Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Newcastle Homes Reviews

265 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jan 2020 - Nov 2020

Overall Satisfaction

4.3
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.3
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Pelham, AL, on Nov 24, 2020

At times the responses may be slower. [name removed] does a super job of scheduling and following up.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Trussville, AL, on Nov 23, 2020

Water constantly leaking Outside from a/c unit and not properly diverted to drainage ditch. Was told by superintendent that Newcastle would not fix. Two kitchen drawers will not keep track, and kitchen sink has recently started leaking.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Alabaster, AL, on Nov 20, 2020

It takes longer than it should to get warranty requests filled. The contractors/ supervisors have failed to show when promised. I was not told the truth about an issue with my roof prior to closing.

1.4
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Nov 18, 2020

Poor paint job on walls and trim. Asked to have it fixed before closing. Painters did poor job fixing. Still have brown showing through on some trim. Have had warranty issues ongoing since June or July. It's kind of expected as houses go up quick, but for $300k+, should not have sloppy jobs done.

2.6
Verified Homeowner
Alabaster, AL, on Nov 17, 2020

So far I have not had many issues and if I have they have mostly been small issues that Newcastle has resolved.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Nov 13, 2020

Everyone is friendly and accommodating.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Nov 12, 2020

Communication was very well done. We always knew what to expect.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Nov 11, 2020

This has truly been one of the worst customer service experiences of my life. I shall say that New Castle has Piss Poor Customer Service or it s better yet none existent when it comes to following through with homeowners. November 9, 2020 I saw [name removed] at one of the houses and asked him if there was any possibility that pressure tests on the two houses being built would have something to do with my plumbing because I started smelling a sulfur smell this morning from my bathroom when I woke up and he said no. Around 7:30pm my toilet started gurgling really bad. This has been maybe two other times within the last couple of days. The toilet backed up and I tried to plunger it and it would not go down. Upon plungering the toilet, feces started to come up in my tub. I called the emergency line at 7:48pm and spoke to [name removed] and informed him of what happened and he said, "Oh Lord, let me call someone for you right now". I never heard from [name removed] again so I called back at 9:59pm, but did not receive an answer. Feces was now in my shower as well. November 10, 2020 I called the emergency line again at 08:10am and did not get an answer. I called [name removed] and she said she would call to the office for me. When I called her back because I had not received a phone call from anyone, she asked me if I had submitted a warranty and I had not. 10:21submitted warranty 10:45 received an email from [name removed] saying that the warranty had been received an saying that she had emailed the plumbers to see how soon they can come out! I had a plumber come out at 1:30 after not hearing anything from Newcastle for basically 8 hours last night and again 3 hours today. This is piss poor customer service. Who knew that owning a brand new house would be so difficult. I have to choose the type of toilet paper I use because the plumber said that the toilets in the house are so cheap and doesn't do a great job at moving toilet paper. He also asked me to take him to the garage to show him where the emergency shut off was located and I told him that it wasn't in the garage, but in the pantry. He said that the access door should not be located in the pantry, but in the garage next to the toilet cleanout. Here is it again, I asked [name removed] when this house was being built why was the door to the emergency water shut off not located in the garage like in the two Norwood plans that I had visited and he said that in the pantry was where the inspectors told them to place it. My neighbors two doors down have the door in their pantry as well. However, [name removed] also told me that the only way I can get the door put in the garage was to have the concrete in my garage floor ripped up. Wow, the plumber just that a door just needs to be placed in the garage. However, the so called inspectors are just doing whatever, because now the [name removed] located across from the model home now has the access door in the garage again. I did not receive a phone call from your office at all today regarding the plumbing issue, but [name removed] pulls up and speaks to the plumber whom I hired because I was tired of not hearing from your company. The same plumber that [name removed] or someone from the main office called as well, but still no one called me. I don't care what was going on I deserved a phone call to have someone come out and check to see what was going on. Even if a plumber were to say that this was caused by my house and I would have to pay for it. Your employees didn't know what was going on and decided to let feces fester in my house for 18 hours which is UNSAT. Your company didn't follow through, but I am not surprised, because they don't follow through on anything unless you constantly contact them. The only persons that I have not had issues following through have been [name removed] and [name removed]. Here it is months later and I still have not had anyone fix my wall on the stairs to correct it and paint it. Nor has the moulding on door to the linen closet been fixed and the ceiling has not been painted around the smoke detector where the water leaked from the cracked tub that was installed. A worker came over to assess the items that needed to be painted, said he would send his guys back after lunch and that has been over a month ago and no one has been back. I have called to the office and left messages for [name removed] to give me a call and nothing. The water is still pooling on the side of my house where the air conditioning condensation line drains even after gravel was placed there. I told [name removed] and he said that basically all that can be done is to place a PVC pipe there to drain onto the driveway which will cause my driveway to turn green from constant water flowing onto it. It is a constant mud pit over there. Once again, if you something is flawed with your design process, fix it before it becomes an issue. If a French drain can stop this from occurring at buyers homes, fix it. Once you have spent $350K on a house, who wants to go spend more money on things that should already been rectified in design and planning. Your company does not follow through with anything on it's own. Another thing, please have your workers pick up trash daily. It is very frustrating to have to constantly go outside and have to clean up trash that has flown in my yard from your workers/contractors. Your building houses and the area looks like a landfill from trash being strewn about everywhere.

1.8
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Nov 07, 2020

[name removed] kept us in the loop the whole time, that was the best part. She helped assist even in the most difficult times

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Pelham, AL, on Nov 06, 2020

[name removed] was a pleasure to work with. Brighton was very helpful. I have sold other Newcastle properties over the years and every time was a positive experience.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Nov 04, 2020

[name removed] impressed with my floor color. It’s not what I would have chosen. It shows everything. There are a few areas that don’t feel like they are clued down good not sure how long it will last. I feel the garage doors are very cheap. I have had several issues with it and it still doesn’t sounds really smooth. I am assuming it can’t get quieter.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Oct 31, 2020

Love my house. Still waiting on a few things to be fixed from final walk through

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Oct 31, 2020

Like quick response. Dislike that photos cannot be added to request, you have to send photos via email.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Mccalla, AL, on Oct 31, 2020

I had really decent experience. Over all no complaints. I did not like the fact that my paperwork wasn't correct and had to be redone twice. I like my home and look forward to continue to settle in .

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Oct 30, 2020

I liked the scheduled time was great The decision process for the design were perfect not too much information. I liked the fact that alot of standards gor new castle eere upgrades for harris and doyle.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Oct 30, 2020

Horrible didn’t come fix the window just sent a new one with missing part. Asked again and the still didn’t get any where had to watch a YouTube video to remove parts from the old one and do it my self. Put in drainage issues in year and got no where had to have outside company put in a French drain. The didn’t clean out the drain ditch in the back and I had to do it myself because HOA told me it’s my property I have to maintain it and it wasn’t in a reasonable state when I closed.

0.7
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Oct 30, 2020

We were not kept up on communication on the different building stages. When we brought an issue to their attention, they said it was an unfinished product. It was as though the subs were just building and no one was managing the process. Also, on several occasions subs were drinking alcohol at the job site.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Alabaster, AL, on Oct 29, 2020

No complaints, has always been responsive.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Oct 25, 2020

No complaints

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Oct 24, 2020

We were promised things during the construction of our home and at closing. Now that we have closed on the home and there are things that are not right, we are told that there is nothing Newcastle will do to remedy the problem (other than giving us the contact information to have it done ourselves and paid for ourselves). Throughout the process, there have been issues and problems...Different people at Newcastle always point the finger and blame someone else. Nobody ever takes ownership of the issue and that Newcastle is at fault. We have been very disappointed and cannot recommend Newcastle homes to anyone, unfortunately.

2.3
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

At Newcastle Homes we strive to make a difference in the lives of our clients by developing personal relationships with our homebuyers and building carefully crafted homes in thoughtfully planned communities. We approach each home and community with a discerning vision, ensuring we select locations and cutting edge home designs that fit our homebuyers’ lifestyles.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.