Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

Classic Homes Reviews

1,199 Homeowner Reviews Completed Jun 2020 - Dec 2021

Overall Satisfaction

4.5
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.5
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Community Satisfaction Ratings

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Colorado Springs, CO, on Dec 03, 2021

The landscaping, specifically the colors of the rocks and the design. Also, the neighbor right across the street has the same model and the same home color scheme. It’s ridiculous. In talking with other Classic sales staff, they have said it shouldn’t have happened but my salesperson said it was allowed. I want to change my home colors

4.3
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Dec 03, 2021

Customer care has been timely in meeting my calls or emails and coming to take care of any problems.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Dec 01, 2021

One of the best parts of this experience is the communication. From the pictures every Saturday from the Sales Team, to the weekly calls with the project managers. It is a open line that you know is available and there is a great deal of comfort with that. John, Keven and & Tom were our team and they all did a fabulous job!!! I felt rushed through the design center. Cheryl was great and very helpful, but it was apparent that she was pressured to move us along.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Dec 01, 2021

Very pleased with the sales team and their communication throughout the building process

4.2
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 30, 2021

We had issues after we closed on our flooring and it took a while and multiple visits and arguments to get them to fix it

3.6
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 30, 2021

Contract and the sales team were great. Design was okay, we really wanted another appointment to confirm the choices we made but they couldn't fit us in their schedule for at least a month. So we just went with our original choices. Which turned out okay, just wish they would know that it is really hard to pick out everything in the one 3 hour appointment. Everything moved very slow through the build, which we were very understanding that Covid has changed how things can be done. We didn't like that there was a different super for each phase of the build. We didn't get any calls that we were promised through the first phase of foundation. Then when things were done wrong one super wouldn't tell the next what was suppose to be done, so it was very frustrating to tell 3 different people that something wasn't done the way we asked (the sump pump for example was told to them 4 times and still done wrong, the prewire for the electric was then put in the wrong place because the sump pump was done wrong) So now we get to pay an electrician to put it where it needs to be because it won't pass code. At the final walk there was a lot not complete. We moved in with no shower door and were told it would be here in 2 days, turned out to be 2 weeks. Many places where we put tape were not fixed but the tape was just removed. The most disappointing part of the whole house is the tile work is HORRIBLE!!! Missing grout, crooked tile, mismatched caulk. It looks like a kindergartner installed it. We have fought and fought them on this and every time (when they show up) it is not complete and still is terrible. The only solution is for them to take it out and have someone that knows what they are doing install it. The tile work is why I would NEVER recommend Classic and I would not have them build my house again. I am so disappointed and everyone that walks into a bathroom is appalled by the workmanship, so needless to say nobody I know would ever build with Classic. As we have lived here for almost 2 months now, all the lack of attention to detail is really showing, nails in the carpet, crooked lights fixtures, paint on all the strike plates, electrical outlets not flush with wall, sliding doors don't slide properly...just very poor workmanship overall.

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Nov 28, 2021

Lack of quality and salesperson inaccuracies for the product purchased. Followed up with constant warranty issues. Paid $140K over the exact same model home in a different neighborhood, and still having quality/warranty issues several months later.

2.3
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Nov 27, 2021

They met 100% of our warranty issues so far

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 25, 2021

Too time consuming and really hard with some of the appliances

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Nov 24, 2021

Everyone has been amazing to work with. Mac, Ken, and Stan have been Awesome. Everyone has been extremely professional and if any concerns pop up they have been immediately taken care of. We have had an amazing experience.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 24, 2021

The Communications process was outstanding.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 23, 2021

Sales office was amazing. Quality of tiling was extremely poor as well as follow up on touch up paint. They used flat instead of eggshell and we are still finding spots not done. Additionally sheet rock around fireplace bowed so much they had to redo so I could tile.

3.7
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 23, 2021

I love my home! Your staff has quickly addressed any warranty issues.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 23, 2021

there hasn't been anything that we haven't liked. Do we have a followup for problems that have arisen during our first year?

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 20, 2021

Ive been told several times that they wont fix the plaster holes that air bubbles caused due to poor craftsmanship. I have a few walls that are off square buy visible amounts. there are holes that i can see light through in the garage (from inside to outside) My kitchen window condensates between the panels. I requested a sink hole be repaired... i had to backfill it myself and repair my landscaping after the laborer came out and made a mess of the place. i had to fight tooth and nail to get them to fix cosmetic drywall crack in the living room BEFORE I CLOSED ON THE PROPERTY. My hardware in the bathrooms isnt mounted correctly so they are all twisted and not secure. the toilet paper holders drop the toilet paper on the ground regularly. i have a toilet that causes negative pressure while flushing and occasionally "burps" sewage air into the master suite. (was told this is normal and they couldnt fix it) Had the original "warranty" guy get belligerent in my house to the point of forcing him to leave. (the current one is absolutely amazing and professional) the light fixtures on the front of garage were cut so large theres a 1/2 of caulking to cover it up. The tile in the master suite is 2 different colors and was told that its normal.... the tile in master suite is also off square by about 3/4 inch over 6 feet. was also told this is normal. the glass installed in the wall of master shower is mounted crooked and was not caulked causing slight water damage before it was caught. the sink in basement takes roughly 7 minutes to have warm water. this is a brief synapsis of the issues ive had since purchasing a 400k+ dollar house. not to mention being told that my expectations are too high when I was questioning why there is paint on my hardwood floor. Or pen marks on my wall from where they tried to mount the bathroom hardware.

3.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 20, 2021

We are dealing with wood floor issues, the floor creeks and pops (this is being looked into by Zack). Hallway floor from the front door – Floor moves/gives. Normal walking caused glasses in a small cabinet to move together and rattle. Mirror on wall will tilt. (reported to Zack, not sure of the status) Rear yard grading - water does not drain in between the houses to the street, water stands in the rear yard (up to 2 inches). I was told that this was the landscapers’ responsibility, the landscaper states this is the builders problem. Water heater motor makes noise, we were told that this is normal. Water circulating pump makes noise (have not created a ticket, but will). Water sprinkler vales are defective, not able to blow out the line (Zack is working on this). External air condition unit is not stable (Zack is working on this). Rear porch gutters do not displace water from the corners, was told that a guard needs to be installed (not serviced as yet, I will create a ticket).

3.8
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 19, 2021

The ONLY issue that we have/had is the heating unit. The bedroom remains at 63 degrees when the hall thermostat is set at 69. The living room is 69. We have adjusted vents and have had someone out twice. We've been told the blower is fine, the temp is fine and that it is 'typical' for a room further from the furnace to be 3-4 degrees less. This morning, outside temp 12 degrees, the living room was 69 and the master was 61. I cannot believe this is 'normal'. We will, once again, try to adjust and close off the living room vents closest to the thermostat.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 19, 2021

We’ve had no issues!

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Monument, CO, on Nov 17, 2021

Poor craftsmanship. When I asked for and paid for extra sound insulation in other areas, i would have happily paid for it in between floors if it had been offered. Also changing the floor plan- windows- but still handing the old pamphlet out is wrong.

3.4
Verified Homeowner
Colorado Springs, CO, on Nov 17, 2021

Would love to speak to someone who cares in person about this.

1.9
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Classic Homes is a locally owned Colorado Springs builder and the only builder to have received the Better Business Bureau’s “Excellence in Customer Service” award on three separate occasions and is also the only builder to be designated as Colorado Springs Best Homebuilder by The Gazette for twelve years running, and the Colorado Springs Business Journal for eleven years running — a true testament to the care and commitment Classic Homes shows our home buyers before, during, and after they’ve become members of our communities.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.