Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Southgate Homes Reviews

243 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2020 - Sep 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
3.9
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

  • 5t Ranch
  • Angel Field
  • Angel Field West
  • Austin Waters
  • Austin Waters Ph II
  • Brockdale
  • Canals At Grand Park
  • Edgewood
  • Edgewood 55s
  • Grove
  • Homestead
  • Lakes Of Argyle
  • Northglen
  • Oaks Of Argyle
  • Stoney Creek
  • The Grove
  • Twin Creeks
  • Twin Creeks Ph III
  • Windsong Ranch

Most Recent 10 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Frisco, TX, on Sep 15, 2021

The purchasing experience was great. Even though this is the first home that we built, [name removed] was able to ease us into it despite the steep learning curve on the planning and designing. [name removed] was extremely patient with us and helped and assisted us on guiding us though the multitude of decision making while going through the contract and the process. The designing experience was terrible with SouthWestern Design studio as the designer does not listen or look at the pictures we brought and kept insisting her design ideas which we have no interest in. After the second design meeting, [name removed] decided to switch design studios. It may be an inconvenience for some Southgate customers, however, it's a godsend for us. We get to redo everything and we are extremely happy with our designer [name removed] at Flooring Services Design Gallery. During the first visit working with [name removed], my wife told me she's so happy that the designer had similar design sense as she does and that makes our new designer really easy to work with. We really like our builder too. We felt [name removed] is very detail oriented and very eager to fulfill our every request, no matter how small, he will go find out for us. We felt he has our backs and will make sure the home is build to spec. During walkthroughs he would capture every small defect and get them fixed before handing the house to us. One gripe is that right after closing on 7/23, [name removed] got sick for a week, so no one was there to finish up the punch items and the new house was left in limbo for about 2 weeks delaying our move-in. We had to extend our lease at the place we are temporarily staying for one more month. I had to reach out to [name removed] and our real estate agent to see if someone will finish up the punch items so we can move-in. [name removed] was able to bring it up in the team meeting and help us out immediately. Good thing is that [name removed] eventually recovered from getting sick and finished all he punch items and repairs and we just started to move into the new house few days ago on 9/12. There are still a few minor repairs awaiting scheduling, but the big items are done. If we can catch those big repair punch items earlier, maybe our move-in won't delay that long. But overall, we are still really happy and lucky to be able to work with [name removed]. If it's not for [name removed], we felt we might be delayed even longer.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Argyle, TX, on Sep 14, 2021

Haven’t dealt with warranties yet

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Sep 11, 2021

Customer Service is very responsive and thoughtful

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Sep 10, 2021

[name removed] service has been great with follow up to ensure everything is completed. I would rate warranty services at 5 stars!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Sunnyvale, TX, on Sep 08, 2021

Quality of work. For the price of this home, we should have better quality people building them. At some point it was like kids doing the work

1.8
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Aug 31, 2021

[name removed] has been fantastic in dealing with the warranty claims. The longer we are in our home, the more things we have found that was overlooked in the quality control of our build. Before we closed, [name removed] our builder, during the walk-through said that we weren’t there to find defects but there to see functionality. He also assured us that he would mark defects to be resolved and he failed badly at those. We have countertops that have blemishes from installs and saw marks in them. We are missing trim around the base of the cabinets in the laundry room. We have gutter drain lines that appear to be washing out corners of the foundation because they don’t drain anywhere. These are things I shouldn’t be dealing with in a brand new home at this price point.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Haslet, TX, on Aug 31, 2021

Love the build and construction. Love the foamed walls. Dislike the lawn and landscape company. Still having issues with drainage in the yard. Dislike the flat wall paint.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Aug 28, 2021

There were multiple delays during the build process, that all buyers are experiencing. Some issues with lighting not being available or in the wrong place. However, most of the issues were resolved in a timely manner. And we are loving the end result.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Aug 26, 2021

I like the customer service it was very pleasant and quick.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on Aug 24, 2021

LIKE: [name removed], our sales manager, was great to work with. She stayed in communication with us and was prompt on getting back to us when we had questions. We purchased our home at the beginning of the pandemic, built thru the February 21 winter storm, in the middle of inflation and product shortages, but still managed to get our home to the finish line. That is a lot of challenges. I give a ton of credit to our third builder of our home...[name removed]. When [name removed] joined [name removed] and took over our home, that is really when the confidence factor increased and major progress began to happen. [name removed] also communicated extremely well the progress that was being made, next steps and set expectations. He was very attentive to our feedback and addressed issues promptly when they were brought up. DISLIKE: Having 3 builders throughout our build process. We started with [name removed], which our experience with him was good, just very short lived as I believe he took on a new role within [name removed] [name removed]. Of course, you can not fault that if that was the case, but needless to say, changing builders during your first home build does bring about some anxiety. Next, we had [name removed] as a builder. He started off very kind and communicated well but balls began to be dropped pretty often. It was not long and he was no longer with [name removed]. On comes more nervousness as a buyer as we move into our 3rd builder on the home. Again, [name removed] came in and really turned things around on our home and for the [name removed]. There were some construction issues from [name removed] that he addressed right away and resolved. (ie garge bump out not being roofed for 5 months leaving exposed plywood and causing leak in garage). All that said, we were very pleased with the build process after [name removed] joined the team.

4.7
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Southgate Homes logo

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.