Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Giddens Homes Reviews

172 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jul 2019 - Jan 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.6
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.5
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Liberty Hill, TX, on Jan 14, 2021

[name removed] has been great. [name removed] time it took for the electrical company to come out. [name removed] person was good.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Jan 08, 2021

The electrical for the home has been a challenge. We have had to add additional breakers and the entire box replaced. We have a spot on one of the bath tubs where something looks like in the construction was dropped and chipped about a silver dollar size of paint/enamel all the way down to the silver part. It has been repaired twice now and for the 3d time they are planning on re-coating the entire tub, not sure how that will work for overall final repair. The other major issue has been with the quality if the double oven that came with the house. We have had MULTIPLE issues to say the least. Including it coming on by itself late at night and the only way to turn it off was the outside breaker on the outside of the house. We have had times where it would not even turn on, but many times we could not get it to turn off! The main panel board has been changed out twice now, the 2nd time just this week. It is a huge problem as we never know if we will be able to cook a dinner or not! The home we bought was a spec home, so maybe there was a model for an upgrade but I would hope in homes of this caliber that you would install some of the best lines of home products out there. In researching this double oven the issues are a huge known issue with a big beware on purchasing this oven. We understand in a new home there is going to be issues and we have dealt with them accordingly but the double ovens are a scary issue because of us worrying they might come on 400 degrees when no one is home! Overall we do love [name removed] and have told several people about your homes in our neighborhood as well as a couple of the others in town. Thanks you! [name removed] 512-415-3062 209 [name removed] Loop [name removed] Community [name removed] Hill. TX

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Jonestown, TX, on Dec 23, 2020

[name removed] sales experience was not wholly pleasant and inflexible but the building supervisor has been pleasant to work with, responsive and reliable.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Dec 18, 2020

The sales manager made good suggestions when we were designing the home. The construction manager was diligent and responded to all our concerns. Overall, we are happy with our home, but we are definitely disappointed in the quality of the cabinetry. The cabinets were installed with no protection during the tile installation resulting in numerous nicks and scrapes which were then covered with touchup pencils. The hinges on the cabinet doors will not stay tightened. Many of the cabinets or the shelving is not cut square and the cut looks like someone chewed it instead of cutting it. The finish is not consistent. There are places that are bare with no finish. The soft closures that we paid extra for do not work properly. These cabinets are not what is expected in a home over half a million dollars. We were disappointed that there were no other options or upgrades to these low quality cabinets that are installed throughout the home.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Dec 14, 2020

[name removed] always responds promptly and handles any issue or questions we have.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Dec 14, 2020

Everyone has been friendly and helpful and taken care of any issues we've had.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Round Rock, TX, on Dec 09, 2020

The follow through and the workmanship have been poor.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Dec 02, 2020

We enjoyed working with [name removed] and the communication that we got during the construction process. We really did not enjoy the lack of craftmanship in the finish wood work/trim and the power quality of the finish. When purchasing a customer quality home, one would not think that seeing nail heads and rough dings and dents in doors would be acceptable. Everything about the home is good with the exception of the final touches that you see every day, this would include the poor quality of the landscaping.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Jonestown, TX, on Nov 26, 2020

We did not dislike anything

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Nov 26, 2020

Very smooth process. Perhaps a bit more detail in weekly updates but [name removed] went to bat for us

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Nov 25, 2020

The Sales manager was very difficult to work with initially. After we got the corporate office involved the process was much smoother. [name removed] is awesome and an absolute joy to work with.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Nov 22, 2020

[name removed] has been very responsive to all of my warranty claims

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Nov 10, 2020

Salesperson should have mentioned options that where available. Salesperson was very nice. [name removed] was great. Your tile sub-contractor could be better along with your clean up crew on the house.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Jonestown, TX, on Nov 10, 2020

I liked how responsive, [name removed], our sales manager and [name removed], our construction manager were and still are. Always willing to ask questions and get back to us in a timely manner. Only dislike was the cleanliness of the house when we moved in. Cleaning crew could have done a better job of cleaning tile floors and getting tape residue off of tile floors. Better cleaning of backsplash as well.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Nov 09, 2020

[name removed] has been amazing. No complaints with him. Still unhappy the builder did not provide a barrier between our property and property owned by the county. Between the developer and [name removed], it would seem prudent to want to protect your product and community.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Nov 03, 2020

I greatly appreciated the level of professionalism and the quality of service.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Oct 30, 2020

warranty service when needed to solve problems

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Oct 02, 2020

Our sales agent did his best to accommodate our requests, and dealt with us fairly. Our superintendent did a good job of organizing the construction process, and has done an excellent job scheduling warranty work. The only negative is the construction process, and the fact that so many things are done wrong the first time, and so much time (and cost) is spent (wasted) re-doing work. But sadly, that's with any builder.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Liberty Hill, TX, on Oct 01, 2020

They do what they say.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Leander, TX, on Sep 28, 2020

[name removed] lives up to their reputation. I got a high quality home with a personal touch and was never left to guess on status or next steps. A huge shout out to all the [name removed] staff that worked together to deliver a top notch product and a positive customer experience.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Giddens Homes is the leader when it comes to building your dream home on your lot. We specialize in building estate homes in the northwest suburbs of Austin. Owner and President, James Giddens has been building in this area since 1982.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.