Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

View Homes Reviews

742 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2020 - Sep 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.1
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.0
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

San Antonio, TX, on Sep 20, 2021

We were treated with the utmost respect throughout our experience. [name removed] went above and beyond our expectations she even arranged a get together so my grandchildren could meet other children in the neighborhood before we moved in. [name removed] responded quickly to any concerns we had with the building. We had a whole home air purifier put in and they said our AC setup was the best they had ever seen. We would definitely recommend View Homes to friends and family looking for a new house.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Sep 20, 2021

As soon as me and my husband walked into the builders office “just looking” for a home, we felt very welcomed by [name removed] and he made the entire process smooth and easy. He answered every question we had (which was a lot) and made our move in easy. Everybody throughout our First home purchase has been amazing.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Cibolo, TX, on Sep 18, 2021

When we first moved in there were alot of things that were not taken care of which were supposed to. Once warranty work was requested it took many followups to have the jobs taken care of. Overall after being here almost 5 months I would recommend others here but would recommend that ViewHomes have a better Superintendent to manage the jobsite.

3.5
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Sep 17, 2021

it was not easy, nor does it have to be. But when I am catching things that are wrong on the blue print and missing but I’m having to pay thousands of dollars extra, I, who have no experience making homes, should not be the one to catch mistakes that the cause delays. At closing and the walk through. So many things needed fixing. My mistake was believing they were fixed. I’ve been in the home a month and I am missing blinds I paid for, a closet door that was badly damaged and was supposed to be replaced wasnt, it was just painted over, and there are obviously fixes that needed to be taken care of but we’re not. According to our closing they were taken care of. Don’t trust it and if it’s not 100% fixed, then don’t sign. Because once you’re in the home, there is no telling when you will get things you paid for or things they said were fixed but we’re not. Communication is key. If you keep that open like, I’d be happier but when all I wanted was an update and everyone you contact disappears that makes matters worse.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Sep 17, 2021

The way the whole build process went. Your contractors don’t have a care of building a home with quality and good craftsmanship. To many problems from start to finish. Even now we have problems that I hope do get addressed and taken care in a timely manner.

2.3
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Sep 15, 2021

I'm not sure if it's just the time we are currently in but we have not been seeing follow through on vendors to fixing items on our home. We have had side paneling not last and now have an ant problem bc of it. However, [name removed] is responsive.

2.2
Verified Homeowner
Spring Branch, TX, on Sep 13, 2021

[name removed] was excellent and very patient with our concerns. He was very helpful. However, when concerns were passed on to those who were responsible for fixing the issues it was like pulling teeth! Very, very frustrating. For some reason some issues did not get fixed until the week of closing. I believe this was intentional in order to simply encourage us to just to give up and close. It required four walk-throughs to get issues fixed properly. We are very thankful that [name removed] and [name removed] inspected our home and they helped get the issues corrected.

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Live Oak, TX, on Sep 13, 2021

Certain changes In the plan weren’t address to me or my sales agent during the construction phase of the home. Still have parts of the home that needs to be fixed or redone— base boards, drywall, paint, door replacements, scratched cabinet doors, uninstalled tv for [name removed] bar, sod addition to the opening under the foundation slab of the doggy door along with effective stairs for dof to enter doggy door, clogged drainage due to sediment deposits left during construction, dead grass in perfect squares about 20+squares did not grow with the rest of the grass, oven range gas pressure needs to be adjusted for oven performance, master Bedroom ceiling fan needs to be rebalanced.

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Cibolo, TX, on Sep 11, 2021

We have multiple things that were supposed to be taken care of upon move in, that [name removed] put on the back burner apparently and then next thing we knew he no longer worked for View homes and no one has contacted us back since.

1.5
Verified Homeowner
Spring Branch, TX, on Sep 08, 2021

They switflty accommodated to my family's needs, worked very hard to provide a sturdy, well built home, even with minor unforeseen delays.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Schertz, TX, on Sep 07, 2021

[name removed] whole overall experience was top notch. [name removed] really helped us through the whole thing and was very professional. Highly recommend

5.0
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Sep 05, 2021

Purchased and signed my contract and gave my deposit in early February 2021. I was given a projection date of closing of May 25, 2021. I moved into Texas into the area around my build in March 2021. I was able to follow along with the build and construction. During the way, I learned that my build sat for a total of seven weeks where no trades or contractors touch my home. My sales person was the only one who was consistent and giving me accurate information. I was given weekly updates by [name removed] up until he left the company. Then I received no more weekly updates from that point on and that was very disappointing. I made arrangements to find different places to live temporarily until my home was built. After the May 25, 2021 date came and went I was then given a June 5 date 2021 that date also came and went. My loan was preapproved through Legacy in late April early May. Finally in July 7, 2021 I was able to move into my residence. However I conducted my HO a walk and was extremely dissatisfied with the fact that the home was not completed. Most of the issues were cosmetic however there were a lot of issues like siding cracks on the exterior holes in the siding not enough caulking in and around roofing N Easements. Weight bearing pillars not installed correctly with the decorative collars at the base hanging over the edge of the concrete. I was extremely unimpressed and still lamb today with my front and back lawn. The base soil underneath the sod prior to being installed was not leveled and was even washed away due to the extreme weather prior to putting the soil in. They still to this day have not made it right for me. I am very unimpressed with the company that you guys use for soil and landscaping. They’ve come back three different times to try and roll out my lawns both front and back and have sprayed around the perimeter for weed killer. But it’s still very uneven with holes that myself and visitors have actually turned their ankles on both in front and the back yards. The fence which I purchased extra and extended on both sides of my residence was installed at first not according to the plan and it was a good thing I was there that day because I was able to correct them and show them the proper measurements. But they also used broken cracked and wood that was rotted and damaged. I requested for the fence company to come back and correct that problem and they are due to come in the next couple of weeks. There are several cosmetic points in and around the residence to include drywall seams holes paint overspray and runoff onto my tile and flooring as well as on my cabinets in the kitchen and bathroom. There is also pits in my grout throughout my house in my tile because the tile was installed way too early and not protected during the construction completion. I was informed that you do not seal the tile which if it was sealed there wouldn’t be as many pits and missing grout throughout the tile. All of my interior doors have rough and sharp edges and need to physically be sanded down primed and then painted. These doors were installed not primed and they were painted but they are poorly painted and not sanded down due to the sharp edges. On the banister leading from the first floor to my second story there are screws sticking out with sharp edges on both ends at top and bottom of the banisters. There are several drywall holes where construction at finish put. After my HO walk they had to have three separate cleaning groups come in to the residence to clean the residence. I was told that it would be in turnkey condition and when they finally showed up the first time all they did was broom and mop and then I was told it was just going to be construction cleanup and not a deep cleaning like I have been told from inception of my purchase. Down at the base of my driveway along the curb line there are several cracks and chipped away concrete along the curb line that when I brought it up to construction I was told it was the city’s responsibility. I went to the city of New Braunfels and was informed that it was construction damage because the curb lines were installed when the developer came through the neighborhood and then construction began. I still have multiple cracks and big chunks of concrete chipped away from the curb line at the end of my driveway which allows water to pool and algae and mold to collect there as well. My water pressure in my house is left less than 50 psi according to the plumbing contractor. I spoke with the city of New Braunfels and they informed me that it should be a minimum of 60 to 80 psi however the main plumbing source shows 50 psi or less. I’m not even able to use anything longer than a 50 foot hose on the exterior hose bib‘s on the outside of my house. This is unacceptable. I must be very direct [name removed] and open about this. I feel like I signed the contract under duress so that my property could be closed and taken off the list. I was also informed that all of the cosmetic fixes and all the things listed above we’re going to be going through warranty service and I do not feel that these are warranty issues because they were never completed when the house was turned over to me. I closed July 7, 2021 and I still don’t have all of the issues corrected or fixed. this too is unacceptable. I was also informed that I had at least three of my windows that were removed because they were cracked or broken and Temporary tempered glass windows were put in to facilitate the closure of my construction. However I still can’t get a straight answer from anybody as to win those windows will be replaced with the double pane windows that belong in my house. This too is unacceptable. The above is listed of only a few things that were wrong with my residence when I closed and receive the keys. I hope this can be rectified sooner than later as I’ve talked with some of my neighbors who have recently bought from View Homes and they to have said these are not abnormal or unusual circumstances that happened with their residences either and the purchase of their homes.

3.1
Verified Homeowner
Bulverde, TX, on Sep 05, 2021

So far everything it’s ok

5.0
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Sep 02, 2021

Nothing, our 2 floor feels like it’s fixing to fall in some area. We have been waiting for about 2 months for someone to call, nothing. There is a huge gap, between the stairs and the foundation outside.

0.9
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Sep 02, 2021

I like how they come and fix what I needed, however they do take a long time and forget me. But overall very happy!

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Spring Branch, TX, on Aug 31, 2021

[name removed] contract experience was great. [name removed] agent was very responsive to getting our questions answered about what options were available to us. Changes to the options list were made quickly and were very clear about what we wanted. [name removed] building experience was not good. [name removed] construction manager kept changing and I had to rely on the sales agent to keep me in touch with the latest construction manager. Structural options that were on the plan were missed (natural gas stub, wrong front door, missing paint) and required my intervention to have them installed. There was also vandalism on the property during construction that required my intervention as well. [name removed] construction manager did not ensure that the property was locked up each night, so after the 4th occurrence, I installed cameras and started traveling to the property to make sure it was locked up each night. [name removed] homeowner orientation felt rushed and even though we were promised the builder would come back to fix outstanding issues, I am still in the process of getting the builder to come to fix things leftover from the orientation.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
New Braunfels, TX, on Aug 31, 2021

We have had numerous issues and never hear from ANYONE. We have the only house in the entire neighborhood without soffit vents and have vents on the roof that leaks in every bad rain. I texted [name removed] you warranty rep on June 26 and he said he would get back to me. I'm still waiting. I was told by your warranty manager that it was a city inspector that made you install the roof vents and was supposed to get back to me but have not heard anything from him either. If I don't hear anything satisfactory regarding this, I will call the city myself and have them look at the rest of your homes to see why I have the only style of the lousy vents. Either you fix mine or maybe they will make you fix all the rest of your homes in the neighborhood. The front door was finally installed after having a construction door for 2 months. I asked [name removed] if the finishers could sand the edges before they finish it. He said he would tell them. They showed up a day earlier than scheduled and not only didn't sand it they left runs on the clear coat. We have had a dead tree in the front yard for over 3 months, patches of dead grass, lumpy grass everywhere, flooding on our side yard. I have bought several new homes in my lifetime and have never had such poor workmanship and poor customer service. I hear there might be a class action suit from the rest of the homeowners, I will definitely join that suit. I regret every day not buying a Chesmar home.

0.5
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Aug 31, 2021

I am still waiting for a few hardware pieces to be delivered and for 2 windows to be replaced.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Spring Branch, TX, on Aug 29, 2021

[name removed] is the best. He is honest trustworthy and shows that he really cares. Also as soon as the VP of construction stepped in the process moved quickly and he was amazing. I can’t recall his name but he lives in our neighborhood and drives a white Chevy truck. Also I believe [name removed] the gentleman who showed the house /walk through was really really thorough. All in all this team was awesome!!!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
San Antonio, TX, on Aug 24, 2021

Communication is horrible

2.5
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

For Over 25 Years, View Homes has been crafting quality homes in Texas, New Mexico and Colorado.

We have been recognized by many organizations for our quality homes, customer experience and dedication to our community. While we are pleased with recognition, we are most proud of the solid foundation and values our company is based on. Our goals go beyond numbers and metrics. We are dedicated to providing the best customer journey and home building experience through compassion, commitment to excellence, honesty and collaboration.

We are committed to building you a place to call home, a place to create memories with family and friends, which will forever be the best view.

View Homes – Building Life’s Greatest View

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.