Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Grand Homes

North-East

309 Homeowner Reviews
Jul 2020 - Jan 2022

Builder Profile

Our Mission is to improve the Quality of Life of our Customers, Employees and Trade Partners through the Grand Homes Experience.

With this uncompromising commitment, we are proud to present classic homes that have been engineered for enduring value, quality and style... providing you with countless choices that will fit your lifestyle.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.

Most Recent 20 Comments From North-East
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Mckinney, TX, on Jan 22, 2022

I like the plan which is open and double staircase entrance .

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on Jan 15, 2022

[name removed], the project manager, made the experience a good one. There were many delays, a few missteps and some miscommunications during the design center process, however [name removed] worked with us and was able to resolve all our issues.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Jan 15, 2022

The time [name removed] homes finished, I was rushed to close at the end to just increase month end numbers, the floor trims did not match, the size of shower is ridiculous for this home size, just an unhappy experience.

1.3
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Jan 11, 2022

[name removed] Homes keep up to the expectations in delivering the house I highly recommend to any of my friends with the way you work

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Dec 28, 2021

My experience with Grand from contract through move-in was horrible. I will take my time to provide my honest feedback, but I really doubt if anything will be done by Grand leadership. I signed my contract with an inexperienced sales agent "[name removed]" and I was her first client. [name removed] never mentioned that I had an option to have a second master bedroom upstairs for a “Price” and it was too late once I came to know that I could have expanded on of the upstairs bedroom into a master bedroom. Also I was never asked that I could have a closed media room with walls and a door and now I have an open media room where I have to hire a contractor to build a wall & door. My customer service experience after design room went from 5 stars to 1 star, I was dealing with a construction manager “[name removed] Shephard” who never answered his calls and never gave full updates on build. First 8 months were lost with poor communication, lack of materials and labor shortage. Pre-drywall, my building failed water inspection and the subfloor (upstairs) was severely damaged due to water leaks and grand would not do anything to replace the subfloor. After many escalations emails and concerns a new construction manager “ [name removed]” took over the build and he got the ball rolling. I would say [name removed] is the only person in Grand who displayed true professionalism and was on top of every communication (good or bad). I had to send several emails to [name removed] to fix the subfloor with water leaks, Attic entrance issue (was a safety issue) and extend the fence. [name removed] is my biggest problem with Grand and reason that I would not refer Grand to any of my friends. [name removed] does not respond to buyers emails with concerns and we had to go through our Construction manager and sales agent who would always say “you need to talk to [name removed] and this is out of my reach”. I had to close my with 5 punch exceptions and as of today one item (microwave) is still pending with no ETA. As a buyer who paid premium on the corner lot and added many upgrades, I have no problem adding more money to make my house look beautiful but as a seller, Grand did a poor job by not offering more structural upgrades during contract, Grand did not hire right people to do their job and maintained poor communication. I closed my house in October and I have already have a broken dishwasher which was poorly installed (damaged cover) and which damaged counter table drywall (with no ETA to replace). In Summary, [name removed] was the only one person in Grand who did his job and showed compassion while the rest treated us poorly. We are just a number to Grand.

2.2
Verified Homeowner
Celina, TX, on Dec 26, 2021

What did we like: We love the floor plans offered by grand and the initial sales experience was awesome. Things went down hill after that. 1) Available options/customizations: During Contract signing, we were told that certain options were not available but found out later that those options were indeed available. There are options that we would have. 2) Communication: During contract signing, we were told to by our original sales person to contact via email. We did this and [name removed] always responded immediately. Unfortunately, when [name removed] left, communication basically stopped. 3) Quality Control- This is not our first home that we have built. Our first home was in a lower price range. We built it with no problems or hiccups. And if things did go wrong, they were caught before we noticed. With the price range we are in now, with our build with Grand, we expected a better quality product and better workmanship. We expected our home to be delivered with the same positive experience as in the past. Unfortunately, we were Quality Assurance for our build and mistakes were made that should not have been made like the following : a) toilet was placed in office instead of bathroom b) full bath was turned into a half bath c) upstairs door to bathroom was framed in the wrong place. They couldn’t figure it out so we framed it without the door that we paid for. d) the stairs were stained the wrong color and it was not fixed, so to close, we have to settle for another color. e) the backsplash was not done correctly or neatly, so we were asked to find out how it should be finished. We are not tile experts. f) the doors in the office were framed too high leaving a space between the bottom of the door and the floor. Then we were told it was done this way on purpose. We went back and looked at the video walkthrough on the grand website and that was not the case. 4) Continued problems with home: We are finding things that were not painted. The dishwasher has basically fell apart. The floor was not stained before appliances went in so there is no stain on the floor beneath the dishwasher. We have a cabinet door that is falling off the hinge. In addition, the screws used in the front door were too short and the lock fell off. The builder did come buy and fix this. 5) The final walkthrough: During the final walkthough, we were told that if we found more than 5 or 6 items that we could not close that day. I felt like these were bully tactics that were used to get us to sign off that day so that they could be done. 6) Closing. Our original closing date given to us was September. In august we were rushed to get our sign off from our mortgage company. We did this. Our date kept getting pushed and pushed. Luckily, our mortgage company did not charge us for a rate extension. 7) The Grand Building Process: we received a manual when we signed our contract. Grand did not follow this process that was in the manual.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Dec 10, 2021

There were multiple delays throughout the process and we ended up paying lots of money to the mortgage company to extend our rate lock. All because [name removed] [name removed] could not deliver what they promised on time.

1.1
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Dec 10, 2021

A few things were missed and to late to change. No big deal though.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Dec 10, 2021

From Contract until my house was framed ( prior to [name removed] taking over the build) the communication and service was horrible. Prior to [name removed] I had at least 6 builders managing the build of my house. when he came in July, the sheetrock wasn't up in spite of the house being framed in December of 2020. My house was partially framed for over 6 months and [name removed] was very condescending when I asked for an update on why my house was delayed versus another house near by. Also, I January I was told my sliding ( stacking ) doors were changing from aluminum to vinyl. However, I was not told they would go from 4 doors which is what I requested and is what is in the model to three doors, which is what is installed. when I asked about it prior to closing, I was told that is what I signed off on. Which is not true, because I was never informed I was not receiving what I requested and assumed I was paying for which is the stacking doors in the model in Prosper. [name removed], did what she could, but once she did the sale part, the build was out of her hands.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Dec 07, 2021

We like the leadership of [name removed], who diligently worked through all the inconsistencies through out the consulting process and ensured to deliver the house to our expectations. The most frustrating part of the house is absolutely horrible job done by electrical designers and workmanship of IES. We would rate them 2 on scale of 10. The electrical switches are placed all over. As an example, the backyard flood lights switch is put in front garage and the same switch controls garage lights. It’s a mess and we are living through it.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Nov 06, 2021

[name removed] came through with making sure my home was move in ready in time for the closing. I appreciate the level of professionalism and hard work from him and his team! [name removed] also followed up with any questions or concerns after closing and made it priority to follow up! We love [name removed] and our new home!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Oct 26, 2021

Overall quality of the home is good. - The time took to complete the construction was over 1 years. the delay was never a concern however the delays were not communicated properly. Three construction mangers changed however experience dealing with the 2nd one was unsatisfactory. - The closing was done on 27th Aug, however keys were not given to us until next business day (Monday). it should have been communicated well in advance if this will happen rather than informing after the final inspection signature.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Oct 24, 2021

They don’t commit to the time they specify, which leads to many problems on the customer side. Bad timing led to lack of construction management. Even though they can’t keep promises because of the type of work that is not an excuse for not delivering the quality in a manner time. We had to repeat our notes many times from the beginning of the construction, and we still ended up with a long list that they would not commit to fixing their mistakes.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Celina, TX, on Oct 24, 2021

[name removed] really happy with whole process. Once contract is signedup there is too much push for everything to be finalized. And then i just need to wait and watch. Even at time of closing waa not given proper time to do walk through. During the whole process my builder changed twice so that was another experience.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Oct 16, 2021

Excessively delays in construction coupled with build errors because of frequent turnover in staff. Quality of some of the "upgrades" is below standard. (Microwave and fireplace)

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Allen, TX, on Oct 06, 2021

None

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Sep 03, 2021

The delay, the quality of some workers.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Aug 26, 2021

[name removed], [name removed] and [name removed] have been very responsive to our needs. Upon move in we had some issues that were resolved in a timely manner. They have been very professional and caring ensuring our satisfaction.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Aug 06, 2021

proposed completion date of my house was delayed by 4 months. With previous manager, many building process's have to be redone due to the mistakes they made. consequently many building materials were waisted. With new manager, namely, Philipé, construction started with structured and orderly manner to complete the building of my house within 3weeks. Follow up guarantee work has been quite satisfactory. All the personnel and workers have been courteous and concerned about my needs, except previous manager.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Mckinney, TX, on Aug 05, 2021

HVAC installation had issues after we moved in. Water leaking. Apparently a vent was completely blocked in the attic that formed hard ice and that caused a week of water leakage. We were initially told that it was due to condensation.

4.8
Verified Homeowner