Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Alvarez Construction Company LLC Reviews

400 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2020 - Sep 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.2
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.0
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Central, LA, on Sep 20, 2021

The way everything was communicated as construction made progress. The video status updates by the project manager. The sales rep team was excellent in how they handled every question along all phases of the sale and after closing

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Central, LA, on Sep 20, 2021

Alvarez employees/managers respectfully express their desire for excellence and are helpful. Responses to questions are sometimes slow; the managers are probably spread too thin. The weekly video updates during construction were encouraging - definitely a plus. Some of the details of the home were finished poorly (possibly rushing through the job) and still need to be corrected: paint mistakes; concrete gaps on porch and at bottom of columns; no paint at the bottom of the columns-looks unfinished.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Prairieville, LA, on Sep 19, 2021

I was not happy with my choice of granite. [name removed] matter how many times the company came and sealed it, it still shows water spots. My lantern goes out every time it rains.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Sep 18, 2021

They were responsive and tried to get all of the details down needed to complete an issue that arose.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Sep 16, 2021

Very responsive and eager to please.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Sep 15, 2021

Liked the ease in purchase, the great design session selecting our options, and the number of available options ([name removed]). Liked the weekly updates from [name removed] - very informative and helped us feel connected while one state away. All of our phone/email inquiries were answered promptly. [name removed] tried very hard to meet all of our requests and we commend him for the customer service during construction. LOVE our new home and being so close to our children and grandchildren. Our latest grandchild was born on our closing date - will be hard to forget closing day. Disliked the MLS posting date for “this house will be ready” was not explained initially as “just a date to post for MLS”. Had we known the date was as fluid as it was, our decisions for the close of our existing home, quotes and securing state to state movers and hotel reservations would have been a lot different! We understand construction delays due to weather and supplies, but [name removed] came after we closed on our lovely new home. We had a very lengthy hotel stay with a dog! It was challenging to say the least. Like the prompt replies from Alvarez post construction to review warranty requests. We only have a few and they are all in progress. [name removed] is amazing! Disliked the non-response from Community Mgmt HOA to register our new home. [name removed] website did not recognize our address. After several emails and two phone messages over a week and a half; all not acknowledged, Ms. [name removed] with Alvarez, stepped in and ensured Community Management would respond. We were able to complete our registration allowing us to start the fence building permit process. Thank you Ms. [name removed]. One suggestion please? Paint or use darker number plates on the garage for the house number. Many of the delivery drivers have confused looks on their faces and have been reported delivering packages to the wrong house. Thank you for great neighbors acting as delivery assistants! Overall we are pleased and happy in our new LA home! Thanks!

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Sep 15, 2021

I absolutely LOVE my home! Everyone I worked with was extremely nice and accommodating. I also appreciate the level and consistency of communication throughout the whole process. [name removed] (project manager) was fantastic and I really appreciate how he went the extra mile for me. I literally cried on my last walkthrough. Give him a raise! I also really appreciate [name removed] (sales). He was very friendly and extremely helpful throughout the entire process. He's another great one you guys should always keep on your team! On the other hand there were some issues with timing. It took an extra 2 months to complete the house but I also understand a lot of that was not Alvarez's fault. I also had some issues with an initial spider infestation. Although common for new construction, some of it could have been avoided as I asked and was told the cobwebs would be cleaned before I moved in. None of them, however, were cleaned up and I had multiple spider eggs all around my house. I had to get 2 exterminator companies to come out to get it resolved. Upon moving in my oven and dryer outlets did not work as there was something broken with the breaker. It was fixed though! Also I've only been in my home for a month but there is a leak in the guest bathroom and mold growing by the minute. I also had a shelf that was put in crooked. I will say, however, that Alvarez took immediate action as soon as they were notified and have already corrected or in the process of correcting these things. Overall I'm super pleased and would recommend Alvarez to a friend or family. Thank you for my beautiful home!

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Prairieville, LA, on Sep 11, 2021

everyone at [name removed] is always willing to help. I had a warrantee claim on water issue in the Kitchen and Bathroom. My problem was repair in a timely manner. The project manager kept us informed daily on repairs and timeline.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Sep 11, 2021

We liked the communication quality and the selection process of the building materials for our home. The final check list of items still have not been addressed and we moved in a month ago. We did finally get an email about the final items and we hope that they will be sorted out.

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Sep 08, 2021

The coil in my furnace went out, its like two grand.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Central, LA, on Sep 05, 2021

They have been attentive to anything we have asked of them. [name removed] and [name removed] both are great about anything we have ask of them.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Sep 03, 2021

I had some of the people had to comeback and fix the issue but it was not totally resolved

2.6
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Sep 01, 2021

My purchase experience wasn’t that great. I went through 3 property managers while my home was being built. I didn’t feel like the property managers had my best interest because I would point out things while my house was being built and it still wasn’t fixed prior to moving in. During both walk through inspections I would point out all problems that needed to be fix with and prior to moving only 50% was completed. My front door was painted terribly, I had to repaint the whole front door myself within 1 week of moving in. It’s the entrance of my house and I couldn’t stand to look at a two toned front door every time I pull into my driveway. [name removed] paint is honestly awful in the home, they go extremely too fast while painting and miss tons of spots. As of right now, I’m still waiting on punch list items to be completed from my walk through inspection. If I had to purchase another home, I’m not sure if I would do Alvarez again.

2.6
Verified Homeowner
Baton Rouge, LA, on Aug 30, 2021

Love the warranty service and customer care for [name removed] responded and resolved any issues.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Aug 30, 2021

Delays in response time to requests on issues.

2.5
Verified Homeowner
Prairieville, LA, on Aug 27, 2021

When the site to submit warranty request malfunctioned a representative reached out to me via email to take care of my requests.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Prairieville, LA, on Aug 27, 2021

EASY CORRESPONDENCE AND FAST RESOLUTIONS

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Denham Springs, LA, on Aug 26, 2021

I loved the warm welcoming and care along the way of my purchase journey.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Central, LA, on Aug 23, 2021

The slow response in getting service items done. There has been some turnover at Alvarez resulting in several balls being dropped.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Madisonville, LA, on Aug 10, 2021

No quality control, bad workmanship! Terrible warranty office, lie, don't fix issues! Have a don't care attitude, then lie over and over! This goes to top of the company! They hire poorly trained workman that do poor quality work and put blame on buyer! Wish i never bought this house!

0.5
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Alvarez Construction builds, lives and is active in Baton Rouge and surrounding areas. For more than 25 years, our family has been building homes for Louisiana residents and their families. We are committed to working closely with you from finalizing the design and personal touches to building your dream home and staying on schedule. Our family works hard to maintain the standards that have built our reputation over the years. Whether you are relocating, buying your first home, or simply in the market for a new one, our family wants to build it for you!

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.