Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Minto Communities - USA Reviews

4,073 Homeowner Reviews Completed Dec 2019 - Jun 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.6
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.7
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Hardeeville, SC, on Jun 16, 2021

Being kept informed [name removed] & [name removed] kept me very informed. I love the quality of my home!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 16, 2021

So far I Have no complaints

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 16, 2021

[name removed] (salesman) was great to work with. He was always available and willing to help us. [name removed] (trained by [name removed]) was also went above & beyond. Our project manager, [name removed], did an excellent job from start to finish.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 16, 2021

I haven't had any warranty service/customer care problems

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 16, 2021

We really like our [name removed] MasterCare [name removed] [name removed] as well as our building PM [name removed].

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 16, 2021

I am very satisfied. Contractor could have sent more frequent updates though.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 15, 2021

our builder [name removed] kept us up to date on everthing

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 15, 2021

I like the fact that if we have an issue, the answer is a phone call away.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
City Of Westlake, FL, on Jun 15, 2021

Timely response was great

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Port St. Lucie, FL, on Jun 15, 2021

The punch lists are written but then forgotten. If I complain it gets handled

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 15, 2021

Communication issues with our sales representative from the onset. Difficulty obtaining requested items such as items that were listed on the contract. These were items that we should have been provided without having to ask for. Had to ask for these items multiple times before they were provided. The first set of documents we had to ask for were the Community Documents; we did not receive these until the day of closing. The same with the HOA Pet Registration forms; the response was that these would not be needed until much later. My concern was that I wanted to review for stipulations and requirements as I was moving with 2 dogs from [name removed]. We had to reach out to the sales representative on multiple occasions for updates. Once that was done, we did receive prompt responses. We needed to know what the next steps were so that we were not missing important deadlines. We almost missed the deadline for our pool installation because of lack of communication. We contacted the pool company on our own; it was a good thing we did as we were near the deadline to submit the design and color selections. Our sales representative did NOT communicate that this was our responsibility. If we had missed this deadline than we the owner would have been responsible for the additional cost!! Throughout the process we were assured that we would be able to come into the design center at any point to view selections. This message was echoed by our sales representative and our design team contact on multiple occasions. We traveled from [name removed] in October to make our B selections and arrived 2 days early so that we could spend time in the design center. When we arrived we were told that we needed an appointment for the design center. This was NEVER communicated in the multiple emails between us and the design team. When a member of the design team came to discuss this with us, she said she did not know who told us that and I looked at her name tag and held up the phone with her name on and said "you did!" Needless to say this was not a pleasant experience. I understand that things changed with COVID, I am a RN and work in the Emergency Department. It is YOUR responsibility to communicate those changes!!!! At this point, I was ready to walk away from purchasing a home in this community. This had been our dream for 2 years but it was obvious that your sales representatives CANNOT keep up with customer experience expectations. While we were in the design center, I personally heard another sales representative tell a potential buyer that they could come into the design center anytime they wanted. It is apparent that sales will do anything to make a sales and do not truly care what consequence that has moving forward. After the encounter at the design center, we received electronic documents of B selections for review. If these were available all along, why could they not have been sent in advance and why not send them to owners to preview before their B selection appointment? This would allow owners to review be better prepared for their appointment. I know for me it immediately ruled out certain items as those were not my taste. Again, I know that COVID changed how we do things but you and [name removed] had months to figure out how to adapt. It did not prevent you from selling!!! As we closed electronically, we did not receive the items that other buyers received when they closed in person. For instance, the future owner lanyard that allowed us to travel in and out of the community and the welcome gifts. Our designer provided this to us during our B selection visit. We actually learned about this from the Lattitude bus driver. Really???? It is not about the gift, it is the communication!!! I could excuse many of these if you were in Phase 1 of this project development, but you are finishing Phase 4 and starting Phase 5. I do not understand why there is not a checklist of next steps and estimated timelines that are not provided to new buyers. This would help tremendously as I am sure we are not the 1st homeowners to have done this from another state. We could not just "run down here" and check on things to make sure things were progressing as they should. I work in healthcare where if the same communication errors had happened a negative patient outcome could have occurred and our rating only counts if a consumer rates us as a 9 or 10. I will tell say that the saving grace was our builder, [name removed]!!! If it had not been for him I am not sure we would have continued moving forward. If I could rate him a "100" I would. He has exceeded every one of our expectations!!! He has kept us informed and we have NEVER had to ask him for an update. He has answered every question and has provided exceptional customer service. In my opinion, your focus is simply stated sales. Once the dotted line is signed, all expectations of customer service are forgotten.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Hardeeville, SC, on Jun 15, 2021

[name removed] has been outstanding, responsive and proactive.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 15, 2021

We had a great experience with [name removed] - [name removed] and [name removed] were & are outstanding!! We love our house and our address ????!!!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Hardeeville, SC, on Jun 15, 2021

Liked that the price we were quoted was the price we paid at closing. Delivered in the promised time but just barely. Above average experience as compared to other builders we built with - this is the 3rd home we built new. We also purchased a quick move-in townhouse.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
City Of Westlake, FL, on Jun 15, 2021

The sales agent [name removed] has been really great. [name removed] on the other hand was horrible. He was our go to guy for building our home. So many mistakes. All the way to closing day. There were about 25ppl at the house still fixing thing. Paint, tearing the carpet up and putting a new one. Parts were still sanded and still not painted. Foot prints in the garage paint and sidewalks. And still now the paint throughout the walls of the house house are two different colors. The touch ups are very noticeablely different. as I can tell the basecoats are not similar. Tiles came in scratched. Kitchen Counters were different so they had to rip it up and redo. The caulking and lines especially in all bathrooms were uneven. All baseboard caulking was off and uneven

3.4
Verified Homeowner
City Of Westlake, FL, on Jun 15, 2021

My Home buying team was nothing short of amazing! [name removed] in Sales, [name removed] the builder and [name removed] communicated and explained or Home Buying process every step of the way. We greatly appreciate the [name removed].

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Naples, FL, on Jun 14, 2021

[name removed] has been excellent to work with getting punch list items completed. She has excellent customer service.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Hardeeville, SC, on Jun 13, 2021

The overall experience was fantastic. From Kim Wagoneer in sales to design, and Brandon in construction, you have a professional experience.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Hardeeville, SC, on Jun 13, 2021

They are good at getting subs to contact us regarding needed quality repair issues. The subs aren't good at understanding what is a good quality repair.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 12, 2021

I love everything about my home from the moment I met my sales person, the builder, MasterCare rep, the staff at the bar, the amenities, and my neighbors I have been ecstatic I love it here so much my new [name removed] car tag is ‘CTGE LFE’.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Our story begins in 1955 with a simple belief: that we could build better places to live, work and play, one home and one relationship at a time. Since then, The Minto Group has successfully built a fully-integrated real estate company that can meet the needs of any individual, family, investor or business. We’ve accomplished a lot over the years, and as we continue to celebrate new ventures, milestones, innovations and investments, we’re always looking ahead to what’s possible. Read on to learn more about our journey over the past 60+ years.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.