Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Normandy Homes Reviews

468 Homeowner Reviews Completed Dec 2020 - Jun 2022

Overall Satisfaction

4.1
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.1
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Irving, TX, on Jun 22, 2022

Quality is not good in some places in my house.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
Irving, TX, on Jun 14, 2022

Like: 1. Once given a chance to buy all available lots were given to us as an option. 2. Prompt response from [name removed] and [name removed]. Dislike: 1. We did not like the selection process to email at exactly 10:00 AM. We were communicating with [name removed] for quite sometime however as told to us our email reached milliseconds late than few others so other buyers were given chance before us despite us showing interest before them. This had a huge impact on price. 2. Frequent Construction manager changes - We started with [name removed], he resigned so [name removed] did the First Builder Meet. Then [name removed] took over for the worst, horrible times dealing with him. He left for good and then [name removed] took over and finally [name removed] before closing. 3. Design Center - misguided us, lot of options were not provided to us like stained cabinets. On top of that an old design center booklet was sent us which did not have all the available options for us to do the homework. 4. Radiant Barrier Missing in our home - We were asked to sign an addendum as Radiant barrier were not in stock at that time, we never wanted to sign as it's an important part for the energy efficiency of the home however we were left with no choice but to sign due to continuous follow ups. When the time came to install the Radiant Barrier they were back in the market in abundance. In-fact Normandy homes installed it in homes which were at the same stage as ours despite their owners also signing the addendum. I know you are production builder and work on a pre-ordered pipeline but only if some additional efforts were made by the contruction manager/Normandy this could have been handeled. 5. Poor HVAC pipe planning. Bedroom 4 Closet space reduced as HVAC guys took a pipe from there which resulted in loss of home owners area. 6. SHower Seat - We paid for a shower seat in the master bathroom after looking at the one in the model house. However we were not provided what we paid for. 7. Retaining wall issue - Area near retaining wall always remains damp, [name removed] is aware of the issue and needs to be fixed for good. 8. Items pending from exception list even after 1 month from closing. Looks like [name removed] tries his best however things move at a very slow pace.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Jun 10, 2022

4 warranty tickets that were opened are yet to be serviced.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on Jun 09, 2022

Our sales person, [name removed] was great! She kept us informed through every step. Our design center had OK choices. I expected better.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Jun 01, 2022

The warranty services are responsive, but the repairs are often downplayed as if they are nothing. I think the build process should consider attention to details because it gets harder to correct after the build.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on May 31, 2022

I like everything regular updates , design center work, default options with house pretty good one. I don’t like the way sales person [name removed] talks she is so rude in handling customers I got hurt many times but I was quite due to the market conditions

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Flower Mound, TX, on May 12, 2022

Like—transparency and desire to deliver quality. Builder and property manager provided useful updates throughout. Dislike—inability to make any selections. Was quite difficult to take everything “as offered” for a new build. Minor preferences should have been allowed.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on May 05, 2022

Likes: 1. Our marketing manager - Ms. [name removed] was excellent starting from signing the contract to closing the home. She was a very helpful, an excellent guide to first-time home buyers. Big Thank you to her. 2. Normandy Homes was excellent in adhering to the timelines even in these market conditions 3. Mr.[name removed] the builder is good, approachable, and has worked upon the concerns. 4. Mr.[name removed](Warranty manager) is excellent too, we had our first meeting after 30 days. He is very patient in answering the queries and looks very approachable. Good to Have: 1. Being a premium builder it would be good to include a smart home package as part of the home 2. And with all connected home capabilities taking center stage, it would be good for Normandy homes to have homes internet fiber ready than traditional cable lines.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on May 02, 2022

The unexpected delays were very frustrating and costed us a lot .

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Irving, TX, on Apr 29, 2022

Every step, we had challenges with sales agent and also with the construction manager. We had to do multiple follow ups to get answers on every step. This is our 3rd home we built but never had this much bad experience while building a home.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Apr 24, 2022

Lack of communication. We have a water softener loop system that was install incorrectly. Having a hard time getting the SI of the project to give me date when it can be fixed.

2.5
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Apr 14, 2022

Everything was Great, Special thanks to [name removed] and [name removed] my builder who are always available and helping me with my questions .. as this is my new home and first time buyer i had billion questions and they answered most of them very clearly to me

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on Apr 12, 2022

Some plumbing issues not resolved

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on Apr 07, 2022

Warranty service request resolution is slow, and need to be expediated.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on Apr 06, 2022

Hello Normandy Builders, Thank you for the opportunity to buy a Normandy Home. In general we are happy with our purchase from Normandy. However, there are many finishing issues and material used that is very inferior in quality. We expected Normandy homes to be perfect in all aspects. To begin with: 1. Our kitchen cabinet doors keep falling down. The hinges just breaks and doors fall down. We are trying to open and close them as careful as is humanly possible. But they just drop off the hinges. Worst type of hinges used. Once door fell on my feet. These are supposed to be upgraded cabinets. Very disappointed. 2. Cabinet door handles: They keep coming off on one door or the other, on one draw or the other. Worst quality of handles. Person who came to look at them said it was because of the wood doors. Screw holding the handle on to the door or draw is too short and that is the reason the handles fall off the screw. Very disappointed with this too considering we paid for knobs. If it is the style of the knob that is the issue; then it should not have been an option for buyers to choose from. 3. Kitchen cabinet side panel: There are nails pushing from inside and it has raised the sides and looks like it will pierce thru soon. Looks like a cheap thrift store product. 4. Kitchenaid stove: This is an upgraded level kitchen stove. Really scared of using heavy pans on it. The grills sitting on the gas stove has no footing or grip. It just sits on top of the frame and keeps moving when I place or remove pan. It is a dangerous situation with this stove. Completely not happy. It is definitely not safe to use this stove and we wonder how Normandy thought it was an upgraded, good option for buyers. [name removed] designed with safety of user in mind. Extremely dangerous design. 5. The wood panel under the stove hood is starting to peel/warp. I am being as careful as humanly possible while cooking by making sure there is no steam or heat big enough to reach the underside of the hood. 6. The edge/corner/ends of the tile work should have better finished edges. With grout out of place around the edges, the aesthetics is not something I am proud of. 7. Bathroom door: The door leading to master bathroom was clearly banged onto the granite counter while opening the said door and was cracked while under construction. Someone patched it, did an extremely shoddy job and did not care to paint it. 8. Guest bathroom cabinet side has a chipped off section and it has been painted over. It is still clearly visible. 9. The floor alignment in the master bathroom toilet area is just visibly bent?! Just looks like seeing something in a bad mirror. I am not able to explain it well. Once you see it, it is very difficult not to notice it. Looks like the work of an amateur. 10. Painting of the front door and almost all doors in the house is very rough and looks like a rookie painter’s job. 11. There are few places where the wood floor looks like it is warping but the construction manager tries to brush it aside saying it is normal. Our previous home of 20 years does not have it. I don’t think it is normal. After few years it is going to warp. 12. There was a damaged panel in our wood floor and someone came to fix it. They removed a panel and replaced it. That left us with a squeaky floor. The next person filled it with glue, but it is still not done well. This is right in front of the refrigerator. It is highly likely that the panel will crack, if we pull the refrigerator to clean under it. Warranty: When we request for a warranty claim, one they show up weeks after the claim just to come and tell us that it is not covered under warranty or nothing can be done. So, what is the warranty for your warranty department solving our issues? There are many more cosmetic issues that should/would not be there if it was done by a skilled labor and if Normandy’s quality maintenance person had done their job with care. If something goes wrong with the floor, we do not have any spare wood panel to fix our wood floor. Same with tiles, no spare/extra left for future repairs. I would have greatly appreciated if Normandy had paid attention to small details and planned to leave material for future repairs. Small details like these will let the buyer know that Normandy cares for their customers. That in turn would assure me that major details would have been perfectly taken care of. Now, I have to be thankful for all the inspections put in place by the county and city to help buyers. If and when all above items are taken care of and get fixed I will revisit and revise this review. Thank You

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Apr 05, 2022

I liked our build brad and our manager [name removed]. They both made the process very easy and stress free.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Irving, TX, on Apr 01, 2022

The expected timeframe to complete the home was met . Builder and [name removed] Manager are very cooperative and listens to all of our concerns . No additional options to make any changes in the existing design was little disappointing. Overall very satisfied with the home .

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Frisco, TX, on Mar 31, 2022

Liked about design of home and disliked about quality of home

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Flower Mound, TX, on Mar 28, 2022

They did not paint the ceiling of my patio.

1.9
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on Mar 27, 2022

the Bathroom downstair (guestbathroom) has no mirror

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.