Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Newcastle Homes Reviews

527 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jul 2020 - Jan 2022

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.0
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Springville, AL, on Jan 20, 2022

I had good experiences with the real estate agents and most builders. I am very concerned with the condition of my siding, especially on the fireplace side. It is rippling and is getting worse. I have reported this before. Also, a man came out January 10th to repair a piece of flooring in the kitchen but did have the right match. He called later that day and said he found a match in the warehouse and would be out [name removed], the 14th, and never came or called. His name is [name removed].

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Jan 16, 2022

Other than supply issues the experience was fine.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Moody, AL, on Jan 15, 2022

Everything has been great so far. We have been in our home roughly 5 months now.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Leeds, AL, on Jan 14, 2022

The entire process was incredible. This is our first home, so we had few expectations, but the entire New Castle team from design to building was great. No issues from us.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Moody, AL, on Jan 14, 2022

The quality of the craftsmanship from the foundation to the ceiling is poor. From the water penetrating the garage to the windows being hard to open, flawed paint(even after paying for the upgrade), drainage issues, concrete driveway has standing water. Lights flicker constantly and fall out of the ceiling. Doors have gaps. Damaged to hardwood floors from island repair work. 2nd bath still has large gap between vanity and wall. Mold issues.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Pelham, AL, on Jan 14, 2022

Overall was a good experience. There were some missing details but those were taking care by [name removed].

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Jan 13, 2022

A little slow in responding to some issues

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Leeds, AL, on Jan 13, 2022

I have submitted warranty requests, receive email and phone call from warranty contact person, but requests have not yet been acted on although they have been noted and recognized.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Leeds, AL, on Jan 12, 2022

Paint and concrete is awful.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Jan 07, 2022

My biggest concern is the quality of workmanship in the home. I truly worry that in a few years major problems will occur and it will be at the fault of poor contractors and no quality control oversight. Ultimately the responsibility of New Castle regardless of who actually performed the work, as you are the GM and builder.

2.6
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Jan 02, 2022

We filled out a survey not long after closing on the house in July. We then listed the problems that were present. You fired the builder but have never sent anyone else out to check on the issues. Newcastle is all about promoting their "newest phase" but you don't address the issues with the houses that have already been closed on. Our driveway is literally disintegrating, with rocks and mud coming up through the holes. This was one of our major concerns right up front but no one has come out to address the issue. We upgraded our fireplace with a brick hearth. The quality is inferior. Sand continues to come off of the bricks. A reputable company would care about the craftmanship in their homes being built and the quality of the products used, AND would listen to the homeowners' concerns when problems arise. Sending a survey doesn't accomplish anything if you aren't going to send people out to rectify the problems.

0.5
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Jan 02, 2022

The builder ([name removed]) & agent team ([name removed] & [name removed] - KW Vestavia) were fabulous to work with! Even when hiccups happened, they took ownership and helped us grow through it all and turn it around! We couldn’t be happier with our overall experience!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Dec 30, 2021

I was supposed to close September 11, sold my house in Florida then was unable to close. Had to put my things in storage and live with a friend (thank goodness) until the house was finished.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Dec 29, 2021

I have been waiting for a couple of months now for someone to come look at the work that still needs done on my house. Things were more prompt when I first moved in and had an issue but it has taken a long time to address my recent concerns.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Helena, AL, on Dec 28, 2021

Commitments not met that ended up costing me a lot of money. [name removed] lighting was cheep and the upgrade packages were not what I liked. [name removed] enough crown molding for the cost of the house. No crown molding around the windows.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Springville, AL, on Dec 25, 2021

To start off with good news, this will be our first and last Newcastle home. Every week, I find more and more issues with this house. Things like cracks in the sheet rock, nails coming up from the walls and floor, humidity levels very high only in certain rooms, studs not 16 apart, nails sticking up from out of the como plank, wooden stairs not stained to match the como plank, several heat bubbles in the vinyl siding, a crack in the upstairs bathtub,, and several other issues. The building was obviously sloppy even though it took several months more than was originally projected. Some of these issues have been brought up to Newcastle and the builder, but I realize that the head builder was let go a few months ago. It has honestly gotten to the point of so many issues that I forget or don’t have time to even bring them up. It is definitely more trouble than it’s worth. Empty promises seem to be a main theme across the board, and those that make these promises are somehow allowed to remain working for Newcastle even though several customers are unhappy with them. I have shared with so many people about how unhappy we are with Newcastle, and I can only hope that this house will still be able to sell due to the reputation. On another note, I have tried twice to write a Google review for Newcastle, but it keeps getting deleted. Things must be pretty bad since reviews have to be monitored and true low reviews removed to protect the reputation of the company. The few low reviews that were still on Google were very relatable, and we have many of the same issues as several other customers seem to have. Overall, I am and have always been very displeased with Newcastle as a whole. I do not want to call out anyone in particular, because that never seemed to do any good anyways. Instead, I will be eagerly counting down the days until moving day.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Bessemer, AL, on Dec 21, 2021

Being able to see the progress from start to finish and if I ever had any questions or concerns they were immediately answered.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Moody, AL, on Dec 21, 2021

[name removed], our agent, took excellent care of us from contract to our move in. [name removed] treated us like family. She is a 10++++ Agent and our new friend. Thank you [name removed]. Brighton was introduced to us by [name removed] as our builder. Brighton with [name removed] explained the stages of the building process and [name removed] and I new we picked the right agent and builder. Brighton had to take time off to recover from a injury, which [name removed] and I are praying for a complete healing for you Brighton. [name removed] took over as our builder. Between [name removed] and [name removed] they kept us apprised of every step of the building of our house. [name removed] and I are so thankful for both of you. [name removed] our New Castle Designer [name removed], thank you for your patients and help in matching the colors, patterns and designs for the perfect backsplash tile and bathroom tiles. Our New Castle home is fabulous. [name removed] and [name removed], thank you for your patients and understanding, while I took three hours to complete the walk through. The only problem during this whole building process has been the wait on back orders of the replacement of broken windows and back orders of our tile. I do not blame New Castle, as the suppliers had a difficult time getting their supplies off ships sitting in harbors. [name removed] and I hope more people will choose [name removed] as their agent and New Castle to build their dream home.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Moody, AL, on Dec 18, 2021

[name removed] was amazing on keeping us informed and answering all our questions from start to finish!

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Birmingham, AL, on Dec 17, 2021

I cannot think of anything! Our home was built while we were getting things ready to move from Ohio. There were a couple of meetings where we had to come down to see how things were going and sign off on things. But, the design center experience was terrific. We may have had 2 design changes for $250 each because of misunderstanding on our part. Newcastle built my wife's dream home! The floor plan is so convenient and we are extremely pleased with every update. Truly, the experience could not have been better!

4.4
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

At Newcastle Homes we strive to make a difference in the lives of our clients by developing personal relationships with our homebuyers and building carefully crafted homes in thoughtfully planned communities. We approach each home and community with a discerning vision, ensuring we select locations and cutting edge home designs that fit our homebuyers’ lifestyles.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.