Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Newcastle Homes Reviews

534 Homeowner Reviews Completed Dec 2020 - Jun 2022

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.0
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Helena, AL, on Jun 19, 2022

It was a great process and the home is beautiful. The only issue we had was some delays due to supply chain issues that caused us to have to wait longer than expected to get into our home and created some scheduling problems for us.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Jun 17, 2022

Warranty service has been pretty good so far.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Jun 14, 2022

I do not like having to take pictures of items that i have found needing help. i would rather a person come to the house so that i can show them.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Leeds, AL, on Jun 12, 2022

Everything went very smoothly and all requests were completed in a timely manner. Very impressed! [name removed] and [name removed] are amazing agents too! Very helpful and knowledgeable and very sweet!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Jun 10, 2022

We were excited to build our first home. The contract process and design center was smooth. But after those processes it went down hill. It honestly made us wish we never did any upgrades at all due to about 9 issues came up. For example the level 1 options would be put in then we would have to remind the general contractor that we had paid for an upgrades. So they would have to tear out then redue multiple things. Mistakes were made and not apologized for and the general contractor specifically stated we should not expect it to look like how it was presented in the design center. [name removed] that we basically have to accept it. We were advise at the design center of shortages may cause us to not have our choices but they did not say anything that we had to accept lack of quality of work and be disrespected. It made me wish we never bought new construction. All I can see is band aids throughout the house and stress it has caused. We still have a few things that still need to be completed from our closing date which are aesthetic but it's been a month and still not completed. We finally moved in a few weeks from closing and found out there was a leak due to our irrigation was not installed properly and a water pipe connected to our Sewer had broken in half due to machinery going over it. We put in warranty request which the vendors came out promptly and fixed the issue. But now we are stuck with a large water/ Sewer bill because water had leaked since before we closed till when we moved in. We have contacted the warranty department multiple times with no response from them it's been well over a week. The amount of water that leaked was well over 16k gallons of water.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Jun 09, 2022

We've been in our home for almost six months. We've been waiting on several issues to be resolved. We do understand that [name removed], labor shortages and the economy has had an impact on your ability to address these issues punctually. But, we do expect these issues to be addressed and corrected.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Riverside, AL, on Jun 09, 2022

Guys, the things I am seeing with the roof are not something a new home should be experiencing. We should have not closed on this home until all repairs were completed. If there was someone in charge of ensuring that the construction was completed who was let go then extra due diligence should have been taken in order to ensure a quality experience for the client. My experience has been awful. I don't think that one person can correct the wrong of many. I smell mildew in my home, not acceptable.

2.0
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Jun 09, 2022

They are difficult to work with. It is very hard to get them to come out and deal with problems

2.7
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Jun 07, 2022

LOVED THE COMMUNICATION NEWCASTLE PROVIDED.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Jun 07, 2022

The real estate broker was great! [name removed] [name removed] The Sheetrock finisher is not very good. The seams show through all through the house and some walls were crooked. We were told we had windstream internet service and it has not been installed. Due to cell service being slow in the area; not having internet had been a huge dissatisfaction. Windstream technician said they should have been contacted at the same time the power and gas companies were contacted . Our granite was an upgrade; but, they did not professionally seal it before installing. The house is nice; but, the things I listed above downgrades our opinion of our experience.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Leeds, AL, on Jun 06, 2022

The entrance to our driveway was too narrow and we paid concrete company to widen it on both sides. Homes in our neighborhood started after we moved into our home have driveways that have been widened compared to how ours was built. I believe Newcastle should have done the concrete for us at no charge since it is obvious they recognized the problem and.corrected it for the newer homes.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Leeds, AL, on Jun 06, 2022

Everything was great except one flaw in the concrete that was resurfaced. So not perfect but still incredibly delighted.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Leeds, AL, on Jun 05, 2022

Real estate reps and construction reps have responded very quickly whenever we reach out to them with questions. Very helpful and considerate. Have not needed warranty service yet.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Moody, AL, on Jun 02, 2022

The quality is excellent. Few problems

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Jun 01, 2022

[name removed] did a good job.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on May 30, 2022

My husband and I have reached out about several things multiple times and it takes weeks to hear back. We both work outside of the home so it’s difficult to be home for things to get fixed that should have been done months ago.

2.3
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on May 29, 2022

We like [name removed].

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Riverside, AL, on May 29, 2022

Contract was made, and work was done adequately soon after to finish the house it self. We purchased the home over 1 month ago and we are still having landscaping issues specifically water retention and sod not taking root. One area of our back yard has been redone 3 times to which now it appears suitable work done by the new company but another area is still an issue with very poor communication between us and the warranty / builder.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Leeds, AL, on May 29, 2022

Construction delay from the original finish/ move in date.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on May 26, 2022

The process was simple ans straightforward

4.9
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

At Newcastle Homes we strive to make a difference in the lives of our clients by developing personal relationships with our homebuyers and building carefully crafted homes in thoughtfully planned communities. We approach each home and community with a discerning vision, ensuring we select locations and cutting edge home designs that fit our homebuyers’ lifestyles.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.