Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Grand Homes

South

210 Homeowner Reviews
Dec 2022 - Jun 2024

Builder Profile

Our Mission is to improve the Quality of Life of our Customers, Employees and Trade Partners through the Grand Homes Experience.

With this uncompromising commitment, we are proud to present classic homes that have been engineered for enduring value, quality and style... providing you with countless choices that will fit your lifestyle.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.

Most Recent 20 Comments From South
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Midlothian, Tx, on Jun 12, 2024

from the time that we signed the initial contract we have had MAJOR issues with the build and now the usage of this house. Personally, I am TOTALLY UNHAPPY with this house and I wish that I had followed my first mind to go with another builder. EVEN TODAY WE ARE STILL HAVING ISSUES WITH THIS HOUSE!!! SOMETHING AS SIMPLE AS A MAILBOX KEY TOOK ALMOST 3 WEEKS TO RESOLVE.

2.1
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, Tx, on Jun 03, 2024

the best thing about our purchase is having Mr. [name removed] take excellent care for our house.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, Tx, on Jun 02, 2024

We began the design of our new home by making changes to the model home. The model home did not have a brochure, so we asked for prices on proposed changes. After our sales person had multiple conversations with mid-level management to get us a price on each change, then we signed the contract while our sales person was on the phone with a mid-level manager who confirmed the overall pricing. We submitted earnest money and then found out that the pricing was inaccurate. Management came back to tell us we were getting too much house for the price after we signed the contract and submitted earnest money. We were told our contract had not been accepted by management yet. Our sales person kept track of the price of each option provided by mid-level management and received the approval on the phone for the overall price from the manager. We would never have signed the contract, provided earnest money (which included half the cost of our lot because this lot had a premium price) if we had known that management did not approve of the pricing. To be clear, we have no issue with our sales person. We believe he did his due diligence. We have issue with what we believe is the senior management culture of Grand Homes is first and the client is second. Had it not been for the continued sales person's persistence to make things right, we would have walked away from this deal and earnest money.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, Tx, on Apr 30, 2024

Program manager and/or contractors hired do not meet the expectation of what I was expecting a completed product to be.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, Tx, on Apr 16, 2024

The customer experience from your sales team, your warranty rep was horrible. How do I have a new house with cracks in my garage and back porch? I started complaining about it from time initial construction but was completely ignored. Hopefully I do not have a foundation issue already. I was promised a gift by the sales rep which my husband and I took time to select what we wanted and till this moment we have received nothing. I asked the sales rep and all I heard was let me check on it and nothing further.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Mar 08, 2024

The builders did great. They communicated accordingly. The design we chose has an open shower for the master bedroom shower which we did not know about until after we had completed the design selection. Spending on window blinds after purchase is not desirable. Hot water was not working when we moved in due to bad GCFI connected to it which was not fixed until after several calls and some days after we moved in. The material used for door knobs was below expectation. Several door knobs kept becoming loose that I had to re-screw and it is still happening.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Midlothain, TX, on Feb 29, 2024

While the sales process was indeed commendable, I regret to inform you that the construction phase and subsequent quality of the home have left much to be desired. These issues have caused considerable distress for my family and me, hindering our ability to fully enjoy and settle into our new home. Firstly, I want to acknowledge that I appreciate the efforts of Manager [name removed] in addressing some of the issues we have encountered. However, it is essential to emphasize that these efforts do not alleviate the overall dissatisfaction stemming from the numerous quality-related issues we have encountered since our move-in. Outlined below are some of the key concerns we have identified: Poor quality paint usage observed in various areas, notably the bathroom and kitchen cabinets. Trim work exhibits numerous imperfections, including irregular angles and excessive caulking. Placement of light switches is unconventional and inconsistent with standard practices. Microwave trim falls off with minimal pressure. Paint residue present on quartz surfaces in the bathrooms, indicating inadequate preparation. Inconsistencies in wall paint application, resulting in visible discrepancies in color. Suboptimal installation of the sprinkler system, with heads protruding above ground and malfunctioning in certain areas. Poor quality paint application on window trims, exhibiting stickiness and apparent discoloration. Numerous unsightly holes surrounding light fixture covers. These issues not only detract from the aesthetic appeal of the home but also raise concerns about the overall craftsmanship and attention to detail during the construction process. As homeowners, we expect and deserve a level of quality that reflects the significant investment made in purchasing a property. I understand that many of these issues may not have been readily apparent during the initial inspections. However, it appears that the individuals responsible for the inspections may have lacked attention to detail. When discussing Grand Homes with others, the first thing that often comes to mind is the perception of luxury and elegance, particularly regarding the impressive staircase design. Unfortunately, the oval shape of our staircase appears uneven, prompting uncertainty as to whether it was intended to be an oval or a perfect circle. Nonetheless, the irregularity detracts from the overall aesthetic appeal of the home. "[name removed] is currently addressing some of the issues mentioned, although it's worth noting that the uneven oval or circular shape of our staircase may be challenging to rectify. Given its impact on the overall aesthetics, I urge the VP to personally inspect this matter, as it is unsatisfactory. Additionally, I incurred an unexpected expense to relocate a vent on the wall, which was erroneously placed on the fireplace wall, hindering our plans for a wall tiling project. During the final walk-through, we identified numerous issues marked with blue tape, with assurances that they would be resolved post-closure. Regrettably, upon moving in, we discovered several unresolved items still marked with blue tape throughout the house. While there are further issues I could detail, I fear exceeding the limitations of this communication. Nevertheless, I trust that these concerns will be addressed promptly and comprehensively to ensure our satisfaction as valued homeowners.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Feb 17, 2024

I love the entire building, I love all the grand home reps I met starting from [name removed], [name removed] the builder, [name removed], [name removed] etc I love the responses of the GH representatives Dislike - Grand Home should make all the upgrade clear to new home buyers to enable them decide what to choose

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Feb 01, 2024

T J , [name removed] and [name removed] were excellent. They have great follow up and are very responsive. I appreciate the trust they have built-up through excellence and integrity.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Jan 31, 2024

Most of the commitments met. I was disappointed by the necessity to undertake a task that should have been resolved, or at the very least communicated by [name removed], [name removed], and/or [name removed], Chicago Title. No reason for the buyer to go through the number of steps to resolute the address when it was a simple email that warranted follow with [name removed]. This behavior fell short of professional standards and failed to uphold the reputation of the Grand Homes brand. Regardless of the why, everyones mindset should be to protect the brand, sell homes, and satisfy your customers.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Jan 19, 2024

Likes: 1. [name removed] was kind and caring throughout the process. 2. Grand was flexible given our timeline and situation with moving and retiring from the military and not being able to close when they originally wanted to. 3. [name removed] has been so professional and kind throughout all of our issues with the house having a lot of finishing touches needed before closure. 4. [name removed] has been professional and helpful with keeping track of all of the issues we've found with the house since we moved-in. Dislikes: 1. The floorplan needs to be changed before this house is rebuilt. There are no linen closets or coat closets. We have no where to store towels and sheets or our winter coats. The "arch" at the top of the stairs is very obviously uneven with a step on one side and a slope on the other. It's very weird and should be corrected. One of the closets has a small door to enter, but then is super wide, but not deep, so you can't reach items to the left or right because it's neither a walk-in nor a 2-door opening. The kitchen has almost no "high" cabinets and thus everything has to be stored low down, which might work for some, but we'd prefer higher cabinets to keep breakables out of reach of our kids and at easier reach for my husband. The pantry is also very small given it's a 5 bedroom home. 2. We've had a number of issues with the home that we believe occurred because this was the last home built in the subdivision and thus it had multiple builders and probably lots of foot traffic. The broken countertops, wires cut to the security system, damaged wood floors, stairs missing wood stain, carpet not properly finished/tucked in at the edge of rooms and hallways, missing door stops and toilet paper holder, broken window sill seat, missing mailbox, inoperable garage door...[name removed] and [name removed] have had a ton to track and keep up with over the weeks and they've done a great job, but some of this seems like it occurred either because of poor workmanship before [name removed] took over OR because the home was left open for viewing regularly. Definitely would recommend against some of the sub-contractors you've been using (though I know it's hard to find good subs/workers too). 3. The loan process was really difficult, but we eventually got there. I hate to even mention it now because [name removed] apologized and made it right, but it's part of the process that we didn't like.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Jan 07, 2024

I would like to speak with an owner at this point. The salesperson was fine. The design center didn’t have the standard sheet for our community although the appointment was set and they knew we’d be coming to make selections. Someone allowed your window vendor to install scratched windows and not review them prior to closing. Every single window in our home is scratched to some (major) extent. It does not make sense that no one caught it before we closed. During the warranty walk-through we pointed it out (we have text and pictures with time stamps) and were assured the windows would be fixed or replaced. Come to find out after attempting to clean them on our own, the scratches are internal. You can see scratches on EVERY SINGLE WINDOW in our home. The builder was aware and the warranty rep was aware of the issue prior to closing and we were assured the “window guy” would be coming before Nov. 30th. Why did we (the buyer) have to find the scratches and why 30+ days later is Grand Homes okay with the fact that our $500,000+ home is filled with poor craftsmanship? I cannot express our disappointment and frustration at this point.

2.5
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Jan 04, 2024

It was our 1st home however [name removed](sales) and [name removed](builder) made it easy

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Nov 14, 2023

Great design; everyone on the Team from the Sales agent, Design, Builder, Warranty rep were very courteous. The builders made sure we were happy & got what we wanted. The workmanship is really good and the contractors were always friendly . If anything I would say; Wish they were more lenient on the changes to the layout/structure. At times you wont know exactly what you getting as the model homes are highly customized and upgraded. A 3D walk-through of the plan can be a brilliant idea to add. For our home, Grand Whitehall- The ceiling and windows give it a Grand look for sure, elevation is beautiful and a huge/unique children's retreat area. However: I was just not happy with the storage space provided. There is only 1 coat closet in the entire house; no walk-in closets on other bedrooms; master closet was pretty basic. For exterior, surprised to see they only offered 1 porch light and rest was all an upgrade.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Nov 14, 2023

I was really enjoyed with grand home all staff & happy to build this company.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Nov 10, 2023

I like the professionalism [name removed] put into building my home. He was always keeping up to date with the development of the house as it was being built and was always available to answer any questions or doubts that I had. I like all the features the house has and the timeliness of completion of the house.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Nov 08, 2023

I always like the build. I had a Grand Homes before in Plano, TX.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Oct 17, 2023

Austin and Buzzy are liars and very unprofessional. This was a terrible home buying experience. Anita and Patrick were awesome and need a raise in pay. They kept me from suing Grand Homes with there professionalism.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Oct 12, 2023

Everything was great. [name removed] and [name removed] were very helpful and communicative through any issues I had

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Grand Prairie, TX, on Oct 04, 2023

I loved working with everyone in the sales office. [name removed] sold me on the quality of the build of the home. [name removed] was Very professional and knowledgeable. The quality of the home was far below what I've heard about Grand Homes. My friends who have visited, who also own Grand Homes up North, emphatically tell me the quality of home is far less than the quality of their's.

4.4
Verified Homeowner