Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Alvarez Construction Company LLC Reviews

297 Homeowner Reviews Completed Apr 2019 - Oct 2020

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.2
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Baton Rouge, LA, on Oct 20, 2020

The lack of willingness on the builder/contractor to make minor changes.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Oct 20, 2020

I liked that I was notified of each stage of the construction. It was great meeting and talking with the project Manager [name removed]. He really cares about the quality and results of the construction process. What I did not like was the way some issues were handled after the home was completed. I had some concerns about the paint selections which were selected in lighting that was different than what was in my home. I basically had to be happy with the way the colors looked or pay a hugely inflated price to have the kitchen cabinets repainted. Then I was told to make a punch list after I moved in because there might be things that I wouldn't notice until after moving in and that they would be addressed even after the closing. When I did notify Alvarez through the warranty representative, I was told that something was not under warranty because it was not discovered at the final walk through. ( These were stains on the porch that were created before I moved in and not seen at the final walk through) I am extremely happy with my new home. I feel that the quality of the construction is excellent. I feel that my home is everything that I wanted. Thanks to [name removed], the porch issue was corrected. I am just disappointed in the reaction of the office staff in regard to fixing issues. It comes down to customer service and experience. Perhaps, it is due to experience. People don't remember what you say but will always remember how they were treated.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Oct 19, 2020

I love every minute of my construction process [name removed] picked up right where [name removed] left off.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Oct 16, 2020

[name removed] warranty service/customer care experience has been great, due mainly in part to the exceptional work by [name removed] and [name removed]. However, in my opinion, I feel that Alvarez Construction should have two different teams for home repairs; service reps to address pre-closing issues only & another for after-closing issues. It appears that the same people work on the home repairs.

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Oct 16, 2020

[name removed] quality of the home is very poor. I have been in my house for 6 months & have already had the Alvarez team come numerous times to fix many things that have fallen apart in this new home. It’s disappointing

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Oct 14, 2020

How smooth the entire process was and how Alverez Construction went above and beyond to ensure there were no flaws in the home

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Prairieville, LA, on Oct 10, 2020

Everything went really smoothly

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Oct 10, 2020

It was horrible the house was built horribly. The caulking is already peeling out around the tub , my ceiling fan in my master is already broken. They were Suppose to come and fix the paint job thorough out the house due to wall painting being all over the ceiling. When they did come to “fix” things they left the mess they made and did not try to clean it. The whole expertise has been horrible and i would NEVER recommend an Alvarez home to anyone!!

2.8
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Oct 02, 2020

Everything was fast and according to the date that was agreed.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Oct 02, 2020

I liked everything about the experience from the entire Alverez team. Everyone was professional and responded to our needs in a timely manner.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Sep 23, 2020

Very quick responses to questions or concerns.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Sep 14, 2020

Lots of things had to be corrected during the build because the wrong spec sheet was being used time and again. Plus the home had a lot of things to take care of on the punch list before closing that wasn't done and still isn't after three weeks, so I'm a bit worried.

3.2
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Sep 12, 2020

Good quality home

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Sep 09, 2020

I’m having a difficult time getting in touch with anyone there. I have an issue with the gate operators being closed without being informed first. I was locked out of my own neighborhood with no way to get in!

2.5
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Sep 09, 2020

Poor communication from construction team. Numerous things that were requested to be repaired during orientation and final walkthrough were never addressed.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Sep 01, 2020

I did not appreciate being told certain things would be done or taken care of and they were not. I feel like corners were cut and the most minimal amount of attention to detail was given. They are in too much of a hurry, building multiple houses at once to pay the close attention needed for one house let alone eight at a time.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Prairieville, LA, on Aug 31, 2020

Disliked: Warranty Service has been unresponsive

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Aug 25, 2020

[name removed] only thing that wasn't great was the week of move-in. We did have a delay, which was part COVID and then part due to us selling our house in Texas (we had to exercise the extension period after our home was completed, but were able to confirm a close date during that window). We did the prelim walkthrough, and pointed out a list of things. Then many were not complete on final walkthrough ([name removed] was not pleased as painters were still working everywhere the day before, and we still didn't have grass). So we never got the final power washing post-grass, and had to wait for some scheduled fixes post-move-in (fireplace hood replacement & electrical fixture coverings).

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Aug 20, 2020

They are an award winning championship team! There is no limit that the [name removed] can accomplish. They are truly OBSESSED with the client and with the QUALITY PRODUCT.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Aug 11, 2020

I like that there is one person to contact for any warranty needs.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Alvarez Construction builds, lives and is active in Baton Rouge and surrounding areas. For more than 25 years, our family has been building homes for Louisiana residents and their families. We are committed to working closely with you from finalizing the design and personal touches to building your dream home and staying on schedule. Our family works hard to maintain the standards that have built our reputation over the years. Whether you are relocating, buying your first home, or simply in the market for a new one, our family wants to build it for you!

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.