Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Giddens Homes Reviews

198 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2020 - Sep 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.5
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.5
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Jonestown, TX, on Sep 18, 2021

[name removed] warranty service has been better than the initial subcontractor work. I have been extremely pleased with their quality and responsiveness.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Georgetown, TX, on Sep 18, 2021

Delivery of home on time and quality is exceptional. Service has been prompt and any problems solved

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Sep 09, 2021

[name removed] was the key. Responsive and respectful. Good service begins with him.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Sep 01, 2021

[name removed] quality of the home has been really good.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Aug 27, 2021

A couple of small issues getting things fixed but [name removed] has been very diligent in getting things taken care of.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lago Vista, TX, on Aug 25, 2021

All problems resolved

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Aug 24, 2021

[name removed] has been great to work with and continues to support or needs and ensure our warranty repairs are done in a timely fashion.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Aug 22, 2021

[name removed] has been awesome! Once he receives the request I immediately get a call to schedule an appointment

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Aug 06, 2021

Everything has been repaired as requested

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 31, 2021

Loved working with [name removed]. And the sales staff was great too. Some of the quality is subpar. Can hear outside a/c u it from inside (couldn’t at former house) and whole house shakes when garage door shuts. And stucco is cracking in places. Little things adding up. But still happy to be here and would build with [name removed] again.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 18, 2021

Lack of transparency about the project timeline start to finish. We should be given the entire project plan for the 9-10 months up front not weekly email updates. This would have prevented many emails and questions that we had along the way. The poor make ready of the house for closing. A month after being in the house we are still cleaning dried paint drops on the floor and grout on surface tiles. There was a feeling of pressure to close by a certain date even when things weren’t 100%. This resulted in a longer warranty request list and many continued appointments with vendors that are still not complete a month later.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 15, 2021

[name removed] has been very proficient at handling our warranty items.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 13, 2021

[name removed] salesperson was very nice and had great intentions for us, but his sales tactics were not very thorough. For example, we wanted several significant upgrades and he seemed resistant to wanting to give them to us. Some upgrades were never discussed or suggested that we found out later we could have done them. We know that the build process was challenging for everyone so we completely understand all of the issues [name removed] faced. [name removed] was absolutely amazing through ever step.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 13, 2021

Transparent and open. Clearly set all expectations and met them.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 12, 2021

Continuous warranty delay on repairs after sell of home. A few vendors performing average workmanship.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 12, 2021

We were very pleased with our Superintendent, [name removed]. He has been organized, responsive, and true to his word. We felt lucky to have him assigned to our home, and highly recommend him. The reason for the 7 score is because we are still experiencing significant drainage issues on our property that causes mulch and dirt to wash out after it rains. We are also left with mud in our driveway and rocks strewn across our driveway and lawn after it rains. We need a drain to truly address the issue. We also thought our cabinets and carpet pad were subpar for the price and quality of the home. We are also still waiting on delivery of our 3 ceiling fans. Overall, we are pleased with our home and we accredit that all to [name removed].

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jul 10, 2021

Minor challenge was the gap between the completion date formally listed on weekly updates and the realistic final move in date.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 09, 2021

Everything so far has been great. No issues.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 08, 2021

Salesperson was very inflexible and hard to get a hold of. Areas of design of the home needed to be altered because of mistakes made that did not meet permit inspection. [name removed] would not alter installation of irrigation to accommodate plans for a pool. This caused major damage to the irrigation that could have been avoided if [name removed] was more accommodating.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Jonestown, TX, on Jul 08, 2021

All [name removed]'s people involved were outstanding. Specifically, [name removed] and [name removed] [name removed] were responsive, helpful, tenacious in making things right, etc. It was a wonderful experience building from multiple states away.

4.8
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Giddens Homes is the leader when it comes to building your dream home on your lot. We specialize in building estate homes in the northwest suburbs of Austin. Owner and President, James Giddens has been building in this area since 1982.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.