Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Minto Communities - USA Reviews

4,459 Homeowner Reviews Completed Dec 2020 - Jun 2022

Overall Satisfaction

4.6
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.7
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Panama City Beach, FL, on Jun 22, 2022

[name removed] has been wonderful to work with. You are lucky to have such a valuable employee. He is knowledgable, professional and very hard working and goes above and beyond our expectations!! We know we can count on him.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 22, 2022

[name removed] is the best always responds right away to texts. Plus he is such a hot ass to look at it just makes my day when he has to stop by.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 22, 2022

The process was very smooth. [name removed] or builder was awesome. He kept us updated on a timely fashion and always made us feel important. After close, issues are few and addressed within a reasonable time frame. My only complaint is the lack of flexibility & limitations on options for the cottages. The base package selections are of the 90's! That's unreasonable.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
City Of Westlake, FL, on Jun 22, 2022

Dislike: lot selection process, unable to modify home structure inside, felt rushed during the process even there was plenty time after selections were completed, it took 19 months to build our home. Like: building process was clear and building managers were very helpful and did their best effort to move the project forward, Options A & B selection process were clear but also lacked options.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Panama City Beach, FL, on Jun 21, 2022

Love my new home

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 21, 2022

The only problem had been the dishwasher leaking because it wasn’t hooked up right. This caused us to have to leave the house while dehumidifiers and heaters ran non stop for 5 days to dry out the house. The laminate floors were damaged as well as quarter round molding, baseboards also. I liked the warranty because the house was put back to normal as soon as possible. Except for flooring that was back ordered. As soon as it came in the flooring was put right in. Walls were patched and painting was done. There have been a few other minor things that needed fixing and it was done right away.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 21, 2022

Everything was wonderful to include our builder, [name removed] and all of the [name removed] people involved. The only issue we had (maybe more of a recommendation) was that the electrical was not detailed enough (at all honestly). We had no idea where the outlets on each wall would be (or how many on each wall), was told "to code". This was frustrating as a homeowner, because we would have chosen more outlets had we seen a diagram of where the outlets would be located. For example, some Aloha cottages we went in had 4 outlets on the kitchen wall (microwave/stove wall) and some only had 3. We understand it is based on where the electrician "starts", but still confusing. Would be nice to be consistent throughout and have a diagram to look at like every other option has. There are NO complaints on the builder ([name removed] - he was wonderful), or the build (any issue we have is being taken care of) or any other aspects of this community. We love everything. This was just quite confusing and we would have chosen more outlets had we known. Once you figure it out, it's too late. Our [name removed] rep, [name removed], was wonderful and very quick to help with anything we needed. Response time from everyone was phenomenal!!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 21, 2022

1. Updates were inconsistent. We had to ask for updates several times. 2. Upon move in multiple issues have been found with the workmanship of the construction and finish. 3. I would have expected a much more carefully built home for the money we paid.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 21, 2022

The lines of communication were always open. I never had to wonder about anything.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Naples, FL, on Jun 20, 2022

The windows have missing parts, screens. The window openings are cut unevenly, interior doors weren’t installed properly, the garage step wasn’t to code, the light fixtures outside are impossible to open to change the bulbs.

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 20, 2022

when something is broken they fix it pretty quickly

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 20, 2022

This is the 3rd home we built and this experience, by far has been the best experience yet. The communication from my sales rep [name removed] was informative & timely. She patiently answered my 1000 questions & guided us throw the lottery/process. Our Designer [name removed] was super. She left me take the design-reins under her guidance & would offer assistance only when asked. Building from a long distance was tough, but after speaking with our builder [name removed] a few times, we began to feel more comfortable with his knowledge of home building. We appreciated [name removed]'s weekly communication, so important from the perspective of a long distance purchaser. We realized we had to put our trust in [name removed] & we feel lucky that we had his watchful eye on our home. The day of our New Home Celebration, we were elated with all the work that was done & the entire process it took to get there. We saw our vision come to life & oh what a wonderful feeling it is!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 20, 2022

Constant updates! [name removed], (my sales rep), kept me updates; then [name removed], (my designer), was amazing; finally, [name removed] sent photos and a detailed email every week during the building. The [name removed] is just awesome!!!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 20, 2022

Settlement day went very well. But there was a lot of information to think thru, then HOA stopped by that afternoon and also provided very helpful information. But it was information overload - too much piled into one day. Would have been nice to meet with HOA a few days later - I know we missed a lot since there was so much. But the information provided was very helpful.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Hardeeville, SC, on Jun 20, 2022

I absolutely love the community. The buying process was stressful. Continuing to see homes being sold at a fever pace makes no sense to me when homes are taking upwards of 15 months to build and often going past the contract timeframe. The attention to detail is completely lost. Subcontractors just get in and get out and often due substandard work. This puts a burden on Mastercare to fix these issues when all they should be worrying about are large warranty items. The superintendents are overworked and cannot keep up this pace. I had 3 during the course of my build which is ridiculous. My favorite one, [name removed], resigned due to being overworked. He was an excellent super and his loss is huge for [name removed] in my opinion. Residents believe [name removed] has become very greedy and is overlooking quality to make a buck. While I completely understand wanting to make money, doing it to the point people are complaining about the process makes no sense to me. This is a wonderful community, in which we pay a lot of money to live, but this will not continue if something doesn't give. The prevailing thought is that [name removed] doesn't believe they are here to provide a quality home, only a lifestyle. While the lifestyle is the predominant reason people move to LMHH, we all still are paying for a quality home. Slow down on selling new homes until you get the timeline to build homes under 12 months. My 1500 sf home never should have taken 14 months to build. The excuses about supply chain issues and labor shortages aren't cutting it any more. Give the trades time to do quality work, the supers time to follow-up, and Mastercare the ability to do what they are really meant for.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Naples, FL, on Jun 20, 2022

JC and [name removed] are FANTASTIC..responsive and get things done, Despite labor and material shortages

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 19, 2022

I liked how prompt both my sales rep [name removed] and builder [name removed] were in answering my emails. And how courteous they are!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Panama City Beach, FL, on Jun 19, 2022

I like the quick responsiveness on anything I submit. What I don't like is the chain supply issue which is out of everyone's control at Minto.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 18, 2022

Customer care exceeds my expectations. If something is wrong I call they fix it in a speedy, Accurate manner. Great job.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Daytona Beach, FL, on Jun 18, 2022

Sometimes slow

3.7
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Our story begins in 1955 with a simple belief: that we could build better places to live, work and play, one home and one relationship at a time. Since then, The Minto Group has successfully built a fully-integrated real estate company that can meet the needs of any individual, family, investor or business. We’ve accomplished a lot over the years, and as we continue to celebrate new ventures, milestones, innovations and investments, we’re always looking ahead to what’s possible. Read on to learn more about our journey over the past 60+ years.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:...read more

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted...read less