Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Century Communities Reviews

12,501 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2021 - Sep 2022

Overall Satisfaction

4.3
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.1
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Location Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments From All Locations
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Tumwater, WA, on Sep 27, 2022

When I got the key, you guys said anything in the house that without our fail will be warranty. Now, the brace is looking bad and we never touch or know how it happened and you guys said it’s not under warranty. That’s make us feel like somehow you just try to deny to fix it by saying it’s not under warranty and of course you know what happened to some other houses in the neighbor and something happened to the house after only a year, it’s making us feel unsafe, and the quality of the work or the material is not good as the value of the house. Thank you!

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Elizabeth, CO, on Sep 27, 2022

Wish they were a bit more transparent with how steep of a slope I had into the backyard. Makes landscaping quite difficult. Also the lack of stairs off the back patio. Felt like they could have filled in more dirt. As in the maximum amount of a patio from the ground WITHOUT stairs was met, by code. But not at all convenience

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Surprise, AZ, on Sep 27, 2022

We moved in to multiple things that were still not fixed even after pointing them out at our initial and final Walkthrough. After 1 week of being in the house these things still are not done nor have we gotten any word of when they will be.

1.6
Verified Homeowner
Fulshear, TX, on Sep 27, 2022

We liked the floor plan, and the incentives which came with the purchase of the home. The dislikes are the lack of communication, poor follow up, walk through of the home was totally unsatisfactory. No control of sub-contractors, for example the homes are left open for such a long time with the doors and windows left open, air condition on at a low temperature and lights left on night and day. The irrigation systems are scheduled to water for long periods of time and the yards are saturated. During the construction the homes are open to all weather elements which allow many insects to migrate into the our homes which in turn has created extermination issues. The home was not cleaned, the painters left over spray all over the floors, bathroom light fixtures, shower tile, paint on the carpet, etc. There is no quality control upon completing two final walks for the make ready punch list which was provided by the future home owners (us). Instead of the Century Community representative and warranty representative contacting us, we had to contact the them. Then we were responsible for sending photos of the items. The warrant representative after our walk never returned. Only promised to be available. When housekeeping was requested to return and clean, floors, tubs, counters, carpet, etc. the only cleaning equipment use was a vacuum, broom, mop and 5 gallon bucket, only water was used to clean with no cleaning solutions or products.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Fairburn, GA, on Sep 27, 2022

They were really great and they help me understand everything pretty good

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Fairburn, GA, on Sep 27, 2022

Nothing to dislike, everything was awesome

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Surprise, AZ, on Sep 27, 2022

Purchase experience was fine, although I disagreed with the policy that we were NOT allowed to use an outside lender without a pre-approval through the builders lender. That does not make an ounce of sense. In the end we had to agree to an exorbitant earnest deposit to be able to use our lender (which by the way was the difference between getting approved not getting approved)

3.7
Verified Homeowner
North Las Vegas, NV, on Sep 27, 2022

[name removed] even 1 year my front door latch and the hole is not aligned.

3.5
Verified Homeowner
Dallas, GA, on Sep 27, 2022

Overall it was a very positive experience. Having purchased a model home, ours was a "As is" purchase. Your agent [name removed] was an absolute pleasure to work with. She did everything possible to help us secure the purchase once the model became available, promptly answering many questions along the way. [name removed] has been tremendously helpful as well. He has addressed and resolved many issues and concerns that arose after our inspection. I would say that both he and [name removed] went far above and beyond our expectations. The only reason I have given Century a 9 instead of a 10 is that it seems in the original construction there were a couple things that could or should have been done better. Some of the windows are not straight, in fact one is so crooked it cannot be locked. It also feels as if there is no padding under the carpet. There are many bumps that you done notice until you walk around barefoot.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Castle Pines, CO, on Sep 27, 2022

Up until signing the contract it was good. Horrible experience with builder, sales team. They were not communicating the process with customers. Pushed closing dates for 3 - 4 months and having lots of open issues, still waiting for open items to complete. It was frustrating experience. I don't refer any of my family and friends to Century communities.

2.7
Verified Homeowner
West Jordan, UT, on Sep 26, 2022

I thought it was weird that they said it was a smart home but didn’t give us smart lights or smart garage. Just a smart front door lock. Also wish there would have been a few things I could choose from. Talking to others they were able to make changes but anytime I asked I was told no.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Chino, CA, on Sep 26, 2022

[name removed] was great! [name removed] lending process was not smooth nor efficient. [name removed] is great help getting the home flawless and not only meets expectations but goes the extras mile time and time again.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
North Las Vegas, NV, on Sep 26, 2022

The home quality is atrocious. There are many defects as if the house was built quickly, however the house was finished 3 months past the date I was told. I have sent in many requests for repairs. Only one of them have been fixed. I was told the screen door would be in two weeks after moving in, one year later I still do not have one. I was told they are on “back order”. A screen door is not a scarce commodity, which leads me to believe I am being lied to on top of not having my promises fulfilled. No person from century homes has even attempted to communicate with me unless I escalate the problem

1.4
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Sep 26, 2022

Everything went every well

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Jarrell, TX, on Sep 26, 2022

I love my home and the issues that did come up have been quickly addressed or are being handled.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Fresno, CA, on Sep 26, 2022

Sales personnel horrible customer service. Never could count on them to get any warranty issues resolved. [name removed] of the construction managers were unreliable and I had to put in so much effort to get them to call me back. The only person that deserves any credit is [name removed], she helped take care of my warranty needs. Everyone else is horrible

0.5
Verified Homeowner
Murfreesboro, TN, on Sep 26, 2022

Professionalism and commitment

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Chowchilla, CA, on Sep 26, 2022

Nothing yet

5.0
Verified Homeowner
American Fork, UT, on Sep 25, 2022

Overall, we know this will be a great community to live in, however we had a very unfortunate move-in experience with Century Communities. Century Communities did not meet their own set move-in date and closing date for our purchase. We were unexpectedly pushed back with no warning after we signed closing docs. Leaving us without a home for about a week. Additionally, after moving into the home, within less than a week our first floor got flooded with sewer water because Century Communities excavation team/plumbers used a crushed pipe for our lot. One month later after move-in all the damaged flooring has yet to be repaired. We are very saddened this has been our experience. We expected more from Century Communities. In addition to the above issues, we have not been impressed by the communication of the representatives who are meant to help us through the process. We continuously need to follow-up in order to get things moving for repairs. Our review is honest, and we hope this feedback will help future buyers with their move-in experience.

2.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Sep 25, 2022

I have been very satisfied with my experience.

4.5
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Top 10 U.S. Homebuilder and in 2017 was ranked 26th among the Fortune 100 Fastest-Growing Companies.

At Century Communities, we know it takes hammers and nails to build a house but it also takes passion, vision, integrity and quality to create YOUR home. Everything we do, from selecting locations, designing the architecture and integrating everyday efficiencies into our homes, reflects our deepest consideration and respect for our customers. Century Communities does more than build beautiful homes. We work side by side with people each and every day to help them achieve their goals and fulfill their dreams.

Our homes are where memories are made, families are raised and stories unfold. Our mission is to create thriving, enduring neighborhoods by building new homes with lasting livability. Visit one of our communities today and let us help you achieve your dream of finding the right home.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.