Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Grand Homes

South

147 Homeowner Reviews
May 2021 - Nov 2022

Builder Profile

Our Mission is to improve the Quality of Life of our Customers, Employees and Trade Partners through the Grand Homes Experience.

With this uncompromising commitment, we are proud to present classic homes that have been engineered for enduring value, quality and style... providing you with countless choices that will fit your lifestyle.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.

Most Recent 20 Comments From South
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Midlothian, TX, on Oct 29, 2022

The quality of the home is not what I expected. There are things falling apart and I’ve had to contact the warranty Department several times. I’m also upset that our builder was let go because he really tried his best to help us with closing on our house even though it was past the date that we agreed on.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Oct 25, 2022

[name removed] was excellent in all aspects (communication, commitment, focus, transparency, emphatic, prudent), an opportunity for improvement would be our sales person dedrick did not demonstrate represent [name removed] [name removed] appropriately. Other than that, we are still soaking the amazing experience.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Oct 11, 2022

I did not like the fact that there was inconsistencies from selling agent to design center to actual builder. I do not feel that the selling agent did a good job of explaining what all of our options were. We felt pressured and rushed and it was obvious that he only wanted to make a commission. Whenever Grand made a mistake, they expected us to make concessions or just deal with it. When we asked for things, it was always too late. We would ask things of [name removed] and should would never get back to us and when she did she was rude and demeaning, The selling agent told us things and the design center told us completely different things. For example, there was supposed to be stone in two places on the front of our house but the design center said that it would only be on one part. We wanted an entrance from the primary bathroom to the laundry room and a sink in the laundry room. That is what we were sold but then we were told there would not be space for a normal sized sink if we had an entrance from the bathroom after the contract was signed. We ordered a 15 ft sliding glass door only to be told later that our fireplace would have to be moved in order to accommodate a 15 ft door. The design center didn't know rocker light switches are standard. Our original builder quit and no one notified us. Our house sat untouched for five weeks. We were hounded to sell our current home once dry wall was placed but had we done that we would have been homeless because of unnecessary delays due to mistakes made by Grand homes. A mistake was made with the framing of the house, they corrected it but didn't get a new permit so when it was time for inspection, of course it did not pass. As a result, we were delayed another several weeks. The painters were awful and the final product still was not up to par. The stairs are a nightmare and the painters could never get the lines even. We have been here about three months and rarely use our stairs. The quality of the stain used was so poor that the stairs already are faded in many area. When we had some painting done after we closed, the contractors all said the quality of the sanding and painting of all of our doors and walls was poorly done. Many of the electrical outlets and light switches are crooked. The wall to the media room is uneven, we discovered this when we had barn doors installed. The toilets don't completely flush. I could go on, but I think you get my drift.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Oct 07, 2022

The ales person was totally unreliable nothing but sweet talks and never follow up on any issue we bring to his attention. We didn’t not receive consistent weekly communications from the original builder assigned to us but this improved later on when [name removed] was assigned. [name removed] was phenomenal

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Oct 05, 2022

I dislike the grand home loan process. ( too hectic and communication gaps) I love the sales person [name removed], all the builders especially [name removed] and [name removed].

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Sep 30, 2022

There needs to be a pre-drywall limited change step in the process where homeowners can add, move, or remove limited items at an additional cost.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Sep 14, 2022

I liked how my sales agent Anita Howard communicated with my family and our needs.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Aug 29, 2022

The build took way too long to start and by time of completion the interest rate was up several points, which cost me dearly. I am a single person with a single income. Grand Homes cost me thousands of dollars in additional interest rate

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Aug 14, 2022

I did not like that builders destroyed my home in the process. Trash was left inside my walls. A lot of last minute work is coming apart.

2.5
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Aug 07, 2022

I am generally dissatisfied with [name removed] [name removed] all though this long, enervating process. It’s difficult listing all their atrocious activities from Sales to design center to build. They’re all mean and misleading people. I’d completely avoid [name removed] [name removed] in the future.

1.4
Verified Homeowner
Grand Prairie, TX, on Aug 02, 2022

There was almost an year delay from the estimated construction date (July of 2021) and instead we moved in June of 2022. I understand there were issues with labor and materials due to COVID, but my friends and coworkers who have signed later than us (including one with Grand Homes from a different community) closed earlier than us. Multiple jobs were incomplete, house was very dirty, and external cleaning still hasn't been done to this date. Communication was nonexistent... It's been a extremely stressful construction process that I would never ever want to go through again.

1.7
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Jul 09, 2022

It was great experience throughout the process and my wife and I was very comfortable with the grand home team.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Grand Prairie, TX, on Jun 29, 2022

all dislike, upset, stair case not done correctly partial stain, the floating fireplace partial stain, not leave a touch up stain for the owner to DIY, upstair window imperfection, left out lot of pieces not stain on cabinet, bathroom not caulk around the shower faucet, left holes every corner. on the closing date, ask them to come back touchup the tags spot, not done the jobs but destroy the spot, cause more damages.

1.0
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on Jun 20, 2022

Our contractor and building process was GREAT, [name removed] was helpful and excellent. [name removed] and his guys made the building process exciting and not stressful at all. [name removed] was good about responding to our questions and emails. Our biggest obstacle and disappointment was the closing process. The finance department was very unorganized, never had their information correct, and we got moved around to different people weeks leading up to closing. It was very nerve wrecking with [name removed] at closing when she was still asking for documentation that we had turned in several times and she had all our dollar amounts wrong. Spending 800,000 on a new build: numbers are kinda important at closing and an explanation of where money is going. We ended up paying 4,000 extra to grand homes that was half way explained to us at closing and partially for a delay in closing which was builders fault- not ours. We waited 14 months for our house, we had all of our ducks in a row.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Jun 08, 2022

[name removed], [name removed] and [name removed] have been great to work with.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Mansfield, TX, on May 24, 2022

[name removed] and [name removed] provided an excellent customer experience. Both were very attentive to our concerns and provided personalized customer service to ensure we were kept informed and options.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on May 06, 2022

It took Grand Home much longer time to get the house ready.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Apr 22, 2022

Unprofessional and rude personnel throughout the company......

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Apr 14, 2022

From contract the experience was absolutely horrible. I live in a home that was not completed the way that I chose. The first two builders were just horrible with no communication or updates until [name removed] the last builder were assigned to complete my home. [name removed] was absolutely great. He was knowledgeable. Professional and very easy to communicate with. If I had a question that he wasn’t sure about he would find the answers age within hours get back to me. [name removed] gave me updates frequently. The horrible experience that I encountered on the building of this house was before [name removed]. I ordered buff mirror and the house has pink motor just one example and I was told by the builder before [name removed] is that the house wasn’t clean it just needed to be power washed.

2.9
Verified Homeowner
Midlothian, TX, on Apr 14, 2022

Initially I dislike the way my previous lot was sold to someone else in my presence while filling my form to put my deposit down.

4.4
Verified Homeowner