Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Newcastle Homes Reviews

429 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jan 2020 - May 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.3
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.2
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Birmingham, AL, on May 12, 2021

I’ve been told that [name removed] would come and begin the warranty repair/replacement about a month ago and never showed up. I have a list of repairs needed which was communicated via email with New Castle.

1.1
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on May 11, 2021

Well, recently there was a sudden change in who handles the home warranty claims. Prior to this, I was discouraged with the amount of time it took for responses and timely attention to things that needed correction and/or repair. However, since the new person, Diamond, has taken over it's been MUCH improved. Diamond is on top of things and responsive so that I at least know where things stand and regular updates. She mentioned she is training someone to take over that role, but if they're even half as efficient as Diamond then it'll be in good hands.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on May 10, 2021

Warranty service has been extremely reliable with a great response time.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on May 07, 2021

[name removed] build

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Alabaster, AL, on May 07, 2021

Honestly, at the beginning I would have said 100% yes, but now I would not recommend due to the service that we have received and the lack there of care. I feel that we are a number and the urgency is just not there. I have also seen many short cuts & details that are lacking.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on May 06, 2021

1. When we signed our contract 8/20/2020, we were initially told that there was "no reason that we could not be in our home by Christmas, January at the absolute latest". We did not close until 3/30/2021. A better communication plan and up-front honesty would have been better than broken promises. 2. We were told that we could not choose an exterior color of white due to the home across from us in the cul-de-sac that had already chosen white. They further explained, in the design center, that the same color could not be next door or across from another of the same color. We selected gray as our backup color. The house right next door (Lot 510) to us is now gray. There are also 2 houses in the cul-de-sac (Lot 512 & lot Lot 516) that are the exact same color navy blue. This appeared to us as a double standard. 3. The information provided to us about the lot that we purchased did not include any specs for the berm. We paid $2,500 for the larger lot, but over 1/3 of the lot was occupied by the berm and was not disclosed to us. We paid an additional $7,200 to have them perform additional dirt work to move the berm back so that we could have somewhat of a back yard. We still do not have full access to the .334 acres that we thought we were getting. This should have been disclosed from the beginning. 4. I need further clarification as to if the area behind the berm is common area maintenance or if I am responsible for all of the overgrown weeds, bushes, shrubs, etc. If it is my responsibility, why was it not communicated to me up-front when we chose this lot. This area has large rodents and could potentially have snakes due to the overgrown nature of this area. 5. On the day of closing, we were told by [name removed] that there was a mix-up in communication from the office to the field and that they did not realize that our home was supposed to close on Tuesday (3/30/2021), they thought there was an additional day to have it cleaned and other things to be finished on the house. There were numerous items left unfinished including: the trim on the fireplace was not complete, the weather stripping on the back door was missing, the hand-rail banister was not hung, the mud stains in the carpet (most of them are still there), the chip in the master bathroom sink (still waiting to be corrected), the GIANT crack in the concrete in front of the driveway (this was due to the company that poured the driveway and it still has not been fixed. If this is not corrected, come winter the large gap will fill with water, freeze, and expand the large opening. This can cause a flat tire for any vehicles that enter our property and is a big deal.), a broken globe in the dining room lighting (still waiting to be replaced), the siding by the front door was not correctly installed, the siding trim above one of the bedrooms is tucked under the gutter and has not been cut (still waiting on this as well), there wasn't an exterior GFIC outlet below the meter, no CAT5 cable had been run into the house (both were requirements from Windstream in order to have internet connected and had already been done on 6 other houses). During our walk, we told the current builder ([name removed]) that the electrical outdoor outlets should be one in the front (above the garage) and one in the back (above the great room). He assured us that he would make sure it was correct. The two upgraded exterior outlets are both in the front and this was never addressed. 6. Our landscaping tree was not anchored and the wind had warped the tree (sapling). I had to purchase my own anchors to correct it. Other new build houses (phase 6) had their trees anchored. 7. Despite all of our issues, [name removed] has worked very hard to help us and we are EXTREAMLY grateful for his help. He has assured us that he is still working on the other items that have not been completed.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on May 05, 2021

The HOA is extremely slow with responses. We submitted a request for a fence and the HOA took several weeks to get back to us and approve it. We are getting a pool now and the HOA is once again not responding to our request. They are terrible.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on May 04, 2021

Nothing

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Pelham, AL, on Apr 30, 2021

Purchasing my home went smoothly. [name removed] was amazing and made sure all was complete and done. Some of the subcontractors who came back after I moved in to fix some items did not follow back through to make sure all was going well.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Apr 24, 2021

It has taken some time to get repairs completed but I'm a patient person. It's getting handled thanks to Mr. [name removed]

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Alabaster, AL, on Apr 23, 2021

The warranty service and customer care experience have been wonderful!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Alabaster, AL, on Apr 22, 2021

Land permit, along with gas and electronic were unnecessarily delayed. We were told the hold up was not with new castle but after cross checking everything, all delays were new castles fault. Random. Trash, beer bottles, and tobacco spit left around property during construction.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Apr 21, 2021

We absolutely love our home and the entire building experience. It was fantastic from start to finish. The only complaint we have are the drainage issues on the sides of the house. Water pools and stays stagnant a good bit for days after a rain or sprinkler system running, making it a hotbed for mosquitoes as well as a mud pit. Currently there just isn't anywhere for the water to drain based on there not being a grade. I've brought this up a few times but continue to be told that it's fine and that I shouldn't worry. I've heard of 3 other homeowners have the same complaint so it doesn't feel like it's just us. It's something we're trying not to be difficult about as we've loved working with Newcastle but this seems to be something that Newcastle has had a lot of pushback on. We totally understand this requires some additional work so we're trying to be empathetic.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Apr 20, 2021

I like the excellent customer service and immediate resolution.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Apr 20, 2021

The response time when requesting warranty service is a little slow, but my needs have been met once the request is answered.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Apr 19, 2021

Everything was fine

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Apr 19, 2021

The warranty service has been less than stellar. The person that was supposed to come fix our shower door and back door lives 5 houses down from me, and can’t seem to find the time in his schedule to do his job.

2.2
Verified Homeowner
Pelham, AL, on Apr 19, 2021

Sales staff & superintendent were all phenomenal.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Apr 18, 2021

The current builder at the time, [name removed], promised us we would be closed by Jan 15. We ended up closing on Mar 12. I think it was a blessing that he was moved from the neighborhood or we would probably still not be moved in. [name removed], who took over, has been a blessing in so many ways!!

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Alabaster, AL, on Apr 18, 2021

My garden tub broke after a month of living in my home. The warranty with new castle didn't cover this issue. Now I'm having to deal with the distributor and manufacturer and they aren't going to fix the issue. I think that's ridiculous considering it happened a month after living in the home. Also, I had issues with my air conditioning unit as well. [name removed] and [name removed]'s came out and didn't diagnose the issue correctly and I had to pay a company to come out and find there was a pin hole leak in the copper resulting in freon leaking.

1.6
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

At Newcastle Homes we strive to make a difference in the lives of our clients by developing personal relationships with our homebuyers and building carefully crafted homes in thoughtfully planned communities. We approach each home and community with a discerning vision, ensuring we select locations and cutting edge home designs that fit our homebuyers’ lifestyles.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.