers' overall satisfaction
3.8
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Prosper, TX, on Jun 23, 2024

Very quick responses overall. The whole process went pretty smoothly with no major issues

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Jun 17, 2024

Good communication channels. Streamlined process. No surprises on the dates. Not too many floor plan options.untimely discontinuation of few floor plans. No customizable options. Not many options to select at design studio. Poor landscaping. Poor outdoor brick options.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Jun 16, 2024

The sales agents for [name removed] seemed to have zero authority, didn’t like how rigid they are. Would go with [name removed] next time because of the more adaptability and flexibility. Also hate how quality has gone done on all aspects of construction but the price has gone up.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Jun 16, 2024

Missed 5500$ item and paid for electric outlets which was not fulfilled and does not took responsibility to answer customer.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Jun 12, 2024

Upon staying in the house a bit more, the house was not clean in the corners. We have a lot of paint stains on the floors, some blocks (under the counters) arent painted properly.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Jun 06, 2024

We liked our sales agent [name removed] and our builder [name removed]

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on May 30, 2024

I had requested a peep hole, was told one would be installed after closing, and that never happened. Other issues have been minor and taken care of.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on May 28, 2024

Lots of miscommunication or misleading information throughout the process. No support during design center phase. Rushed to make design choices.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on May 23, 2024

I liked working with [name removed] and [name removed], both are very respectful and eager to help - very helpful in the home buying process

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on May 13, 2024

The follow up of anything that is wrong has been great.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on May 06, 2024

The experience has been good. Warranty issues are taken care of, closing was good.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on May 05, 2024

[name removed], the building contractor, displayed a consistently rude and unprofessional demeanor throughout my home buying experience. His tendency to avoid responsibility was the primary cause of my dissatisfaction. Whenever issues arose, his response was dismissive, claiming that the homes were not customized and that I should expect only a certain level of quality for the price. When I raised concerns about acid stains in the garage, he simply stated that nothing could be done. In contrast, a friend who closed on a home at Light Farms on the same day encountered a similar issue, but their contractor took ownership and promptly resolved it with a coat of epoxy. Furthermore, the flickering light in the range hood remained unresolved, with [name removed] brushing it off as a common occurrence. During an inspection appointment a couple of weeks prior, he inundated me with information, leaving me overwhelmed. When I requested to recap my understanding before closing, he refused, stating it would only be done once and that my opportunity had passed, offering no assistance. There was a squeaky noise in the media room and his answer was that some people expect everything to be perfect. It is unfortunate that Southgates homes, claims to be a luxury home builder but the customer facing teams seem to be believe they sell sub standard homes. On the flip side, [name removed] and [name removed] from the sales team were exceptionally supportive. Despite [name removed] being on vacation during my contract negotiation phase, she made certain that I had all the necessary assistance to successfully navigate the process and meet deadlines.

2.4
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on May 03, 2024

Overall it is fine, but in some area quality of Contruction and materials used are very low grade

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Apr 21, 2024

Like: met the timeline from signing to moving in Dislike: Overall quality of home is not good, walls are skew, "orange peel" wall texture poor, roof leaked and I had to convince [name removed] more than once to repair, door latching bad, had major disagreement with [name removed] regarding pulls with options that were not reasonable and as a result i did them myself, water drainage on sides of house and back are poor, felt that we had to really push to get snags identified and resolved, when it rains we hear drip noises in the master bedroom, home inspection identified roof exhaust that was not to code etc...

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Apr 19, 2024

No properties are built perfect. But what's important to us is that our complaints are being attended to and in this case they certainly are. Compliments to our warranty manager, [name removed], who's super responsive and highly effective.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Apr 17, 2024

We especially pleased with the cadence of communication regarding the progress of our build. We were contacted every Tuesday regarding the status of our build, which kept us in the loop without having to initiate contact. Our experience was always pleasant and fulfilling.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Apr 11, 2024

Drywall quality needs improvement

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on Apr 06, 2024

Sales person ([name removed]) and site manager ([name removed]) were very supportive and eager to help me. They were the best sales and project managers in my home buying experience.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Apr 03, 2024

Overall I liked the quality of the house. Few minor issues but they were addressed eventually. Flooring and roof has been the biggest concerns thus far. It will be addressed soon. Everything else has been minor in nature.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Mar 26, 2024

The Building Quality is very Poor, and Warranty guys are very rude or un professional

2.3
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Award-winning Southgate Homes is recognized as one of the top luxury production home builders in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex. Our proven formula of setting high standards for each of the five key home building elements – desirable communities , unsurpassed architecture and design, desirable floor plans, stylish home features, and quality construction – has made us a premier DFW luxury home builder.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.