Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Alvarez Construction Company LLC Reviews

322 Homeowner Reviews Completed Nov 2022 - May 2024

Overall Satisfaction

4.3
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.3
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Baton Rouge, LA, on May 15, 2024

One significant issue regarding a dead animal entrapped inside of the sheetrock between Bathroom 2 and the laundry room. The animal was a skunk and was discovered in the home after significant odor issues and major allergic reactions by owner resulted. A complaint was made within two weeks of moving in, but Warranty did not send someone out to address it until the 30-day walkthrough. Warranty contracted with a remediation company to ozone and spray the area and resealed it within two days. However, the issues were not resolved and presented again within two weeks. The tub was removed and at this time, it was discovered that the animal had chewed through electrical wiring, which caused breaker malfunctions for the laundry area. Over owner's repeated requests and objections, Warranty did not remove the sheetrock in favor of another ozone treatment. Sheetrock was eventually removed after second ozone treatment was unsuccessful. Tub replacement began in mid-to-late November, but the unit that was originally chosen was undersized for the cavity/design specs. After owner's complaints, a unit that was of comparable width was installed and tiling was installed as an upgrade. Principal work was completed the second week of December.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on May 15, 2024

I love my home. Cohea Jackson, my project manager, was a joy to work with and has great attention to detail. My biggest complaint is that I was told that the price of my fence would be worked into my loan so that I didn't have to come out of pocket to pay for the fence. I called twice to check on it and emailed numerous times after closing with no response.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on May 13, 2024

The face that the house shakes when the train goes by was not advertised

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on May 09, 2024

Small things not right that contractors came back and fixed timely

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on May 05, 2024

Overall, I appreciate the effort put forth by Alvarez team to assist me throughout the journey to buy a new home. Starting from purchase aggrement to design studio meeting and closing , they are very transparent and keep us infromed on every step. Patrick and Mitchell (Project Manager) has really done great job. I am specifically impressed by the after sales services from Alvarez. if we have any issue in home we just call or send an email , they always handle it very promptly. Customer experience from Sales team could have been little improved. But overall it was good experience and I would definitely recommend others to buy home from Alvarez Construction company.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Apr 30, 2024

The quality of work was good, but one potential improvement is sealing the granite countertops. Another potential improvement is making the shower height taller for safety reasons. I am 6' and have to duck underneath the metal bar when entering. The purchase was smooth and the follow-up checks are great.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Zachary, LA, on Apr 30, 2024

The process was smooth and everyone was very helpful. Also the 30 day walkthrough and others let me know they stand behind good craftsmanship

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Apr 23, 2024

Everything about the purchase was fine but I have not been contacted for my 30 day inspection. I've submitted a work order request to have the A/C balanced because it's very hot in certain rooms. It's been weeks and no one has schedule anything or followed up. The sheetrock is very thin and so it's the paint in areas.

4.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Apr 22, 2024

After the closing, it was difficult to get someone to call me back.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Apr 14, 2024

Everyone was friendly. The project manager (Cohea) and salesman (Ray) were very helpful!

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Apr 09, 2024

Everyone was very approachable throughout the process.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Apr 08, 2024

The walk throughs were very professional and helpful. I felt as if the Project Manager was on my side the entire time to try and deliver a quality product rather than just trying to get me moved in and the house sold.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Apr 06, 2024

Quality of some products is not very good.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Apr 04, 2024

Everyone was very helpful and professional.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Apr 03, 2024

Being a first time home buyer Overall process was good, if I say one thing that could have been better it’s overall communication on delivery timeline.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Feb 29, 2024

Very quick turnaround.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Feb 29, 2024

The warranty service was prompt and caring. My only complaint is the management company, and it is a big complaint. It’s all very secretive and frustrating to manage the quality of my community. That part is very sad.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Feb 29, 2024

Having a contact person onsite is helpful. We closed quickly and the week of Christmas. We received the keys, went to the home and discovered that we had an issue with the locks. This problem was resolved quickly. The person handling the inspection items was also very helpful and corrected everything on the checklist.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Feb 18, 2024

Fast, easy to contact, and responsive

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Central, LA, on Feb 07, 2024

I liked that the items we discussed were fixed. I disliked on the front end not having a contract stating that they would be fixed before we came to an agreement. Though they were all ultimately addressed, it was initially a slight concern. I disliked dealing with the registration of my products afterwards as no one seemed to know how I should go about it. I had to contact the manufacturer afterwards and send them the closing documents and other document I had to acquire from the installer.

4.3
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Alvarez Construction builds, lives and is active in Baton Rouge and surrounding areas. For more than 25 years, our family has been building homes for Louisiana residents and their families. We are committed to working closely with you from finalizing the design and personal touches to building your dream home and staying on schedule. Our family works hard to maintain the standards that have built our reputation over the years. Whether you are relocating, buying your first home, or simply in the market for a new one, our family wants to build it for you!

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.