Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Grand Homes

East

285 Homeowner Reviews
Feb 2021 - Aug 2022

Builder Profile

Our Mission is to improve the Quality of Life of our Customers, Employees and Trade Partners through the Grand Homes Experience.

With this uncompromising commitment, we are proud to present classic homes that have been engineered for enduring value, quality and style... providing you with countless choices that will fit your lifestyle.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.

Most Recent 20 Comments From East
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Rockwall, TX, on Aug 06, 2022

Communication could be improved, there did not seem to be a consistent process for updates or regular communication. Our builder was terminated and the company did not disclose that until we contacted them a week later for an update. This should have been communicated immediately along with the go-forward plan. We also did not agree with our builder's termination, we felt like our experience with him was excellent so that was very disappointing as well. Finish work could have been better - for instance - some seams are noticeable, painting in some areas was subpar, post-close cleaning was low quality and our realtor's team came in afterwards and did a much better job. There was also a contractor that damaged our driveway in multiple places that are still noticeable. They should have been held responsible for redoing the entire driveway or Grand Homes should have done that as the 'scars' are still apparent. We understand why you do not work with pool builders as you used to but it would be nice to bring that back as doing it afterwards is a gigantic mess that's more costly and more wasteful than if it could have been done during the build process somehow. We love the house overall as it is very nice and typically your employees are friendly and helpful when asked. We really like Grand Homes' models and designs and you seem to be finishing construction in a lesser time-frame than most of your competitors. Thank you.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Garland, TX, on Jul 27, 2022

Slow response for maintenance

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Garland, TX, on Jul 21, 2022

I thought grand homes was a reputable company but after purchasing 3 house and the quality we received is very bad. I'm so so disappointed and angry I can't even explain in words. All my money went down the drain. They put the most cheapest quality materials and the pressure they created for me to close the house even before they finished building it. I wasn't satisfied when I did the walk through but still they pressured me to close the house because the builder has to complete building houses in a certain period of time. I am removing almost everything because the quality they put is horrible. Grand Homes is horrible. They conned us. I will never refer Grand Homes to anyone.

0.5
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jul 12, 2022

I love my home and absolutely LOVE my floor plan but it was a very painful process getting here. Too many plans of our floor plan floating around for the subs that caused lots of confusion. The subs were NOT the best quality, for this price home you would think that they would require better workmanship. I Really liked my project person, he did the best he could with what he was given to work with but nonetheless frustrating. The lawn and bushes planted during a freeze, some bushes dead and some grass never took. lucky that i had a project manager that would listen to my concersns during the process and were able to tackle most of them as they came but The flooring install was a nightmare, it took pulling teeth to have it corrected and my house is still dusty from them redoing it. We had to run around covering brand new tvs, lighting, blinds in order to minimize the dust on stuff when they decided at the last minute that the install was indeed not done correctly. This should have happened before the flooring got demo'd and sanded down for a NEW install. Thank god we were there when they started sanding or we would have had more issues than we did. Although a crew of Grand cleaners was sent after the floor, I had to hire people to try to blow the dust off the ceilings with compressors, and blow dust off walls bc Grand was not going to do it. Cleaners did the minimal but at that point I had 1 day to move and i had to do what i needed to do to make it happen. Who cleans their own house that had builder issues where a dust bomb went off? Homes should be turned over nice and clean, ours was not, still cleaning dust off ledges and windows. This price home should have a mid selection starting point at the design center, everything was an upgrade. Project managers should have a checklist of what is standard for each floor plan with overlays of what was an add on, current process is not efficient. I had issues with this during my build. Still finding things that need attention and i hope that they get resolved.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Jun 14, 2022

Very good experience, from sales [name removed] to builder [name removed], very good team effort, [name removed] perform excellent job and vey help during whole build time. He is awesome person and very knowledgeable builder. I think he is very value added resource in Grandhomes family.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Plano, TX, on Jun 10, 2022

I like the work ethic of sales person , the builder and the design staffs

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Rockwall, TX, on May 11, 2022

[name removed] and [name removed] went above and beyond to help with any issues [name removed] and [name removed] were wonderful to work with

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Garland, TX, on May 02, 2022

The original schedule was 7 months. It means my home should have been completed on Nov 2021, but it went to Mar 2022 almost 4 months delay in schedule and. Due to the schedule failure, I couldn’t fix my mortgage rate in November when it was low and it went from 3 to 4% in Feb 2022. The builder never provided me a firm schedule so I could manage my mortgage and previous lease agreement and this put me in a very difficult situation because I couldn’t give 60 days notice to the Landlord and couldn’t lock the mortgage rate. In addition the quality of work was not good, we did 3 punch lists and still have quality issues at my home.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
Rockwall, TX, on Apr 14, 2022

There was a fairly long punch list remaining after the second home owner walk through. Getting the remaining items completed has been quick with only one outstanding item remaining.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Parker, TX, on Apr 14, 2022

My only issue concerns the forecasted completion/closing date. I contracted for my Grand Estate in November 2020. Was told to expect project completion a year later (November 2021). My wife and I relocated from Hawaii to North Texas in November 2021. On November 12 we were told we'd move in before Thanksgiving. Next, it was before Christmas. When all was said and done we closed on February, 2022. The delayed closings caused us to rent Air B&B facilities at great expense for four months. What's more, I had to pay $2500.00 per month in storage fees for my household goods, i.e. furniture. So, my additional out of pocket expenses exceeded $26, 000.00. When one is retired and living on fixed income pensions unplanned expenditures of that magnitude 'hurts'. I am sure you understand.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Plano, TX, on Apr 06, 2022

Everyone was helpful and it was a very nice transition and experience.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Wylie, TX, on Apr 04, 2022

Liked my sales rep Phillip. Liked the design room experience although things are severely overpriced. Final.walk through was great and so far Jeff from warranty has been awesome.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Wylie, TX, on Mar 31, 2022

We had 3 builders, one of which refused communication for over a month. We had 3 framers, over of which no called no showed for weeks, with no action from [name removed] Homes. This has also caused issues with the build quality. Our walls aren't straight. It is very apparent with the wood floors. We were given dozens of completion dates. The entire build took 507 days.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Mar 30, 2022

The construction completion turnover for my home never happened; work has continued inside my house since the day we closed. As of today, 60 days post-closing, my house is covered in saw dust due to recent work on the stairs and hardwood floor. The trades workmanship was poor and portrayed a lack of care for their quality of work and post-work cleanliness. I cannot use any of my downstairs showers because the tile was not properly installed. As a result, the tile will need to be ripped out and replaced in two weeks. Unfortunately, we know this journey is far from over. I still have unresolved hardwood floor issues. I am STILL feeling the pain of [name removed]’s poor construction build oversight. It started in the foundation pouring stage (where PSA items were missed), through his lack of preparation for our pre-sheetrock meeting (did not review PSA prior to meeting, we weren’t given a proper walk through) and until missing our closing month over month, all due to his incompetence. He made decisions without consulting us, missed key items throughout the build, expressed combative behavior and selected below standard trade contractors across the board (Super Painter & IES). There are many things in our home that will have to be repaired or replaced due to all the oversight by the builder. Grand homes lacks a quality control process to ensure all trades execute the correct statement of work. On many occasions I have been left to clean up after contractors who left messes behind. My mud pans in both downstairs bathrooms will be ripped out and the steps into the shower will also be ripped out and releveled. This is disruptive to my personal and professional work schedule and is completely unacceptable. This build has been a long planned and highly anticipated dream, that unfortunately has been an absolute nightmare from the start. For that reason, I would NOT recommend Grand Homes to my friends nor family. [name removed] is the only reason why I am not giving the willingness to recommend a zero. He has been working really hard to fix what is possible as a result of the negligence of Grand Homes employees that allowed this to happen. We are disappointed in the quality of home that Grand Homes built us and the lack of detail that employees have taken. We still have not been able to fully move into my home due to outstanding work.

2.7
Verified Homeowner
Parker, TX, on Mar 15, 2022

Poor communication within the organization and to the customer. Multiple mistakes that Grand Homes deliberately blames on the Buyer. Grand Homes has poor quality control. Too many times we raised complaints on the quality/aesthetics--it takes multiple prompting to receive a reply/action.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Rockwall, TX, on Feb 28, 2022

We moved from out of state and we changed our minds on the floor plan & neighborhood. We really appreciate all of the support in the process.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Garland, TX, on Feb 27, 2022

Noting

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Parker, TX, on Feb 23, 2022

We had good contact with our seller but everything else was downhill from there. Multiple builders who were apathetic and constantly unable to fulfill their basic duties. Entire process was stressful and felt extremely rushed. We are over 4 months from move in and still are not “moved” in as we are still waiting for master shower fixes and other house completion projects.

1.8
Verified Homeowner
Wylir, TX, on Feb 03, 2022

It took longer than we originally expected to complete our home

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Garland, TX, on Jan 19, 2022

Excellent folks. Very customer centric.

5.0
Verified Homeowner