Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Classic Homes Reviews

1,024 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jul 2019 - Jan 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.5
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.5
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 17, 2021

Everything that has been identified has been fixed.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Jan 15, 2021

They have fixed everything that was a problem. However, I now have my flooring separating at the joint in three places.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 12, 2021

They have not fixed the leaky gutters. It creates a safety hazard during freezing temperatures.

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 11, 2021

Good communication and status reports from both the construction manager and sales team. They listened to me and corrected things that I was concerned about.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Jan 10, 2021

I like the quick response of the sales staff. Tom has also been very helpful as my builder. There was some pushback from another builder, when I requested that the closet rod/shelf be lowered 6", since I'm 5'4" and the standard height is to high for me. Also I requested a wider space between the pantry shelves. Again had some pushback. It was utimately resolved to my satisfaction.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 09, 2021

Water pressure is low in the shower.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 09, 2021

The sales team was prompt with every single question and issue I had. From the moment I walked in the door of the sales office to the moment I used my keys to unlock my front door for the first time I had every concern looked at almost immediately by Annie, Maureen, Sean, or one of the temporary assistants in at the time. The fact that they were available on the weekends made a huge difference for me in being able to visit the home and to ask questions when I had the time to think of them. I want to call out Sean for his ability to sell me on the idea of building with Classic, he was overtly helpful in giving me an in depth rundown of the process, a complete and honest view of what every step would look like, and he sold me in just one visit to the office. Both Annie and Maureen went above and beyond in a few very meaningful ways, especially during these crazy covid times to help me be able to see my home and make sure that I was prepared for move in. They were the two to most often answer the phone and give me the information I needed right away. They were beyond delightful to work with and I could not more highly recommend a team to go through the home building process with. The design studio was very well thought out and extraordinarily easy and fun to go through. My only complaint here is that I had to go back and forth way too many times via email before my color charts actually reflected all of the choices I had made. If I had not been paying as close attention as I had, at least 3 mistakes would have been made. Including carpet where I had asked for it to be laminate, cabinets not matching the pattern I had chosen, and the color chart not matching the attached pictures with regards to flooring and cost. Cheryl was very gracious (and quick) in making the fixes required, but still was a bit frustrating to have to be so diligent myself. The person deserving the most praise and thanks with regard to this entire process is Curtis. My goodness, whatever you have to do to keep him on board do it. More than that, his interactions with me were enough on their own to leave me wanting to shout from the mountain tops "work with classic!". Curtis is the reason I have such a glowing opinion of Classic. Period. Hard stop. Throughout my time working with y'all there were a number of small issues with the build, which is expected with how quickly you get these homes put together. But that being said, not a single issue went unnoticed by Curtis. It was evident from the start that Curtis cared about my home as much as I did. His eagle eyes called out issues even I myself was unable to notice. His diligence and care about each item is honestly awe inspiring. The first real issue I encountered was when my back patio was poured in the wrong direction due to a flipped image of my house that was referenced. Curtis was quick to pick up and handle the mistake communicating with me through the entire ordeal. Next there were a few small issues in the house including a botched plate for my back door lock and dings on my fireplace mantle. By the next week when I returned to the home, not only had the issues been fixed, but the fixes appeared as if nothing had been wrong in the first place. Plain and simple Curtis listened to each issue I had with grace, took time to understand what I saw wrong and how I though it should change, and then the acted on it quickly and professionally. Give that man a raise, seriously, he rocks at his job. Lastly I have a couple comments about the home itself. 1) I'm disappointed by the default lighting placement in the master closet. I had two " XXXXX " lights sitting right inside the door of the closet that lit the entrance well, but left the two corners in the back looking like the inside of a cave rather than a closet. Either add another light, or spread out the existing lights so I can actually see my clothing. 2) The little room underneath the stairs needs to have a light in it. I am supremely shocked that there is absolutely nothing there. It's a carpeted and finished room, and yet there is absolutely no lighting, how does that make any sense at all? 3) I would love to have a deadbolt on my garage door. At the moment it is just a handle with a lock built in. It seems odd that an entrance to the house, one with a garage door that can be opened by an app (also I hate that), has no deadbolt. 4) Speaking to the above, I understand the appeal of smart homes and app controlled devices. But being a software developer myself and knowing the industry closely, having an app controllable entrance to my home is not something I want included. I was honestly a bit surprised by it and shocked that I hadn't been told about it before move in. 5) There was an additional window in the kitchen which I was forced to purchase, only I wasn't told about it until weeks after I had made the change to extend my kitchen cabinets and counter through the breakfast nook. While the cost was small in the scheme of things, it's disappointing to have surprise costs pop up. Things that I love about my home: 1) The kitchen is absolutely stunning, the granite is amazing and the layout is well thought through. 2) The master bedroom (when extended) is an awesome size and shape. I couldn't be happier with it. 3) The downstairs is perfect for hosting and honestly is what sold me on this model. 4) The open feel of the upstairs with the open kitchen layout feels so spacious and inviting. I love my classic home, I am beyond thankful for the awesome experience I had working with the crazy talented people here at Classic Northfork. And I can happily say that I am a homeowner now because of you!

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 09, 2021

We loved everything. Annie, Maureen & Sean were great right from start along with Curtis. He was exceptional. We enjoyed the process and would love to build our next home through Classic

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 09, 2021

The communication during the build process was great

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Jan 09, 2021

Craig was so helpful and quick to answer any questions throughout the entire process. Any person I dealt with was pleasant and very helpful!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 09, 2021

My builder, Sterling, was unprofessional at times.

4.6
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 04, 2021

The customer care experience is a joke. You put in a request and wait 4-6 weeks to hear back from someone. There should be a number you can call and talk to someone about your service request right away; and not have to wait around for nearly two months on.

3.5
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 04, 2021

The representatives and quality of work were excellent.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 03, 2021

Movie

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Jan 01, 2021

a minority of the subcontractors who contributed to the building of the home did not meet your standard of excellence. In fact, parts of their work was pretty shoddy & only partially corrected later. We were disappointed that the superintendent did not catch these errors until way late or did not catch the errors at all. We, the buyers, had to find them and point them out to the superintendent. On the other hand, largely due to the lead salesman, Paul Kyburz, and his amazing integrity, some rather large improvements were made on the home in heroic and exceptionally rapid proportions. On these occasions, the superintendent also must be commended for his supervision over the improvements.

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Dec 31, 2020

So far, so good.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Dec 28, 2020

We loved working with Classic homes. We love our house. And haven’t had any major issues. Anything that has come up has been minor. And Classic helped with everything.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Dec 28, 2020

All employees were great to work with. Efficient, knowledgeable and supportive. And I love my home

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Dec 24, 2020

Water is leaking into my house and I was told it is normal and you refuse to fix it. You say it is not a warranty issue. I just have to live with it.

0.5
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Dec 22, 2020

I like the way Classic home take care of customers. The thing I don’t like is some stuffs need to be fixed.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Classic Homes is a locally owned Colorado Springs builder and the only builder to have received the Better Business Bureau’s “Excellence in Customer Service” award on three separate occasions and is also the only builder to be designated as Colorado Springs Best Homebuilder by The Gazette for twelve years running, and the Colorado Springs Business Journal for eleven years running — a true testament to the care and commitment Classic Homes shows our home buyers before, during, and after they’ve become members of our communities.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.