Homebuilder Ratings & Reviews

The Jones Company Reviews

171 Homeowner Reviews Completed Mar 2020 - Sep 2020

Overall Satisfaction

4.4
Customers' overall satisfaction
4.2
Customers' willingness to refer our communities to their friends and family

Communities Map

 

Most Recent 20 Comments
Purchase Experience Testimonials from Real Homebuyers

Fairview, TN, on Sep 22, 2020

The Selection center was a great [name removed] was awesome

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Nashville, TN, on Sep 18, 2020

We had a bad experience with our sales rep who wasn't communicative or knowledgable about the process. After move-in, we are still arguing with our builder to fix some drainage issues in our yard

3.9
Verified Homeowner
Nashville, TN, on Sep 17, 2020

Somewhat response time

4.8
Verified Homeowner
Nolensville, TN, on Sep 15, 2020

Figuring out the things that had not been done properly or at half effort out that were already damaged before we even took possession

4.7
Verified Homeowner
Smyrna, TN, on Sep 15, 2020

It took about two months to get Internet after moving in. I also wish we could’ve seen how big the backyard was before we picked our plot. Going over numbers on paper is not the same as seeing it in person.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
College Grove, TN, on Sep 14, 2020

Great experience - delivered on time. Only issue was dishwasher that needed replace several times and leaked, causing warps in wood - still needing repaired. A few other issues - but in the process of being fixed.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Lebanon, TN, on Sep 13, 2020

The bathroom tile issues

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Smyrna, TN, on Sep 12, 2020

I liked the scratch off savings promotion. As we already had financing secured, I didn't like having to apply with a [name removed] preferred lender in order to take advantage of the savings.

4.4
Verified Homeowner
Smyrna, TN, on Sep 10, 2020

I didn't like that there are no window blinds in the house.

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Franklin, TN, on Sep 10, 2020

Everyone was very professional. Even though we were not able to be here for the majority of the time while our house was being built, we had great communication from [name removed] and all questions as answered. Once here In early July is when we were able to see the quality builder we chose. [name removed] and his team have been very helpful.

4.9
Verified Homeowner
Murfreesboro, TN, on Sep 08, 2020

The customer service has been fanatic despite the barriers met with the ongoing pandemic.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

The Jones Company

Sep 08, 2020

Thank you so much for your trust in us...and your patience as we all navigate this strange time!

Nolensville, TN, on Sep 08, 2020

We did have delays but were due to COVID work shortages with the city inspectors, and also several months of constant rain, preventing foundation completion. Things like this are unavoidable.

4.8
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

The Jones Company

Sep 08, 2020

Thank you so much for your patience and understanding. We hope you enjoy your new home for many years to come! Welcome to the Jones family.

Mt. Juliet, TN, on Sep 05, 2020

[name removed] has really been FANTASTIC with getting all our requests completed.

4.7
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

The Jones Company

Sep 08, 2020

That is wonderful to hear! We hope that you enjoy your new home for many years to come! Welcome to the Jones family!

Nashville, TN, on Sep 04, 2020

[name removed] was wonderful to work with. Felt as though we were in good hands with our builder and things went smoothly.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

The Jones Company

Sep 08, 2020

We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience building your home! Congratulations and welcome to the family! We wish you many years of happiness there!

Nolensville, TN, on Sep 01, 2020

[name removed] final day seemed rushed. We made a list of things to update or fix the week before and we only had an hour or so to go over everything in the final inspection. There is still no grass in my backyard because it was seeded and strawed in July with little chance for it to grow. I'll be fixing this myself hopefully before the end of the season.

5.0
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

The Jones Company

Sep 08, 2020

Thank you for the 5-star review of the overall process and your home! We understand that you have some items that still need to be addressed and we hope that you'll be as satisfied with that process as you have been to this point! We wish you many years of happiness in your new home!

Nolensville, TN, on Sep 01, 2020

Love the people. Things take longer than desired.

4.6
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

The Jones Company

Sep 08, 2020

Thank you for the kind words...and we understand that some of the "normal" delays that are inevitable have been much worse this year...for that we are sorry. Thank you for your patience! Congratulations on your new home!

Spring Hill, TN, on Aug 29, 2020

[name removed] much to warranty. Well built home

5.0
Verified Homeowner
Lebanon, TN, on Aug 27, 2020

Like: [name removed] team very accommodating to requests and easy to work with Dislike: drywall seams/finish and paint are not high quality work. decking had exposed nails that required removal. Leak at window identified.

4.5
Verified Homeowner
College Grove, TN, on Aug 26, 2020

House is great (Thank you [name removed]), but very unhappy how we were sold a flat back yard (picks and emails confirming that), now we have a small backyard with massive slope (not easy with 3 kids under 7 years old. [name removed] only did we not get the yard we were sold, [name removed] did nothing to help us out, rejected a retaining wall (could have given us credit or gone in half way) and didn't even cover the sod needed to avoid ground erosion.

4.4
Verified Homeowner

Customer Care Team

The Jones Company

Sep 08, 2020

We are so happy that you love your new home, and we have heard your concerns and we are sorry that the resolution that we provided did not meet your satisfaction. Even still, we wish you much happiness for many years to come in your new home!

Franklin, TN, on Aug 24, 2020

Had issues with change in bylaws after signing the contract which put lot of stress . Quality of landscaping can be improved; no sod or seed on the slope of the backyard

4.4
Verified Homeowner

Builder Profile

Building homes since 1927 The Jones Company story began in 1927 with the founder of The Jones Company, John E. Jones. In 1961 John’s son, Bob, purchased The Jones Company from his father. Bob Jones and his partner, Howard Chilcutt, led The Jones Company to much success, growing the company and building homes for over 15,000 families.

In 2003 Centex purchased The Jones Company’s St. Louis division from Bob and Howard. Then, in 2005 Howard founded Consort Homes in St. Louis. Ken Stricker, who was former President of The Jones Company in St. Louis, now serves as President of Consort Homes in St. Louis, and The Jones Company of Tennessee in Nashville, today. Today, The Jones Company of Tennessee is still owned by the Chilcutt and Jones families.

Homebuilder Customer Reviews

No one knows more about a homebuilder's quality and service than the builder's customers.

Since 1984, Eliant has been independently evaluating the performance of homebuilders across the U.S., Canada, and the Middle East:

  • We ask recent homebuyers to evaluate their builder's purchase process.
  • Then, we ask homeowners to evaluate their builder's quality and service (1) after the first 5-months in the home, and (2) again at the end of the first year.

In "Homebuilder Customer Reviews", we present the ratings and comments collected from new-home buyers at these three points in time.

Eliant verifies that only evaluations completed by actual customers are included in this "Homebuilder Customer Reviews" site. No other evaluations - whether collected by the builder or those appearing on other public sites - are included here. All customer comments are included verbatim, no editing is permitted.