Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Legend Homes

San Antonio

556 Homeowner Reviews
Jun 2021 - Nov 2022

Overall Satisfaction

3.6
Customers' overall satisfaction
3.0
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

San Antonio Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

Builder Profile

Since 1991, Legend Homes has established a tradition of constructing affordable homes without sacrificing style and luxury.

With well over 10,000 residences constructed in the Greater Houston area, Legend Homes has built a reputation as one of Houston’s most trusted homebuilders.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.

Most Recent 20 Comments From San Antonio
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

San Antonio, TX, on Nov 21, 2022

better landscaper

4.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Nov 16, 2022

I liked that my home had a bedroom on the bottom floor. I didn't like that I had to deal with 2 different title companies and mortgage companies and I felt that took away more money from me. I am still waiting on somethings to be fixed in my home.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Nov 12, 2022

Forced to close early, construction said if I delayed any further they would sell the house out from under me and give me my ernest money back. Installed dead grass and refuses to replace. Had a bunch of unskilled labor doing trades, mortar looks like it was done by a drunk teenager, cabinets are crooked and open in wrong direction, top coat on concrete cracking already, driveway concrete overflowed etc etc

1.9
Verified Homeowner
Cibolo, TX, on Nov 12, 2022

THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! Every single person I’ve had to encounter (and there were a lot) had terrible communication and false promises from day 1! Scheduled closing was Feb 2022 then moved back every month and finally confirmed for July 2022 so I sell my property because I was pressured and the house wasn’t completed enough for me to close till October 2022. My house still has outstanding items that aren’t completed but I ran out of patience and closed anyways. If I wasn’t pressured to selling my home I would not have moved forward with the closing. I will never recommend you to anyone and will be sure ppl are aware of the horrible experiences my family went through!

1.2
Verified Homeowner
Cibolo, TX, on Nov 11, 2022

Price for value isn't present. We are over 30 days in the home and things are still being repaired. I appreciate the communication from [name removed] and understand that getting people out is hard but [name removed] could pay more to get things done quicker. Additionally, now that we are in the house and walk on the floors without shoes on, you can feel how the floor is uneven under the carpet upstairs and it's easier to see other issues.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Nov 10, 2022

The home was not completed in the timeframe that we were given. The home still required repairs after closing. Repairs have not been completed as of this date and these repairs were noted on the final walkthrough.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Nov 05, 2022

my master restroom flooding the 3rd night there

4.7
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Oct 31, 2022

I disliked that I had to wait 7 months for the house to Be complete. I like that any discrepancies on the house were able to be complete quick during and after closing!

4.3
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Oct 31, 2022

Many things still needing work even a month after moving in. Still need concrete stoops, some vents, paint spots finished. Landscaping is all brown, possibly dead? Was told by construction managers grass and trees are just dorment.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Oct 29, 2022

Every thing

0.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Oct 29, 2022

The contracting process was smooth. Our sales representative, [name removed], was very helpful. The walk-through and actual move-in experience is where the process broke down. We expressed some concerns about the aesthetics and craftsmanship during the blue tape walkthrough to be told, “well it’s functional”. That sentiment is not acceptable for a brand new home to lack aesthetics and quality. We went the route of a new construction home so that we would not have to worry about craftsmanship and other major challenges that a resale home would present. Furthermore, we turned down a Lennar home because I was just so sure that Legend Homes were of a better quality. I’m wondering now if that was a mistake. By telling us that aesthetics and craftsmanship are not important, the process felt rushed and the home seemed to have been put up quickly and not quality controlled. For example, flooring was put in visibly wrong. In fact, pretty terrible. It seemed as if it was hoped that we didn’t see it. When we brought it up, the flooring was replaced, but only in patch areas. To make matters worse, it was replaced with the wrong color material and on the final walk-through I just so happened to be standing directly in the sunlight and noticed that the contractor put different color flooring down. There were other major concerns however, this one really left a bad taste in my mouth and I would never recommend legend homes to anyone because of it. We are first time homebuyers and we did pay a lot of money to make sure that we had a good quality home put up that would last us. Now it just seems that there will be things resulting from this experience that we will have to fix prematurely. I understand that there are challenges and things that need to be resolved during the blue tape walk-through, which is what the purpose of it is however, I am not pleased with the attitude and sentiment that was conveyed to us during this experience. I expected more from Legend Homes and I am disappointed.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Oct 28, 2022

From a sales perspective, great job. [name removed] communicated well and often. From a project management and execution, the home is still not complete. We're being told the trades people are coming...and we're still waiting. From a craftsmanship perspective, it's poor to average at best. The floors are uneven, and the grout is cracking. The grout along all the seams has holes, isn't even and smudges on the wall or floor. There areas that need painting and the floors have paint drops all over the place. When we moved in, the house wasn't even cleaned, so we spent all weekend dusting and cleaning windows. There are tons more little things to write about, but our concerns have fallen on deaf ears. The only good experience was [name removed]... and we don't hold him accountable because he did his portion, everything else has been second rate. For these reasons, it would be hard for me to recommend a [name removed] [name removed] or Princeton Homes.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Oct 25, 2022

Smooth process from start to finish

5.0
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Oct 20, 2022

1. Delay in closing by over 3 months. We suffered much inconvenience seeking alternative housing. 2. Fixtures in the home are very basic- toilet, shower, kitchen tap, flooring, etc 3. Master bedroom AC not effective. Called and they did a remedial work with very little improvement. We dread the coming cold season because the vents aren’t releasing much air. Again they’re talking about WARRANTY. You can only have a warranty on a finished product. Come correct the error in HVAC configuration before talking about Warranty. 4. The floor/ frame in a part of the house is uneven and making a weird sound as if the floor wants to cave in. As you step on the floor within that whole area, there is loud squeaky sounds and louder than squeaky sounds. We reported this and nothing has been done. And it’s getting worse. 4. The carpet in the stair have pins. Our feet have been pierced/ cut multiple times. We noticed the installation wasn’t done properly. We reported this and WERE TOLD THAT ANY REPAIRS WILL VOID THE WARRANTY. So, how do we live with such hazard when the house isn’t free? 5. The vinyl carpet is coming off the floor in certain areas. 6. The sales representative said they had a gift for us after closing. It’s been several weeks after, they’ve not stopped by to give us the gift. 7. We haven’t received the key to the swimming pool. 8. We reported a crack in the wash hand sink in the visitor’s bathroom. Nothing has been done about it.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Oct 17, 2022

There were/are several repairs that still have not been addressed. The paint job, the flooring quality, the concrete work in the garage and front porch show poor workmanship. There are still issues with these items after my move in date. I was not given any information of mail service, or trash service. Also, the information that was provided such as who provides the trash, fire, police was a lie. Fire services for [name removed] [name removed] is through a volunteer fire department which affects our home insurance. This new build looks and feels cheap and not worth $368K. I would never recommend this builder to anyone and would warn others to ensure they do their research.

1.8
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Oct 17, 2022

punch list 6 weeks in still not completed. 2 bathrooms don't have towel bars or toilet paper holders still. 8 out of 20 cabinet doors loose.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Oct 11, 2022

Was a struggle to get confirmed walkthtough and closing dates. To the point where out walkthrough had to be rescheduled twice with only 24 hours of notice. Entire process felt rushed at the end and this was readily visible when we were at our closing walkthrough and there were multiple wood items that were broken. They were addressed for the most part in the first week of our move in but still surprised to see such sloppy work on a brand new home.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Oct 10, 2022

As a first-time buyer, there was a constant lack of communication, and failure to communicate effectively to work together.

0.6
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Oct 10, 2022

Bunch of constructions defects as plumbing,painting ,doors not closing properly, electric switches breaking off etc..

4.1
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Oct 09, 2022

There are several areas that need to be fixed, the contractor was able to fix the large hand space in the facia awaiting painters. There is a hand sized space in the first step of the stairs, plaster missing in the landing of the stairs, a gap in the flooring in the upstairs hallway, and a dip in the fourth bedroom entry. We have been working with the CM to address these issues.

4.5
Verified Homeowner