Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Grand Homes

East

322 Homeowner Reviews
Mar 2020 - Sep 2021

Builder Profile

Grand Homes logo
Our Mission is to improve the Quality of Life of our Customers, Employees and Trade Partners through the Grand Homes Experience.

With this uncompromising commitment, we are proud to present classic homes that have been engineered for enduring value, quality and style... providing you with countless choices that will fit your lifestyle.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.

Most Recent 20 Comments From East
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Lucas, TX, on Sep 15, 2021

There was an extremely long period of time between when we signed for the home initially and the beginning the construction process (almost 4 months). This was not in line with the two other times we have built new homes. Additionally, there was a very large amount of money that had to be paid to Grand Homes in the beginning with little to show for the expenditure and the inability to pay these costs at closing. The Grand Homes Design Center did not meet expectations for a home of this quality and price range. Selections available to buyers were limited as was the ability to include basic "must haves" such as window blinds and outdoor fencing that are commonly needed. The ability to include these costs in the final bill paid at closing would have been appreciated. [name removed] did an outstanding job keeping us informed throughout the process and completing our home in very challenging times for labor and materials.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lucas, TX, on Aug 03, 2021

We enjoyed working with [name removed], [name removed] and [name removed]. These are great individuals that cared for us throughout the process. They showed professionalism, diligence, cheerfulness, humility, attentiveness, etc. We would like to work with them or the likes should we be in the the home buying again.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Wylie, TX, on Jul 25, 2021

Salesperson misled us on purchase of our home and design center choices, multiple switches in builder with no continuity, lack of communication, delay in response and feedback regarding concerns of house

2.0
Verified Homeowner
Parker, TX, on May 20, 2021

[name removed] is awesome, very thorough and a responsible builder. He followed through on any issues we noticed even after we moved in. He is a great asset to Grand Homes. [name removed] was great to work with during the contract execution and building period. [name removed] is a very creative designer and helped us making appropriate selections during design phase. Our referral (my brother [name removed] - a current Grand Home Owner in Sachse) has not received his referral bonus yet. Sounds like they can not locate the form we filled out on April 21, 2020. Hopefully, Grand Home will honor the promise.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Plano, TX, on May 16, 2021

I really like the design process, [name removed] has been a great help on the loan processing and our amazing builder [[name removed]]. After a week of stay, we found a big crack on the ourside of the house and really hurt our feelings. That's one thing a new homeowner won't need to see. Every day you see it, its not a pleasant thing at all. God knows what holds in the future!!!

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Rockwall, TX, on Apr 22, 2021

We had an overall great experience. We did experience quite a few design problems and we had a couple of miscommunication errors. Communication could have been better but all that said my actual home is amazing!!! If my score could reflect my builder, [name removed], then my score would be a hands down 10 across the board. My entire experience was pretty simple and easy and, in my eyes, my home is the most beautiful home Grand has ever built!??

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Wylie, TX, on Apr 07, 2021

My builder is the best. He is devoted and friendly. I will recommend GrandHome for my friend and my family to be the best of builder.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Garland, TX, on Apr 07, 2021

It was a nice one

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Plano, TX, on Mar 27, 2021

We were not given some details on options that should have been clear WAY before putting a large amount of money down that locked us into a home that was clearly lacking. IF it had not been for a phenomenal builder that worked with us to fix several defects we would have been more than dissatisfied, The sales person was very vague and several things that we assumed were included were not, several "options" (ie; head knockers, linen closets, shelves, lighting, hardware ) that was in the model that were NOT even an option, much less available. We have ended up replacing lighting, building closets and shelving, concrete, and more that was not an option. Also, replacing a terrible fence that started curling up the second week we were in. Sewers that were not connected and electricity lines that were not ran to accommodate the amount of plugs that we had requested.(We are not electricians, so not aware that we would need to request the amount of amperage that would allow 2 blowdryers to run at one time) We built this house for two elderly parents to move in with us and college age kids paying off school loans, so the amount of details were extremely important to us to house this many people. Spending this much money on a house that has this many disappointments has been heart breaking. I will say [name removed] was the highlight of our experience and we enjoyed working with him, I only wish it were with a different scenario.

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Sachse, TX, on Mar 20, 2021

[name removed] everything was completed on time. Still waiting for my fence to finish and an electrical to come out to install an additional landscape light as promised. Now discovering some of the wall painting were sloppy done. [name removed] case not properly finished.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Sachse, TX, on Mar 04, 2021

I like it

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Plano, TX, on Feb 18, 2021

design center options were not good.design center person who did my appointment was not helpful and did not offer options or good advice. missing smart home features. Design center person put down the wrong selection and it cost me money to correct it. no salesperson after [name removed] let. [name removed] took on the role of bulder, design center help for bricks, and buildesalesperson. [name removed] did a great job filling the gaps. I cannot say enough good things about [name removed] and his willingness to help.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Parker, TX, on Jan 07, 2021

are communication with the builder was horrible, multiple errors made that had been addressed numerous times by us, we were just ignored in our say and like, even through our final walk thru our builder walked out of our meeting because he got upset and left us to be lost, all items that we wanted address were not and we have no other options then to just close because we didn't have time to wait anymore for the builder to try to fix, now these are items that I am having to take on to fix right. Very disappointed in Grand over all and our builder. [name removed] are Sales person was helpful and tried her best to help which we appreciate.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Parker, TX, on Dec 19, 2020

We had a wonderful experience! Building a home this size is not an easy task. We had a supportive team from start to finish. I am so grateful to everyone from grand for helping us build our dream home. I would like to specifically mention our build manager, [name removed]. He has been wonderful and gone above and beyond to make sure we are happy and well taken care of. We can’t thank him enough!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Wylie`, TX, on Dec 16, 2020

Everything from beginning to the end was horrible except the sale agent [name removed] was did his best to sell the house.

2.0
Verified Homeowner
Wylie, TX, on Dec 03, 2020

In the personal selections phase, my my consultant did not make me aware of all of the options that were available to me when designing my home. Had a not been for the fact that I have been through this process once before on a different bill with [name removed] Homes the things that I do have in my home right now would not have been included. I even had to remind her when we were done that she did not walk through the choices in the bathroom with me or anything related to fixtures. She was just going to choose what she thought was best for me I guess based on her past experience without even consulting me. I raise this point to her and we didn’t go back and she walked me through the options for the bathroom but again headed not been through this process I would not of even known that that was something that I was supposed to be given the opportunity to select. In the construction phase I was disappointed that I had several building supervisors which prolonged the build process and resulted in numerous construction issues. I had to come and check on the work EVERY WEEK, and I was always finding something. I felt like I was the PM much of the time. If it weren’t for my salesperson [name removed], who went to bat for me many many times to get things right(not his job) this process would have been a complete nightmare. Based on my first experience with [name removed] I felt like I had top-notch supervisors who were concerned about the quality of work being done in my home. This go round however the quality of building supervisor was haphazard and for me it didn’t turn around until the very end with my final building supervisor. I believe that [name removed] should strive to provide a more consistent build experience for all the homeowners

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Plano, TX, on Dec 02, 2020

Selection of products was very limited. Low quality of products same as apartments.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Rockwall, TX, on Dec 02, 2020

The closing was very impersonal and non-informational. All the glass in the house is scratched. CAT5 wiring should have been wired to the media room.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Parker, TX, on Dec 01, 2020

Like - Construction Manager [name removed] was accomodating and personable Dislike - Communication was poor , Many mistakes from Trades including MAJOR ones.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Wylie, TX, on Nov 30, 2020

could not get white or buff color bricks to choose from the inventory provided.

5.0
Verified Homeowner