Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Alvarez Construction Company LLC Reviews

223 Homeowner Reviews Completed Aug 2021 - Feb 2023

Overall Satisfaction

3.9
Customers' overall satisfaction
3.6
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Gonzales, LA, on Jan 31, 2023

Easy to get things resolved, and communication has been great. There's some items from buying the house that are still outstanding.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Gonzales, LA, on Jan 24, 2023

My final walk through was the morning of my closing day and the punch list items still have not been taken care of. The PM for my home doesn't communicate properly regarding the issues and just says it's being sent to warranty. Painters came out after my closing to fix the flaws that were found yet almost a month later he is saying it was all addressed but I still have yellow tape noting the issues all throughout my home. [name removed] happy with the way it's handled whatsoever.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Jan 23, 2023

The limitations of being able to add things like upper cabinet lighting only lower cabinet lighting offered. The carelessness of the contractors regarding the sinks and bath tubs shouldn’t have chips and gouges out of tubs when they’re new and have to repair. Should not behave have concrete repairs because contractor dropped something and broke a piece of patio concrete. More care should be taken by contractor while installing the windows have several that are scratched up and one with a chip.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Jan 23, 2023

Pre-contract discussion with the supervisor and poor workmanship of the house.

2.9
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Jan 17, 2023

the warranty service is fine but for a new home its way to much that should have been done before i moved in

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Jan 16, 2023

Some of my concerns seemed to be dismissed when it came to electrical rough-in and also stucco flashing STILL seemed to be a dismissive point. Also, would like project manager to honor his word when he states having someone contact us about minor issues such as garage door operation.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Jan 16, 2023

[name removed] all upgrades available were offered to me at time of purchase

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Jan 14, 2023

The warranty experience has been complicated. It is described as to submit a request and you will be contacted. I'd say this is true about 80% of the time. Between some original issues submitted in the first couple months not being repaired like the concrete damage, to the current and larger front water drainage areas that are a street wide issue that involves all other new [name removed] properties where pictures were submitted showing water within 10 ft of the foundation.

2.2
Verified Homeowner
Gonzales, LA, on Jan 13, 2023

We liked the the weekly updates and ease of communication with project manager, realtor and alverez team. We liked being able to pick a floor plan and customize our home.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Jan 08, 2023

Outdoor Supply water line pipe frozen and ball valve cracked and leaked within 2 weeks of buying the house. All outside water spigots were exposed and not winterized. Concrete slab beneath the air conditioner cracked and was patched, not to our satisfaction. We were told they couldn’t do any better.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Gonzales, LA, on Jan 03, 2023

House wasn’t finished at closing. It’s now over 7 weeks later and I have a defective tub and holes in my wall. The worst part is no one can tell me when my tub will get fixed. We have purchased 5 new construction homes in the past 5 years and this is the only [name removed] house and it’s also the only one that wasn’t finished. I did have issues with the others but the builders were quick to fix them. I don’t understand how you can expect to continue to run a successful business treating people this way. The only positive I can say is we were allowed to swap house plans when we decided we wanted a different plan/lot didn’t fit our needs.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Dec 31, 2022

I have tickets that were completed but never actually fixed. Having to re put in a ticket for the same thing.

2.7
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Dec 19, 2022

I was told the home would be ready in May or June and it took until November. Other than that it was a good experience.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Dec 10, 2022

Communication from [name removed] was fantastic!

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Nov 30, 2022

Craftsmanship was sloppy and has yet to be fixed.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Nov 21, 2022

Happy with Alvarez. [name removed] happy with GMFS. [name removed] and [name removed] are GrEAT. Very helpful and very good attitudes.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Nov 19, 2022

Lack of communication between PMs and office was terrible. My wife and I do love what [name removed] and [name removed] are doing to remedy the problems left by the precious crew.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Nov 10, 2022

Everything with my experience was positive and transparent. My project manager and contacts were all very helpful and seemed to genuinely care about our experience.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Nov 01, 2022

They did everything that they promised they would do.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Oct 29, 2022

We were purchasing a home that was being build already. The design center didn’t t even try to acomódate some of the request. The answer was always “can’t “. We did a [name removed] trough 30 day before, paid and inspection and still the day of closing the house was not ready. In fact is still not ready as the windows are not completed and we can not open. We got our first home from alvarez at Lexington park. This new home does not have linen closet but one downstairs and the cabinets not even closed to the first home. The lady at closing was 30 minutes late and looks like she just rolled of the bed and did not explain anything beside thank you here is the bag. The title company did try to cover for her. 2 weeks before our closing you were offering 10k to 15 k in closing cost plus refrigerator and blinds which did not want to honor to us because it was a previous contract. We’ll make the best of it

4.3
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Alvarez Construction builds, lives and is active in Baton Rouge and surrounding areas. For more than 25 years, our family has been building homes for Louisiana residents and their families. We are committed to working closely with you from finalizing the design and personal touches to building your dream home and staying on schedule. Our family works hard to maintain the standards that have built our reputation over the years. Whether you are relocating, buying your first home, or simply in the market for a new one, our family wants to build it for you!

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.