Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Olson Homes Reviews

384 Homeowner Reviews Completed Dec 2022 - Jun 2024

Overall Satisfaction

4.8
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.8
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Gardena, CA, on Jun 15, 2024

I am happy with the customer service. I have NO COMPLAINTS!!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Gardena, CA, on Jun 09, 2024

The problems are always solved and [name removed] always works hard to help me!

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Buena Park, CA, on Jun 01, 2024

New home

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Gardena, CA, on May 30, 2024

The [name removed] team and their customer service is fantastic. Especially Jan, [name removed], and [name removed]!

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Buena Park, CA, on May 29, 2024

I will say [name removed] has been absolutely amazing. He's consistently gone above and beyond to ensure that everything in my home has been great. When issues arose he quickly addressed them and communicated clearly. [name removed] has been flexible - he did a new home orientation at 7am because I needed to head out of town. He's also offered to meet contractors for me if my schedule was tight. He's also warm and friendly, and is amazing at explaining things that are foreign to me (anything related to construction) in a simple way. Can't say enough good about [name removed] if I'm being honest! Couldn't ask for more.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Hacienda Heights, CA, on May 28, 2024

Like - very responsive throughout the purchase process. No major defects in the home that affect quality of life. Very responsive with post-move in steps, minor repairs, etc. Home seems well built so far. I'm impressed by the noise and energy insulation, and the energy efficiency. Some hiccups in the move-in date estimate, but this was due to SCE and the [name removed] team did what they could. Dislike - Vintage design had always warranted to us that they were "very competitive price" for floors and could match if we provided them with another estimate. Then when we got another estimate they would not come close in price. I get that Vintage is more convenient and they probably justify charging a premium for that, but I feel like the process could have been easier and more time-efficient from the start by acknowledging that they were not going to be price-competitive with third parties so that we could look into other options right away. The three windows in a row in the living room are noticeably crooked/misaligned. This seems really laborious to fix and perhaps an area where some additional care could have been taken in the building process. The other window pairs in the home are almost perfectly straight and aligned. Just also very minor feedback on one more item - in future builds, the Ethernet plug in the entryway is best placed next to the power outlet at the usual ankle height, not the ceiling! The building material and distance is such that the Wifi signal from upstairs doesn't go into the garage well, so another router needs to be downstairs. With solar and for those with EVs, Wifi in the garage is a must. Having the Ethernet cable in the ceiling means you need to run a wire across the ceiling and wall to a downstairs router, it's a little more complicated and unsightly than just having the plug next to the power outlet.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
La Puente, CA, on May 28, 2024

That i havent the need to use it!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Buena Park, CA, on May 27, 2024

The process was smooth

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Buena Park, CA, on May 20, 2024

Purchase experience was smooth with no major hiccups. [name removed] has been amazing to work with so far. He is responsive, dedicated and always has the answers and I couldn't be more happier.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Buena Park, CA, on May 20, 2024

Like- Customer service/After Service. [name removed] is very knowledgeable and committed to the service request. Dislike-I can hear noises from the neighbor, and the trash bill is charged separately, not as I was told.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Hacienda Heights, CA, on May 19, 2024

staffs are very professional and helpful.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Hacienda Heights, CA, on May 17, 2024

None

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Buena Park, CA, on May 08, 2024

I love the [name removed] rep visitations. [name removed] visited us three times within the first year. He was kind and thorough each time, even showing me how to remove scuffs on walls and making small repairs himself.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Gardena, CA, on Apr 25, 2024

I really liked that [name removed] was with me every step of the way even past the home closing phase. The entire team from Jan to [name removed] are all really phenomenal to work with and extremely responsive in addressing any concerns / issues / questions.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Huntington Beach, CA, on Apr 17, 2024

We were always in the loop of progress with the build out. The sales office staff and [name removed] from US [name removed] were all amazing and always responded to our questions or concerns

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Gardena, CA, on Apr 15, 2024

Haven’t used - will have some warranty requests at the 10 month visit.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
La Puente, CA, on Apr 08, 2024

The responses from customer care is quick and excellent

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Huntington Beach, CA, on Apr 08, 2024

Overall experience was positive, efficient, and well communicated. [name removed] and [name removed] were excellent through the home buying process along with the preferred lender [name removed] from US [name removed] all provided the patience and expertise required for us to be comfortable with each step. Post purchase [name removed] has been beyond patient, understanding, and a great teacher for a new home buyer. We believe the customer service and continued hard work from the [name removed] team allows us to have peace of mind and feel confident in the quality of work. [name removed] continues to provide us the support as we work through minor quality concerns. We thank the entire [name removed] team and look forward to completing the final checks over the coming months at the 10 month check.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
La Puente, CA, on Apr 03, 2024

None

5.0
Verified Homeowner
La Puente, CA, on Mar 29, 2024

Any issues with place, I have brought up to the rep and was arranged accordingly. I have not had any issues whatsoever.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

#1 Builder for Best Overall Customer Experience
2017-2018 & 2020!

Each Olson community starts with a simple question. How can we give homeowners the best quality of life possible? The answer starts with where we build. Committed to seeing the potential of the urban landscape, we re-entitle, rezone, and develop underutilized parcels, building energy-efficient homes that are close to jobs, key transportation links, and numerous recreational and entertainment options. Since most of our communities are in mature neighborhoods, they require minimal infrastructure, helping to keep construction costs low, taxes reasonable, and home prices attainable. Each Olson community name includes the word “walk” because our vision is for homeowners to be able to exit their front door and walk to shopping, restaurants, cafes, and schools, engaging with their neighbors and becoming part of the fabric of their cities.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.