Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Consort Homes Reviews

147 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2021 - Sep 2022

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.2
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Eureka, MO, on Sep 26, 2022

The consort team was amazing. [name removed] was phenomenal to work with and was honest and upfront with things. If there was an issue he fixed it and truly one of the best! [name removed] and [name removed] were great and we enjoyed our meetings and assisting us from the get go.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lake St. Louis, MO, on Sep 22, 2022

The warranty service is by far the worst part about buying a home with Consort. One of the selling points that was made to us when we purchased the home was "You don't have to wait to get your warranty items fixed. You don't only turn in your warranty items at the beginning and then at the end of a year of ownership, we accept warranty claims throughout the entire year!" The problem is we turn in warranty requests and they go unanswered by the field manager. So this really should not be touted as a selling point. We have a pretty serious grading issue that we would like to at least talk to someone about. This has been submitted twice now. [name removed] originally said he was coming by with his supervisor on one of two days and would let me know when they were there so I could explain what the issue was. They were not only a no show, there was no communication on when they would be coming by. I have never seen them at our property. However, I saw [name removed] in the subdivision a couple of days after he was supposed to come by the house and he said he and his supervisor did come by but never came to the door. I do NOT feel satisfied that they even understand what my issue is if I cannot tell or show them. He said his supervisor was "putting paperwork together" for it but we have not heard anything back on it yet. That was about mid-August. Getting a response on these feels like nothing short of pulling teeth and it is so frustrating and stressful whenever we feel we have a significant problem. The cost of our screened in deck and patio were very expensive and the grading issue will more than likely damage these two things if it is not addressed. We actually are so concerned about it that we paid a grading and erosion expert to come out and evaluate the property. We have since had french drains installed around our patio and deck and a portion of the grading addressed out of our own pockets....$7,000+. But there is a significant grading issue that even the french drain will not completely remedy that is between our and our neighbor's house which the other company will NOT touch because it is on the border of our neighbor's property. Just knowing that it will be taken care of at some point in the future would REALLY help the stress level and frustration. We do have other outstanding warranty items that have not been addressed yet too. With that being said, I would like to provide my own personal insight into this process for what it is worth. I think it would work much better for Consort and the clients if Consort were to segregate the production of homes currently being built and the warranty process. It seems like it is too large of a job for [name removed] to take care of not only the homes that are currently being built but then have to deal with all of the homes for a year after they are built. It's too much for one person to handle. If Consort wants to better their warranty process and customer experience after the client has closed on their home, they should have a person designated to address all of the warranty items and make sure communication is happening between Consort and the client. A BIG positive: We truly enjoyed the process of buying the home with [name removed] and also the color selection process (I unfortunately cannot remember her name.) They were both fantastic and this should definitely be noted.

2.6
Verified Homeowner
Eureka, MO, on Sep 17, 2022

Warranty is good when they call and schedule but a few things not addressed when we first submitted requests. Had to submit multiple and separate requests.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
St. Charles, MO, on Sep 13, 2022

The home was supposed to be clean. While the home for the most part was clean. Their were spots that were not cleaned properly. Some Examples include shower glass with finger prints, rooms had small amounts of dirt and debris.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Lake St. Louis, MO, on Sep 02, 2022

The warranty service is very slow, We have requested for multiple items and we are still at 8 tasks completed out of 20 things we submitted

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Eureka, MO, on Aug 30, 2022

I feel like we were unaware of potentials…deck options ( we didn’t even know we had a deck lot until I saw it in the paper work ).

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Lake St. Louis, MO, on Aug 27, 2022

Slow in addressing needed adjustments in a reasonable amount of time. Been waiting months to get one window painted, also dead sod placed in front yard and no response. Dirt was not graded properly to remove rocks which contributed to poor sod response

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Eureka, MO, on Aug 19, 2022

Mainly small things. For ex we did our walkthrough in June 23 and determined we had the wrong kitchen faucet. It’s now August 18 and we still have not received the correct faucet.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Eureka, MO, on Aug 17, 2022

I have put in multiple requests for warranties. Some have been filled and some have been flat out ignored with no response.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Lake St. Louis, MO, on Aug 11, 2022

Contact Arrangement - Excellent Communication - Excellent Build - Great almost Excellent

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Eureka, MO, on Aug 04, 2022

There is not a lot to like about the warranty experience. Once Consort switched from house builder to warranty service, it seems we have been dealing with 2 separate companies. House builder phase was great, they were still earning our business. Warranty and customer care feels like we are an after thought and Consort is stretching out their responsibilities till the 12 months passes and their obligation to us goes away. It's been over promise and under delivered. I have many instances of the warranty team telling my concerns of issues with my house were done because of code, yet I see the same thing in other houses where the same issue was done correctly.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Wildwood, MO, on Jul 26, 2022

I liked the location and the plan. Overall the purchase has been good. I dislike the fact that there was still some work left even after closing. I prefer all work completed even if it requires pushing the closing date.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Eureka, MO, on Jul 23, 2022

The warranty process lacks the appropriate level of transparency required to keep customers updated with current status on claims. I have submitted several claims, some of which I've received work orders for and the work was completed. In these instances, the customer service provided by those sent to our home has consistently been excellent. There are several other warranty claims I've submitted where no action has been taken to resolve the issue for several months and I haven't been able to get any updates, even after submitting a warranty claim asking for updates on 11 previous warranty claims (a few of which were submitted a second time due to no updates or resolution). The weekly update calls during the build were great and something similar to discuss the status of warranty claims would be very beneficial for your customers with multiple claims. Due to lack of responsiveness using the warranty claim process, I stopped in the office to see if [name removed] or [name removed] had and information and they shared they do not have access to that system, so giving your sales reps access to see these claims would also be helpful.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Lake St. Louis, MO, on Jul 19, 2022

I wish that more things would've been gone over as far as options are concerned, some things we didn't think of on our own and I wish that would've been brought up - so better understanding of options.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Eureka, MO, on Jul 08, 2022

The follow up process is lacking heavily in communication and can be greatly improved for better satisfaction and understanding. I would strongly recommend have a 3 phase walk through process. One at closing when the home is finished to catch anything to be fixed. Another walk through around the 6 month mark to address items/issues that either weren't noticed the first time or developed since the previous walk through, and then again at the 11 month mark to confirm all repairs have been completed and allow a a few weeks to get any last minute items addressed.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
Lake St. Louis, MO, on Jun 28, 2022

There are many (MANY) items that should have been completed before closing and now (5 months after closing) these items are still not corrected. At closing 100% of the agreed upon sales price was paid, I am yet to receive 100% of the home that was to be delivered.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
St. Charles, MO, on Jun 20, 2022

Working with the sales [name removed]. He was very easy to work with and is always there for any answers. If he doesn't have the answer he aways finds it. Was let down with [name removed], he never responds to questions.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Wildwood, MO, on Jun 18, 2022

- We had to remind Consort of many of the changes made. - Kitchen sink was incorrect and never corrected after several discussions. We are told that it can't be corrected. - HOA fee increases were never disclosed to us. Realtor and Salesperson were not advised also. [name removed] took far too long to put down. - [name removed] and [name removed] have overall been good to work with on correcting many issues.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Wildwood, MO, on Jun 17, 2022

We have liked our experience with the warranty service on our consort home.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Eureka, MO, on Jun 10, 2022

Only thing no one is following up with problems resolved or not. Specially when they come for fixing a problem they are not taking sign on paper.

3.4
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

If you are looking to build or buy a new home, you have come to the right place. There are many important decisions to make – and the first and most important choice is to select a builder you can trust. Your family deserves the peace of mind that comes from working with a builder that has both longevity and a solid reputation of serving many other happy homeowners.

Our History: Building Homes and Communities Since 1927
The Consort Homes story is rich in St. Louis homebuilding history beginning more than 85 years ago with the founder of The Jones Company, John E. Jones. Those who know the St. Louis area probably know the name Bob Jones, who was the son of John E. Jones.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.