Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Century Communities Reviews

11,775 Homeowner Reviews Completed Aug 2021 - Feb 2023

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.0
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Location Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments From All Locations
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Seattle, WA, on Feb 06, 2023

Professional experience

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Surprise, AZ, on Feb 06, 2023

Absolutely hands down this was the most stressful and worst experience of my life. A time that is supposed to be fun and exciting. This builder and its staff and communication is horrific.

0.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Feb 06, 2023

Very accommodating.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Charlotte, NC, on Feb 06, 2023

All the rooms and structures are good. Only issue with backyard and doors

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Surprise, AZ, on Feb 06, 2023

The communication was non existent and even though my move in date kept getting pushed, the house got rushed and had major quality issues. We did not have a completed bathroom for 10 month (no vanity, sinks, mirror and more). I do say the only thing good about century now is the construction coordinator [name removed]. She’s has helped ensure my warranty claims and house get completed in a timely manner as she walked into a bunch of issues that were lingering. Everything else is absolute garbage and I will never buy another home through them.

1.6
Verified Homeowner
Highlands Ranch, CO, on Feb 06, 2023

The closing experience, the maintenance and warranty.

2.7
Verified Homeowner
Surprise, AZ, on Feb 06, 2023

My move in date kept getting pushed further and further back which is understandable with current market situations, but at the same time, my house got rushed and multiple things were missed. There was no communication between any superintendents and managers and at the end of it, I would never buy from century again. My biggest complaint is we had paid for white cabinets throughout the house but one day grey cabinets were delivered. I reached out and the construction manager at the time said there was nothing they could do. So now we are stuck with grey cabinets and multiple things not done

0.5
Verified Homeowner
Surprise, AZ, on Feb 06, 2023

Lack of communication and poor response in first 10 months. Somewhat better now. Use of low-quality materials like flooring. Careless installations, I:e roof has many cracked or chipped tiles. Poor perimeter maintenance of weeds, trash, and dead parkway plants.

1.5
Verified Homeowner
Montgomery, TX, on Feb 06, 2023

[name removed] was really helpful along the process

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Dallas, GA, on Feb 06, 2023

I loved how simple the process was from start to closing. Everyone from Century was knowledgeable and highly helpful.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Las Vegas, NV, on Feb 06, 2023

It took way to long to get things fixed

3.5
Verified Homeowner
Lebanon, TN, on Feb 06, 2023

I loved how nice everyone was and how helpful everyone was

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Parker, CO, on Feb 05, 2023

Lots of issues

2.5
Verified Homeowner
Highlands Ranch, CO, on Feb 05, 2023

The length of time it took to complete the house. Delays effectively cost me over 700k due to the increase in interest rates. Being told the house would be completed by July/August and then having five separate closing dates due dragging on from November to the end of December… being rushed at every turn by [name removed] to show pre-approval after pre-approval running hard credit pulls almost every 45-60 days when the final completion date wasn’t even December really made this process less than optimal. On top of that - my house is STILL incomplete because Century corporate rushed closings to try and get everything before the end of the year. It’s a completely shoddy way to operate and if it weren’t for your amazing sales and construction coordinator ([name removed] and [name removed]) I would have been tempted to walk away.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Aurora, CO, on Feb 05, 2023

Our experience with Century has been like working with two different companies. The floor plan design and selected materials for finishes (the counters, windows, the bathtub, light fixtures, etc.) are all high quality and exactly what we were hoping to find in a home. The execution of building the home, however, was riddled with problems. We moved in with walls that were not straight, areas of poorly applied texture in every room of the house, crooked paint lines, exposed sub-floor, and while not critical in the long term, it was highly disappointing to move into a house that had dirty bathrooms and trash left in the yard (we were told the laborers were done for the week and would be back to deal with the trash next week). This and other similar issues that we encountered were unexpected based on what we assumed to be Century's level of quality. A particularly concerning issue was an incorrectly installed furnace that was not able to receive a properly fitted air filter and also had a known non functional blower motor. The tech advised us that they knew about the issue but due to the installation they didn't think they could replace it. Twenty days after move in they returned and were able to adjust the blower motor housing to make the furnace operational but advised us "this will be a nightmare, we will have to remove your door frame to remove parts when this fails". Overall I would like to convey that the experience we felt in the final two week push was that each trade had a "that's not my problem mentality". Drywall would blame paint, paint would blame drywall, texture would blame the tile guy, finish carpentry would try to put baseboard around anything no matter how obvious the mistake was they were trying to cover up. In the end we felt like we had to be hyper vigilant and micromanaging to ensure that problems were being addressed because otherwise nobody else was advocating for us.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Casa Grande, AZ, on Feb 05, 2023

More than a month after closing and we are still waiting on significant punch-out items to be fixed. We were forced to close before it had a sink, hvac was not working and leaking, and the list goes on. I hope my view on this purchase changes based on responsiveness of warranty company

2.8
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Feb 05, 2023

The buying process was great and the customer care that [name removed] and [name removed] offer is phenomenal, but the overall build quality is subpar. The sod is beyond uneven. Cabinets unhinge, there are cracks in the sheetrock, ceiling, and the concrete already, and the fence is flimsy. The HOA also takes care of absolutely nothing and charge a lot of money just to pester people about trash cans, instead of adding some community living areas or a gate, or even a security guard. They offer nothing and are a waste of money and time.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Feb 03, 2023

Century has taken care of any issues or claims in a timely manner. I am very pleased with [name removed] and the service he has provided us.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Antioch, TN, on Feb 03, 2023

We were pushed to close early and they were not done with the house. I was unable to be in the state for closing and therefore was not able to look over the house myself. I've officially owned it for a month and am still dealing with trying to get the builders back in to finish the house.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Fresno, CA, on Feb 02, 2023

The repair process for warranty claims and empty promises. The material and craftsmanship of the home were in poor quality. Im not a construction expert but if I am able to do a better job repairing some items myself. Then Century Homes craftsmanship needs some serious reevaluation.

0.7
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Top 10 U.S. Homebuilder and in 2017 was ranked 26th among the Fortune 100 Fastest-Growing Companies.

At Century Communities, we know it takes hammers and nails to build a house but it also takes passion, vision, integrity and quality to create YOUR home. Everything we do, from selecting locations, designing the architecture and integrating everyday efficiencies into our homes, reflects our deepest consideration and respect for our customers. Century Communities does more than build beautiful homes. We work side by side with people each and every day to help them achieve their goals and fulfill their dreams.

Our homes are where memories are made, families are raised and stories unfold. Our mission is to create thriving, enduring neighborhoods by building new homes with lasting livability. Visit one of our communities today and let us help you achieve your dream of finding the right home.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.