Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Southgate Homes Reviews

238 Homeowner Reviews Completed Dec 2019 - Jun 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.0
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

  • 5t Ranch
  • Angel Field
  • Angel Field West
  • Austin Waters
  • Austin Waters Ph II
  • Brockdale
  • Canals At Grand Park
  • Edgewood
  • Edgewood 55s
  • Homestead
  • Lakes Of Argyle
  • Northglen
  • Oaks Of Argyle
  • Stoney Creek
  • The Grove
  • Twin Creeks
  • Twin Creeks Ph III
  • Windsong Ranch

Most Recent 10 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Allen, TX, on Jun 03, 2021

Ability to customize options and floorplan.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on May 30, 2021

They exceeded all my expectations and fixed anything we asked for.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on May 19, 2021

The whole experience from starting to buy to even now when I am trying to go throug 80+ items being fixed since close of the home. [name removed] Homes has failed me big time. You have a couple good people, but your process and your ability to deliver on your promise is absolutely missing. The quality of workmanship to sense of timeline or follow up is poor. I still have many items still to be fixed even after 5 months since I moved in. From big things like 34 window replacements to small things like replacement of microwave that was broken on delivery back in December, it has been a daunting experience. Your staff is overworked and can focus to deliver. Your partners have low level of commitment to work they do. I can go on, but you really have to rethink your business from sales, to studio, to building, to delivery and service. I can post it in public blog with pictures and evidences, but don't think that would change anything about your business, unless your people start looking inside and start fixing things. I certainly feel let down by [name removed] as an overall experience of home buying and receiving a fully functional home as we paid for.

1.3
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on May 13, 2021

[name removed] is a wonderful person to work with. He was quick in helping us resolve a plumbing issue during freeze time. I have other warranty issues reported and it is works now. I am sure they will be taken care.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Sunnyvale, TX, on May 12, 2021

The lighting experience through [name removed] was unprofessional and unhelpful. We were pretty much ignored throughout the entire process where we flew in from out of state to get done which as a result we purchased 1 light fixture and did the rest on our own. We were disappointed by the [name removed]'s sales team, but I believe the owner did notice we were ignored while wondering the showroom floor, which was nice, but the damage had already been done. The design studio was an average experience as well. A suggestion for First-Time Home Buyers is to send them not only a check-list but perhaps give them ideas of what to prepare for as the "Design Consultant" didn't help with any design and pretty much took orders and ask what we wanted in each room. This is not their fault, we take ownership on not being fully prepared as first time buyers flying from out-of-state, but again, it could be helpful for others. Also, we were given various documents for add-on features such as an extra garage, window bump outs all of which was not part of the design studio packet/PDF we were given from our sales rep ([name removed] at the time). This was missed as we did not know it was an even option which we would have added and regret it to this day. If all options, add-ons, interior and exterior features could be included in a single consolidated document that would be helpful as it certain options were in separate documents. The communication prior to foundation, framing could have been improved as well. All that said, [name removed], [name removed], [name removed] and others part of the home building/buying experience were great. The design of the home is aesthetically pleasing as well as the over quality and build of the home. We had some cabinet issues and bathroom design flaws but are currently addressing them with little to no inconvenience. We are thankful [name removed] and the overall warranty team has been super helpful and patient in addressing any issues and ensuring we are pleased with the home. Also, considering we were in a Pandemic, the curbside closing process was very smooth and efficient. We are very pleased with our home, are fans of [name removed] and have learned a lot in our first home buying/building experience and in the end, glad we went with [name removed] and had the team that worked with us.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Argyle, TX, on May 12, 2021

I love my new home, however, I am disappointed with warranty. We submitted an emergency request and a request for other items and it took way too long to get back with us. And that was only because we reached out to the builder. We still do not have a date to when they will come and do the work.

2.6
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on May 08, 2021

I haven’t had the need to do the warranty service yet. Everything was taken care of during the first 30 days.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on May 05, 2021

It was mostly a positive experience. There were certainly some mishaps along the way, but I felt that everyone we dealt with at SGH did their best to make it a positive experience. Some of the issues had more to do with supply chain constraints due to building the home during the height of the global pandemic. Due to those constraints there were limitations on several products that effected almost everything in the design center snd a few big items such as black on black windows. While we understood these things were out of SGH’s hands we would have liked more flexibility in picking items that were not from the approved vendors. We understand that much of SGH profits are derived from vendor relationships, however, we felt like there could have been more flexibility to go outside of those vendors. Even if it only applied to some tile selections.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Prosper, TX, on May 03, 2021

We enjoyed the process during a difficult build time due to COVID.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on May 02, 2021

A well defined process to raise an issue Very responsive team

4.1
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Southgate Homes logo

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.