Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Giddens Homes Reviews

159 Homeowner Reviews Completed Apr 2019 - Oct 2020

Overall Satisfaction

4.6
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.6
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Leander, TX, on Oct 02, 2020

Our sales agent did his best to accommodate our requests, and dealt with us fairly. Our superintendent did a good job of organizing the construction process, and has done an excellent job scheduling warranty work. The only negative is the construction process, and the fact that so many things are done wrong the first time, and so much time (and cost) is spent (wasted) re-doing work. But sadly, that's with any builder.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Oct 01, 2020

They do what they say.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Sep 28, 2020

[name removed] lives up to their reputation. I got a high quality home with a personal touch and was never left to guess on status or next steps. A huge shout out to all the [name removed] staff that worked together to deliver a top notch product and a positive customer experience.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Sep 09, 2020

I'm a military veteran and this is my 4th new home purchase and was my worst experience by far as well as the first time I didn't close on my scheduled date. This was partially because when the VA inspector came out things like my appliances and grass were not done so he had to come re-inspect which pushed everything. When I did my initial walk through 2 weeks prior to closing there was a long list of things that had to be completed still such as gutter install, barn-door install, painting (indoor and outdoor), etc. I understood that it was a difficult time because of the pandemic so I didn't make a huge fuss over it. Fast forward to final walk through and some of those things still had not been accomplished which is unacceptable. I moved in and had a voltage issue with my microwave, my stove wouldn't work properly (and sometimes still doesn't) and I'm still waiting on the painter to come and finish painting the casing around my barn door. My frontyard has a lot of holes due to poor sod placement/laying. My backyard is TERRIBLE. Where my septic system was dug there are all kinds of rock, stone and wood and the solution was to put sod in a checkerboard pattern over it which obviously was not the right thing to do. Now I have a backyard that is going to require extensive money to fix in order to be decent or even usable. I paid 592,000 and still have to spend thousands of dollars...

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Sep 09, 2020

Liked our experience with the Superintendent, [name removed]. Super helpful, patient and informative. He goes above and beyond and gave us a real sense of comfort building our home when we were states away. Contract signing was smooth and done professionally. [name removed] is informative and knows his job well. Design center is not allowed near enough time and we are not given enough information going in as to seeing actual choices, felt very rushed to make really important decision. [name removed] staff at design center is very professional and helpful.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Aug 24, 2020

Nothing

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Aug 18, 2020

Extremely responsive, friendly and super easy to deal with. Would highly recommend based upon that experience alone! There are a few issues with repairs and construction errors, but we are slowly working through those and we are hopeful to have them resolved soon.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Aug 16, 2020

Everything was awesome

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Aug 12, 2020

[name removed] is super responsive to every warranty request I have entered.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Aug 04, 2020

It is now over 5 months past our closing date and the punch list items are still not completed.

2.7
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Aug 04, 2020

SuddenLink Cable/Phone /Internet company is worse Customer Service and Hardware/Network EVER experienced . I have used 6 Cable companies in 4 states in the last 30 years. Suddenlink is the WORSE ever. I regret applying for their URELIABLE NON Service

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jul 29, 2020

Beyond the initial viewing of sample and model homes, the entire process was online. Photos were sent weekly during the build process which kept me informed while being out of state and eased my mind that progress was being made.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 24, 2020

We seemed to have some electrical issues and have people out here like 4-5 times now. We believed it is fixed but something the contractors could have probably done right the first time. Once we made the calls it would get going. [name removed] been instrumental in keeping things moving!

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 23, 2020

My sales rep, [name removed], was very down to earth, cordial and willing to work to make sure we got the home we desired. [name removed], the construction manager was awesome! Easy to communicate with and very knowledgable!

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jul 22, 2020

We love everything about the build, meeting the obligations of the home, and the continued support from [name removed]. Now that we have been settled, we do see some areas in the landscape(outside of the home) that could have been improved, such as smoothness of the lawn, as its very uneven, and better clean up in the unsodded portion.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jul 03, 2020

Stand by their homes, always answer the phone and wanting to help

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jun 17, 2020

[name removed] and [name removed]. [name removed] in sales stayed with us through the entire process. There were many iterations and change orders. He kept track of them and kept our expectations met. [name removed] did what he could to keep us updated throughout the entire build. Which brings us to [name removed]. [name removed] is simply the best building superintendent that you could ever ask for. [name removed] is organized and detail oriented. It was not uncommon to see [name removed] at our home in the evenings or on the weekend. It seemed that he took a special interest in the proper construction of our home. To be fair, he probably does tha for all his homes. Warlier, I said that [name removed] "did what he could" to keep us updated. What I meant by that is [name removed] would see us at the home or driving down the street. He would stop what he was doing to give us an update on what had been completed and what was coming up. We always knew so much about the construction of our home. We thank both of these gentlemen for their professionalism.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jun 14, 2020

I get timely responses when I ask a question.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jun 09, 2020

Our construction manager, [name removed], has been very responsive to all our warranty service/customer care requests. All issues have been addressed immediately.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Jun 09, 2020

[name removed] and dealing with [name removed]. The purchasing to designing to building process was easy and stress free

4.7
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Giddens Homes is the leader when it comes to building your dream home on your lot. We specialize in building estate homes in the northwest suburbs of Austin. Owner and President, James Giddens has been building in this area since 1982.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.