Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Alvarez Construction Company LLC Reviews

302 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2021 - Sep 2022

Overall Satisfaction

4.0
Customers' overall satisfaction
3.5
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Denham Springs, LA, on Sep 21, 2022

Very bad

0.5
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Sep 19, 2022

Even though It took 3 months longer to complete and I had some problems with the punch list Getting corrected and the plumbing Alvarez has stepped up and taken care of the problems I had in a timely manner thank you for building me a beautiful home.. I am still waiting for my window screens and my loover to get put on and painted Along with the back of my house being painted There are some things in the house that could have been done better but overall I am very pleased with my home and we love it so again I say thank you Alvarez construction And I would definitely recommend you all to my friends and family

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Sep 05, 2022

I have had constant drainage issues with my home since the first week we moved in. I am having constant flooding of my yard in the both front and rear. I keep hearing that it will be resolved and it is not. My yard is significantly lower than the neighbors yard in the back(finally working on but not quick enough). Our front culvert is significantly shallower than the people across the street. This is causing major flooding in the front all down our side of the street. I keep hearing that the issue was going to be resolved and it is not. I am trying to give your company time to fix this problem, but it has not been taken care of. I am tired of seeing houses being built up and down the street while my problems of flooding is just sitting and not being handled. I want my problem solved now. [name removed] next week not the week after, I have spoken to many neighbors who are also dissatisfied, frustrated, and angry with the drainage issues that we have. I am trying to go through the proper channels and give you time to fix it. However, enough is enough I want my yard fixed and I don’t want to see houses being built while I’m waiting for my major issue to be resolved. A home purchase is a major decision I put faith in your company that you were going to put the care and concern into my home that you would your own and I am not seeing that. Someone messed up big with the drainage on the street and it needs to be fixed immediately.

2.0
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Aug 24, 2022

Our project manager was [name removed] for the south creek neighborhood. He was pretty much worthless. Didn’t help much, didn’t want to fix anything and rushed every meeting. I know he was let go from the company but he caused a very annoying buying process. Now that we are moved in we have noticed numerous drywall pokes, holes and scratches. The doors were installed poorly. Each door closes different and one is very difficult to close. The door handle on each door looks severely mangled like someone tried installing them with a hammer and forced them into the door frames. Overall we love the home, but the inspections were either non existent or rushed. The price point for this type of home is too high to have so many build quality issues not fixed before moving in.

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Aug 22, 2022

Lack of accessibility and honesty by the Project Manager. 63 different issues identified at pre-closing that are in different stages of being addressed. Multiple open issues still. Busted timeline by nearly 3 months

2.8
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Aug 10, 2022

There wasn't anything I particularly disliked, though during construction we did notice a few things that had to be corrected. Wrong toilets, gas line hidden in wall and not exposed, and slab issue. All of these were addressed well before the preliminary walkthrough.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Mar 22, 2022

Personal care

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Mar 22, 2022

Personal care

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Gonzales, LA, on Mar 17, 2022

There has been somewhat of a quick response on any warranty issues we’ve had. The most bothersome thing has been the quantity of things that need to be fixed.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Mar 15, 2022

[name removed] warranty service/customer service as a whole has been great. [name removed] is on top of everything I send her, and the techs have been very polite. We still haven't received our correct appliances, but the warranty department can't control that.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Mar 15, 2022

[name removed] at all!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Feb 24, 2022

People I have dealt with have been very friendly and seem to genuinely want to help to close out the remaining items due on the house. What I dislike is that it took over 3 months to start to address a lengthy punch list that we were told would be addressed prior to closing, or very soon after. 5 months post-closing the outside of my house is still unfinished (unpainted and trim that has remained unsealed/stained) and the HOA was actually going to issue a violation this month until someone pointed out why it's in it's current state. Also, some items that were on a punch list were being handled like warranty service which are not the same thing.

2.5
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

Alvarez Construction Company LLC

Feb 24, 2022

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We understand how frustrating it can be. We are going to work extra hard to make sure your list is taken care of!

Central, LA, on Feb 19, 2022

Since moving in most things I’ve had a problem with were seen about

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Jan 21, 2022

Personnel were informative, answered calls within a day and provided good information. Disliked the excessive amount of issues mostly identified prior to close. Workers were sloppy and did not complete all work. Still finding issues with painting, door framing, door knobs and areas without caulk.

2.9
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

Alvarez Construction Company LLC

Jan 21, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us do better. If you need anything please reach out to our customer care team at Customercare@alvarezconstruction.com.

Baton Rouge, LA, on Jan 20, 2022

Alvarez delivered on its promises and also followed up on issues identified and fixed them

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Jan 19, 2022

[name removed] personally meeting with me

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Jan 11, 2022

Warranty department works well once a work order is establish. Communication from project manager to customer care department is terrible and I dislike that 100%

3.3
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

Alvarez Construction Company LLC

Jan 11, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about your experience and we will make sure to let the appropriate parties know so this issue can be addressed.

Denham Springs, LA, on Jan 02, 2022

I'm experiencing issues with the house that need repair

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Central, LA, on Dec 31, 2021

There was items that were addressed prompt within the first month. There are still items that have not been addressed nor has anyone contacted me to schedule a work order to resolve them

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Dec 27, 2021

Sod was not properly installed. Finish grading was done hurriedly leaving low spots. Rear patio post not installed to bear on the concrete which caused it to crack and be replaced/re-positioned. Vinyl floor prep was evidently not done properly due to areas of the floor having lost their adhesion to the concrete.

4.5
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

Alvarez Construction Company LLC

Dec 28, 2021

We are disappointed to hear about your negative experience. We are letting the necessary parties know about this issue and they will reach out to you soon.

Builder Profile

Alvarez Construction builds, lives and is active in Baton Rouge and surrounding areas. For more than 25 years, our family has been building homes for Louisiana residents and their families. We are committed to working closely with you from finalizing the design and personal touches to building your dream home and staying on schedule. Our family works hard to maintain the standards that have built our reputation over the years. Whether you are relocating, buying your first home, or simply in the market for a new one, our family wants to build it for you!

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.