Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Classic Homes Reviews

1,203 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jul 2018 - Jan 20

Overall Satisfaction

4.5
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.6
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Colorado Springs, on Jan 19, 2020

The personal attention + professional service + promises kept = 3 for 3

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 18, 2020

Johnny Leyba's hard hat

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 18, 2020

The constant updates from the sales staff on progress. They were incredibly helpful.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Monument, on Jan 17, 2020

The quality of home and also our contractor was very accommodating .

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 16, 2020

Wet attentive while building and communication was superb! Theresa was amazing, lucky to have her.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Monument, on Jan 15, 2020

I know they are not popular, but the ability to customize our home through CPRs was really important, especially after building a custom home. It gave us exactly what we wanted.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 14, 2020

The agents Carol and Teresa at Hanna Ridge were out standing and very helpful from start to finish The superintendent for the build was also very responsive and did a great job of keeping us informed in the process so far overall a great experience

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Monument, on Jan 13, 2020

Classic responded to my concerns as the build was happening

4.1
Verified Homeowner
Monument, on Jan 13, 2020

Classic takes care of problems right away. We've only had minor issues but they are quick to respond.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 12, 2020

The layout of the house (Providence 2) is the best rancher style we can wish for! The sales office in Banning Lewis Ranch, especially Lisa made the whole process a dream!

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 11, 2020

customer service from the front desk ladies and weekly updates from contractor. They are amazing.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 11, 2020

The first people we spoke with in the office of the model at the community where we now live, Carol and (at the time) Denise, were so nice and accommodating. I can't say the same for some of the other communities we visited. We went back to check on things and ask questions numerous times before we decided to buy and they were just as pleasant each time. I can't say enough good things about them.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 10, 2020

Everyone was professional yet laid back and relaxed. Liked the constant updates with photos. Carol, Teresa and Trent were all great.

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Monument, on Jan 10, 2020

The only experience I enjoyed with Classic Homes was the sales team (Craig and Nancy) and Customer care Representatives (David Lobeck and Liz). My entire experience from build to closing was the worst experience I ever had. Dealing with the individuals during the build and closing was very stressful. I just wanted to express how disappointed I am with the overall workmanship and quality of the home. After moving in the home for a couple of weeks I had found more flaws in the home. Like I have been told, by the superintendent, I can’t expect it to be perfect...that certainly was the truth here. However, although I cannot expect perfection I believe there should be a reasonable to expectation that the workmanship is above par. Also, as I have been told, the work is well within a 1/8 margin or error, which is fine, except a 1/8 margin of error here and there and there and there becomes a house with a lot of errors, and that is less than acceptable. In terms of processes, I felt sales was probably my best experience, everyone was nice and understanding. After that, the level of interaction went down from there. I felt the individual who helped us at the design studio seemed disinterested. We were told ... oh they help keep you in budget... etc...that was definitely not the case, we weren’t even asked a budget. Our first visit was definitely a sticker shocker, so needless to say we had to remove a lot of items from the list, and that was a disappointment. Then it came to building. Foundation poured, a rebar was bent during the process, 1/8 margin of error. I had asked about it, was told it would not affect anything, I therefore am trusting in what I was told. Next came the subfloor, framing etc... subfloor in one of the bedroom was raised and uneven... again 1/8 margin of error. Still trusting in the process, now comes time for the initial walk through. This was were I was really disappointed in the overall interaction with the superintendent, not saying that in some aspects he tried to be accommodating, but again overall, in my interaction I felt like I was being brushed off and talked down to, to the point where I felt the need to hold back on my opinion for fear of ensuing argument. Almost 1/3 of the issues I saw and pointed out at the initial walk through seem to cause disagreement, which somewhat turned into a argument and me having to defend myself. What really caused the disagreement was the wet bar and stair pillars, although the wet bar is now corrected, this conversation along with another conversation at the final walk through over the stair pillar is what had compelled me to voice my opinion. At the final walk through I felt like the superintendent and I had a shouting match, he kept insinuating that there was nothing wrong with the stair pillar even though I kept telling him I felt there was there was. In terms of workmanship and quality. The tile work seems like a do-it your-selfer did it. Tiles are still uneven in some parts of the master shower, back splashes, and main level bathroom. The carpet installation is imperfect, I can see the seams especially in the master bedroom and hall. Furthermore, it appears that the roll of carpet we received had a defect showing some fray carpet fibers, and yet that roll was laid in our home. Rails on front patio and front porch where just unacceptable, they should not have been allowed to paint when it was too cold because that caused the paint to crackle, it was somewhat corrected, but there are still spots that were not, but I have learned to accept that it it not going to be perfect....as I have been told. The drywall is just riddled with what seemed like air pocket holes, not sure what caused that, but some have been corrected, but again I have learned to accept that it is not going to be perfect. The shelf in the pantry was chipped prior to closing I clearly remember tapping it, but that was not correct. Some of the cabinets have little scratches and one has a chipped corner. I unfortunately would have to give my overall experience, happiness, workmanship and product satisfaction of classic homes a 3-4. I wish I could have given Classic Homes a better grade from what I had previously heard, but I just did not enjoy my experience. At one point I really had buyers remorse because of my experience and didn't even want to live in the home.

3.3
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 10, 2020

Communication with the Classic team

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 10, 2020

Carol in the sales office is amazing and I appreciate the easy with which I can get service on the house.

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 09, 2020

n/a

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 09, 2020

James has done an excellent job of keeping us informed and responding to our questions/concerns.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 08, 2020

They have helped fix some issues that were over looked, how ever some trades still need to come in and repair some issues

2.4
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, on Jan 06, 2020

How problem and question are answered in a timely manner

4.4
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Classic Homes is a locally owned Colorado Springs builder and the only builder to have received the Better Business Bureau’s “Excellence in Customer Service” award on three separate occasions and is also the only builder to be designated as Colorado Springs Best Homebuilder by The Gazette for twelve years running, and the Colorado Springs Business Journal for eleven years running — a true testament to the care and commitment Classic Homes shows our home buyers before, during, and after they’ve become members of our communities.

HOMEBUILDER CUSTOMER REVIEWS

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.